Gigabyte X570 Aorus Xtreme Owners Club - Page 18 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte X570 Aorus Xtreme Owners Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #171 of 189 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 08:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Grin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 145
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
If you have 3900x be expected that only first six cores from the first chiplet are able to boost till 4.5-4.6 The cores from the second chiplet can get only 4.2-4.3 maximum. The quality of chiplets in 3900x is not equal.
You can use windows affinity or lasso software to check the ability of each core to boost separately in any single core benchmark.
Grin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #172 of 189 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 08:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Martin778's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 1,371
Rep: 15 (Unique: 15)
That is a long known issue with 1 chiplet being crap on the 3900X, 3950X is rumored to have both chiplets at high boosts.
The problem is that it boosts, then drops to base clock, boosts again and so on.
I just wish they'd leave the thing alone as it was before. Stable 4200-4250MHz, no fakery with unsustainable, nanosecond boosts.

Core i9 9900K @ 5.2 || EVGA Z390 DARK || 2x8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 4600 C18 @ 4266 C17 || GPU: EVGA Kingpin RTX2080Ti @ 2130MHz || Samsung 970PRO 1TB + 860EVO 2TB || Lian Li O11 Dynamic White || Corsair AX1600i || Screen: LG B8 OLED 55 and LG 34GK950F
Corsair H150i PRO + Noctua NF-A12x25
Martin778 is offline  
post #173 of 189 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 09:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Grin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 145
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Checking the single core boost without affinity will show you nothing because lots of threads will be running out of a target core. If you want to see each core separately in single core benchmark, I would recommend to use power saver plan with 50% and 87% cpu min and run core by core using affinity. So you can get the entire picture
Grin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #174 of 189 (permalink) Old 09-11-2019, 06:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
Just flashed F5A on my Xtreme, my cinebench20 score went from 7098 to 7165. My cpuz single score 543.0 multi score 8218.9. HWinfo shows Core #1 clock 4625.5, Core #2 just hit 4600.5 typing this, rest of cores 4575 to 4400.5 on CCD0, CCD1 4325.5 on all cores, before was hitting around 4400.5 (possibly slower now). Peak voltage is still 1.50v, minimum voltage 0.200v.



Ryzen master shows C03 C09 gold stars, C06 C11 silver stars. I know i can tweak ram but wanted to run default for testing.



Settings = no pbo ( i found that theres 2 places to set / disable PBO ) XMP on, ram voltage 1.35 manual ( still shows 1.38 to 1.39v in bios, ryzen master still reporting 1.35v, also right after flashing bios ram voltage reports in bios 1.28 even tho default shoud be 1.20 ?), cpu voltage set to normal not auto. Windows power plan Ryzen balanced, nothing running in backround, waited 2 minutes on desktop before running CB20.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3900x F5A no pbo normal xmp 2.PNG
Views:	8
Size:	78.1 KB
ID:	294892  

TraumatikOC is offline  
post #175 of 189 (permalink) Old 09-12-2019, 08:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Midian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 96
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Alright my G.Skill 32GB (2x16GB) DDR4 3600MHz CL16 Trident Z Neo are finally here and the award for biggest package for a small item goes to Inet.se, now all I need is the 3950X
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190912_171719.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	5.71 MB
ID:	295032  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20190912_171752.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	6.08 MB
ID:	295034  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20190912_171745.jpg
Views:	17
Size:	6.54 MB
ID:	295036  


Midian is offline  
post #176 of 189 (permalink) Old 09-13-2019, 03:29 PM - Thread Starter
Founder
 
LiquidHaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: SLC, Utah
Posts: 1,984
Rep: 78 (Unique: 72)
Quote: Originally Posted by TraumatikOC View Post
Just flashed F5A on my Xtreme, my cinebench20 score went from 7098 to 7165. My cpuz single score 543.0 multi score 8218.9. HWinfo shows Core #1 clock 4625.5, Core #2 just hit 4600.5 typing this, rest of cores 4575 to 4400.5 on CCD0, CCD1 4325.5 on all cores, before was hitting around 4400.5 (possibly slower now). Peak voltage is still 1.50v, minimum voltage 0.200v.



