Gigabyte X570 Aorus Xtreme Owners Club - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte X570 Aorus Xtreme Owners Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 249 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 06:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 808
Rep: 29 (Unique: 26)
Been testing stability for the most part the last days with various settings but there is so much more to test...

I got 3800Mhz memory working @ 1:1:1 mode with the fabric clock, Memory clock etc and GeardownMode Disabled 1T on top.

Otherwise this kit has no issue with the 3933Mhz speed but then your not running synced and lose a bit on the latency side. I was trying to get fabric up there to the same speed the kit could do but haven't been that lucky yet.

I'll be going trough the timings next when I feel like it but it's been a little more time than planned to just get GDM disabled working than I thought so I'll probably just play some games whatnot first. I have other things to do that have been postponed as I was trying to get it to work without issue first.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3800 1-1-1 stock XMP CL18 GD disabled SCL 4 OK.png
Views:	77
Size:	1.24 MB
ID:	282486  

Click image for larger version

Name:	AIDA64 3800Mhz 1-1mode 18-23-23-42 1T GD disabled.png
Views:	17
Size:	93.0 KB
ID:	282490  


Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME, Ryzen 7 3800X 4.45Ghz, 4266/1900 MEM/FCLK, 16.26.19.48.76.tRFC 650 1T 1.58V
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V (Micron E-die 16nm)
OLD: Biostar x470GT8 Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM ...
Nighthog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 249 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 01:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Grin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 164
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Not bad, did you tried AIDA burning test? Is it pass 20-30 min at 3800 1:1?
Grin is offline  
post #23 of 249 (permalink) Old 07-21-2019, 03:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 808
Rep: 29 (Unique: 26)
Quote: Originally Posted by Grin View Post
Not bad, did you tried AIDA burning test? Is it pass 20-30 min at 3800 1:1?
I tried it for 15min with some new settings but found no issue, but tried my memory testing procedure right after and it found a errors within a few minutes.

It's not a good tool to test stability.
________________________________________________
EDIT:

Have now lowered my timings to what is reasonable from this memory kit @ 3800Mhz 1:1:1 mode. I seemed to have reached quite similar result on Gen 1 but @ 3733Mhz instead for B350.
It's what this kit could really do with timings though there is more Mhz left if I could only get more from the FCLK and UCLK to match the memory. Running asynchronous isn't too viable with only up to 3933Mhz left in the kit from what I've found.

I could push CL14 for the kit as well but kept encountering errors now and then so backed down to CL15 as there really wasn't much diffrence and you needed to run so much more voltage to the kit it wasn't worth it.
1.45V vs 1.54-1.55V for CL15 VS CL14.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3800 1-1-1 15-23-17-32 1T GDM disabled OK.png
Views:	23
Size:	1.23 MB
ID:	282770  

Click image for larger version

Name:	AIDA64 3800Mhz 1-1mode 15-23-17-33 1T GD disabled.png
Views:	9
Size:	92.9 KB
ID:	282772  


Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME, Ryzen 7 3800X 4.45Ghz, 4266/1900 MEM/FCLK, 16.26.19.48.76.tRFC 650 1T 1.58V
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V (Micron E-die 16nm)
OLD: Biostar x470GT8 Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM ...

Last edited by Nighthog; 07-22-2019 at 09:18 AM.
Nighthog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 249 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 11:10 AM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,185
Rep: 908 (Unique: 590)
https://nl.hardware.info/artikel/941...-met-een-3900x
Thermals vs other flagships with R9 3900X

Aorus Xtreme - backside 48.3°C , frontside 50.1°C (208W , CB R20 7245)

MEG Godlike - 54.1°C backside , frontside 54.2°C (193W, CB R20 7234)

ROG Formula - 56.8°C backside, frontside 57.3°C (230W , CB R20 7240)



Aorus Xtreme awarded "ULTIMATE"

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list



Last edited by AlphaC; 07-22-2019 at 12:22 PM.
AlphaC is offline  
post #25 of 249 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 11:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 808
Rep: 29 (Unique: 26)
@AlphaC That's a fun test there. Thanks for sharing!

I tested PBO stuff in BIOS and I can only conclude it's broken/artificially limited on power draw for core power and package power. There are 2 configurations possible on what the board will allow with PBO settings enabled in various combinations.

AS measured in HWiNFO64:
CPU Package Power (SMU): ~110W & ~120W
CPU Core Power (SVI2 TFN): ~60W to ~65W

This limits clocks/voltages the board/PBO will be allow to run and be constrained into. It tries it best with this limit but the limits are so low if struggles to produce results!
Where is that unlimited board power or for that matter design power at 140W anywhere to be seen as advertised for the CPU as said by AMD?

As you figure the higher power draw usually performs better but that depends on settings. In differing combinations one PBO setting will push the core's to use more voltage for any particular frequency, that's bad...
You want the setting that will use less voltage for any frequency. Easiest to see is the combo that doesn't allow the CPU to run 1.500V freely when viewed from HWiNFO64. For me that's around ~1.481V Maximum.

