Asrock build having issues. - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Asrock build having issues.

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 11:13 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
solidshark91493's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Reno Nv
Posts: 638
Rep: 15 (Unique: 15)
Asrock build having issues.

Hey guys, been a minute. My lady's pc I built her is having a really dumb issue Im hoping you guys can help with.
I posted it here because I THINK its motherboard related.
Basically, at random.. it started booting to the bios instead of windows. And it wont stop until I unplug it, drain the power supply, and try again. And even that doesnt work half the time.
It stopped doing this for a couple months but she diligently made sure to shut it down when she was done with it.
Until tonight. She hit the reset on accident and low and behold.. Stupid bios boot is back and shes losing it.

The board is a Asrock AB350 pro 4, with a Ryzen 5 1500K, 16gb.
Runs windows 10. Not sure what else you guys would need. Im so confused I dont even know where to start on this one. Its beyond my knowledge. I hope this is something stupid and simple to fix.

That being said, I am not able to access the pc myself until friday. So my responses will have to go from what I can get from her. (We dont live in the same area currently.)

Super appreciate any help you guys can give Im at a loss.


solidshark91493 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-08-2019, 11:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 77
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Have you run any stability testing to verify the RAM isn't dying?

Run a memtest either from a boot CD/USB drive or in Windows covering all your RAM
(not sure if this is still applicable with today's MB) Make sure the BIOS backup battery is functioning
Reset the BIOS to factory defaults then change anything necessary to get back into Windows
Test stability in Windows with a stress test application
And of course visually inspect the MB for anything unusual - physical damage, darkened spots, bulging capacitors
DedEmbryonicCe1 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 12:24 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
solidshark91493's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Reno Nv
Posts: 638
Rep: 15 (Unique: 15)
Quote: Originally Posted by DedEmbryonicCe1 View Post
Have you run any stability testing to verify the RAM isn't dying?

Run a memtest either from a boot CD/USB drive or in Windows covering all your RAM
(not sure if this is still applicable with today's MB) Make sure the BIOS backup battery is functioning
Reset the BIOS to factory defaults then change anything necessary to get back into Windows
Test stability in Windows with a stress test application
And of course visually inspect the MB for anything unusual - physical damage, darkened spots, bulging capacitors

Ram is brand new, its unlikely but I havent run anything on that. Hard drives all checked out.
Doesnt seem to make a difference if I reset the bios. I never really changed anything.
Will have to inspect next time Im near the pc.

Thanks for the tips


solidshark91493 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-09-2019, 12:50 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 37,801
Rep: 2733 (Unique: 1624)
Please list all the parts in that PC

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod E series PSU cable set
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 12:45 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
solidshark91493's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Reno Nv
Posts: 638
Rep: 15 (Unique: 15)
Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
Please list all the parts in that PC
Dont have access to it. I dont really have much else to tell you and theres almost nothing I left out.


solidshark91493 is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 01:00 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 37,801
Rep: 2733 (Unique: 1624)
Quote: Originally Posted by solidshark91493 View Post
Dont have access to it. I dont really have much else to tell you and theres almost nothing I left out.
What PSU is in that machine and yes that matters

Seravee
(30 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 16 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8 OLED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod E series PSU cable set
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 07-10-2019, 06:50 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
solidshark91493's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Reno Nv
Posts: 638
Rep: 15 (Unique: 15)
Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
What PSU is in that machine and yes that matters
Seasonic psu, I cant recall the wattage atm I think its a 750 watt. More than enough.


solidshark91493 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off