Ryzen master shows C03 C09 gold stars, C06 C11 silver stars. I know i can tweak ram but wanted to run default for testing.



Settings = no pbo ( i found that theres 2 places to set / disable PBO ) XMP on, ram voltage 1.35 manual ( still shows 1.38 to 1.39v in bios, ryzen master still reporting 1.35v, also right after flashing bios ram voltage reports in bios 1.28 even tho default shoud be 1.20 ?), cpu voltage set to normal not auto. Windows power plan Ryzen balanced, nothing running in backround, waited 2 minutes on desktop before running CB20.
Good to hear you're seeing improved performance on the beta bios. I've yet to flash it. I haven't had virtually any issues with any overclocking or bios issues for either the CPU or the board.

Currently I've got all 12c running 4.4ghz and they always hit that frequency and hold it if the program demands it. This is with F3e. So I'm slightly hesitant to flash over to the beta F5a.

www.liquid.haus
Team Heatkiller
LiquidHaus is offline  
post #177 of 189 (permalink) Old 09-14-2019, 05:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 2,091
Rep: 42 (Unique: 34)
Quote: Originally Posted by LiquidHaus View Post
Good to hear you're seeing improved performance on the beta bios. I've yet to flash it. I haven't had virtually any issues with any overclocking or bios issues for either the CPU or the board.

Currently I've got all 12c running 4.4ghz and they always hit that frequency and hold it if the program demands it. This is with F3e. So I'm slightly hesitant to flash over to the beta F5a.
I wouldn't. I'd wait till after Sept or when that beta bios matures a little bit more.

How's the temps while maintaining 4.4Ghz?

OCmember is offline  
post #178 of 189 (permalink) Old 09-15-2019, 10:07 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Martin778's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 1,371
Rep: 15 (Unique: 15)
I'm considering selling my Zen2, have had it since launch but to me AGESA's are getting worse because of pressure from the community and AMD trying to avoid a big lawsuit due to Boost-gate. I just tried Aida64 stress test and It's now occassionaly bouncing to 94-95*C peaks on the biggest BeQuiet air cooler there is, the DRP4.
To me this is unnacceptable, running a PC that is strained to the absolute max by default.

Core i9 9900K @ 5.2 || EVGA Z390 DARK || 2x8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 4600 C18 @ 4266 C17 || GPU: EVGA Kingpin RTX2080Ti @ 2130MHz || Samsung 970PRO 1TB + 860EVO 2TB || Lian Li O11 Dynamic White || Corsair AX1600i || Screen: LG B8 OLED 55 and LG 34GK950F
Corsair H150i PRO + Noctua NF-A12x25

Last edited by Martin778; 09-15-2019 at 10:10 AM.
Martin778 is offline  
post #179 of 189 (permalink) Old 09-15-2019, 05:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Grin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 145
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
It’s understandable, Martin, because Zen2 is a pure beta product not suitable at this moment for serious 24/7 workloads. I am afraid that I will need to wait with my 2700x until Zen3, if 3950x will be the same quality as 3900x
Grin is offline  
post #180 of 189 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 04:06 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Martin778's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 1,371
Rep: 15 (Unique: 15)
The worst thing is that it really does perform well, but the issues are killing the fun.

Core i9 9900K @ 5.2 || EVGA Z390 DARK || 2x8GB G.Skill TridentZ RGB 4600 C18 @ 4266 C17 || GPU: EVGA Kingpin RTX2080Ti @ 2130MHz || Samsung 970PRO 1TB + 860EVO 2TB || Lian Li O11 Dynamic White || Corsair AX1600i || Screen: LG B8 OLED 55 and LG 34GK950F
Corsair H150i PRO + Noctua NF-A12x25

Last edited by Martin778; 09-16-2019 at 04:18 AM.
Martin778 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off