It's a little confusing which combo gives this result at the moment as there are duplicate entries for PBO in various fields in the BIOS and you can set them enabled and disabled at the same time and various ways with Manual settings are in both and divided apart for them, they aren't all in the same place.

In the end basically this means PBO doesn't produce any better Cinebench R20 scores than having it all disabled/auto and sticking with regular PB only!
It uses the lower voltages and your CPU isn't limited to a 110W or 120W CPU Package power limit!

STOCK you get a 140Watt limit without PBO enabled!
With PBO you are either limited for 110 or 120Watts CPU Package Power!

I tested this mostly running Cinebench R20 for now as I wanted to see if I could get better results. It failed to do better than stock scores and then I noticed the limited power draw and well... I hope it's not just Cinebench R20 it does so for.

I had some screenshot from running Prime95 @ stock and it was ~140Watts limited for CPU package Power & ~75Watts CPU Core Power for Maximum values.
I did a quick check with PBO enabled and it used ~113Watts for CPU Package power and ~65Watts CPU Core Power for the first few minutes.

No one else notice anything similar?

EDIT: Ok, I might have been to quick with all this as with further testing Prime95 ramps up on wattage in a later stages up to 140W. Not the first few tests. But there was still that 10Watt difference for Cinebench R20 between settings I noticed.

Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME, Ryzen 7 3800X 4.45Ghz, 4266/1900 MEM/FCLK, 16.26.19.48.76.tRFC 650 1T 1.58V
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V (Micron E-die 16nm)
OLD: Biostar x470GT8 Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM ...

Last edited by Nighthog; 07-22-2019 at 12:15 PM.
Nighthog is offline  
post #26 of 249 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 12:11 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,185
Rep: 908 (Unique: 590)
The test was with manual OC 4.1Ghz all core r9 3900X @1.3V


On Siliconlottery that is a low bin R9 3900X: https://siliconlottery.com/collections/all/amd-r9-3900x
4.0GHz @ 1.2V
4.05GHz @ 1.212V
4.1GHz @ 1.225V
4.15GHz @ 1.237V
4.2GHz @1.25V


I suspect it is because they use 240mm AIO on QVL.


Also der8auer testing had something where the CPU cuts current once you hit 200A I believe. There may be OCP (overcurrent protection) inside the CPU firmware.
Around 4:40

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list


AlphaC is offline  
post #27 of 249 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 12:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 808
Rep: 29 (Unique: 26)
OCP? Software HWiNFO is barely reading 60A thus far for me in Prime95 a up to 140W load. Maybe the reading is wrong?

Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME, Ryzen 7 3800X 4.45Ghz, 4266/1900 MEM/FCLK, 16.26.19.48.76.tRFC 650 1T 1.58V
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V (Micron E-die 16nm)
OLD: Biostar x470GT8 Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM ...
Nighthog is offline  
post #28 of 249 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 12:30 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,185
Rep: 908 (Unique: 590)
the CPU polls at 1ms , hwinfo64 polls less often IIRC

https://hwbot.org/submission/4195688...0x_7537_marks/
CB R20 at 4275Mhz (1.344V) on Aorus Master scores 7537 points (this eliminates BIOs motherboard manufacturer differences)

CB R20 @ 4350MHz (unsafe 1.44V) on Aorus Master scoring 7697 https://hwbot.org/submission/4192017...00x_7697_marks
^ points disabled so blueleader probably is working at AMD since they also had R9 3950X

8058 pts at 4506MHz (unsafe 1.406 volts) on Crosshair VII Hero https://hwbot.org/submission/4196905...00x_8058_marks

7878 points at 4.4GHz (unsafe 1.440V in CPU-Z) on unknown board:
https://hwbot.org/submission/4196802...00x_7878_marks

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list



Last edited by AlphaC; 07-22-2019 at 12:36 PM. Reason: OCN likes to add extra spacing for no reason
AlphaC is offline  
post #29 of 249 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 05:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Grin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 164
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
that's bad...

That’s not bad really because they are concerning about stability first. If you are the winner and bought a good piece of silicon you may tune frequencies/voltages using p-states.
Grin is offline  
post #30 of 249 (permalink) Old 07-23-2019, 06:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 808
Rep: 29 (Unique: 26)
Ok I have to admit fault. Cinebench R20 just doesn't use that much power to be had at all with these Zen 2 processors. The limit seems to be elsewhere.

I tried a All core OC 4.4Ghz with 1.375v LLC Medium (auto crashes) and I reach much the same values as with PBO enabled on power draw but better scores.
BPO just doesn't seem to perform.

Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME, Ryzen 7 3800X 4.45Ghz, 4266/1900 MEM/FCLK, 16.26.19.48.76.tRFC 650 1T 1.58V
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V (Micron E-die 16nm)
OLD: Biostar x470GT8 Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM ...
Nighthog is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off