[Official] MSI X570 MEG Ace motherboard club - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] MSI X570 MEG Ace motherboard club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 259 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 10:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 55
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by VPII View Post
Hi thanks for the explanation, my c7h was actually pretty good, but I think I killed it with ln2 and dry ice.

I do have a question though. The only way I am able to manually overclock my Ryzen 9 3900x is with the knob on the board. The clocks in the bios is greyed out even if I disable the knob in the bios. Sny idea whst I may have missed.

Sent from my SM-G960F using Tapatalk

This might be too obvious, but the very first setting is "OC Explore Mode". The default is normal, but you have to set it to expert to OC.
ver_21 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 259 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 05:46 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
os2wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 2,430
Rep: 62 (Unique: 41)
Quote: Originally Posted by ver_21 View Post
I've got my switch frequency cranked to 1000, and my VRMos temp hangs around 40C. Chipset hangs between 40C and 60C.





I am generally liking my Ace, too. But I've seen better 3800X overclocks coming from the Crosshair Hero VIII. I suspect our BIOS is a bit of a limiting factor. It seems unfinished.
My chipset temperature is about 53-55 Celcius. I have yet to hear the chipset fan. The heat pipe to the chipset must be doing a credible job.

Technology is NOT a liberator . Whom technology serves is a class question.
Technology wielded by the capitalist class benefits only the exploiters.
Technology wielded by the working class will serve ALL Humanity.
Ryzen 9 3900X at 4.275GHZSamsung 970 EVO m.2 NVMe 1TB
AMD Radeon VII gpu, MSI X570 MEG ACE motherboard, AlphaCool Eisbaer 360 cpu AIO cooler
32GB G.Skill TridentZ Neo DDR4 3600mhz CL-16-16-16-36 1.35v

Last edited by os2wiz; 08-11-2019 at 08:50 PM.
os2wiz is offline  
post #23 of 259 (permalink) Old 08-07-2019, 08:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
n4p0l3onic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 527
Rep: 16 (Unique: 13)
Still no ABB bios from msi? They're behind gigabyte.
n4p0l3onic is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 259 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 05:46 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 55
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by n4p0l3onic View Post
Still no ABB bios from msi? They're behind gigabyte.

I check several times daily.


I guess I should expect this with new CPU and board types, but it's still annoying. I'm about half-way through my return period, and I would really like to know how well this board and cpu can work together.
ver_21 is offline  
post #25 of 259 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 01:52 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
os2wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 2,430
Rep: 62 (Unique: 41)
Quote: Originally Posted by ver_21 View Post
I check several times daily.


I guess I should expect this with new CPU and board types, but it's still annoying. I'm about half-way through my return period, and I would really like to know how well this board and cpu can work together.
I would not be ants in the pants crazy about this. MSI is traditionally slower than Asus and Gigabyte with bios releases, Yes sometimes it can be annoying, but it much rarer that MSI releases a bad bios that won't boot. Asus has done that on several occasions, which caused me to stop purchasing the ROG Crosshair motherboards. MSI is a smaller company , so their resources are limited. But I can assure you that bios will be coming out and is likely to be rock solid. First is NOT always best.
By the wayI am uploading my latest AIDA64 cache and memory benchmark. It was done with fabric speed at 1833mhz and memory clock of 3666mhz. It is my best score, but I had to abandon those settings as within a 1 hour interval I had 2 occasions of 2 youtube videos playing that initiated a system failure. The screen went black and the system failed to reboot on its own ,although the power was still on. I believe the 1833mhz fabric speed is the culprit. It is just a little too bleeding edge for me.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CaptureAidacachememorybenchAugust82019.PNG
Views:	15
Size:	367.9 KB
ID:	287212  


Technology is NOT a liberator . Whom technology serves is a class question.
Technology wielded by the capitalist class benefits only the exploiters.
Technology wielded by the working class will serve ALL Humanity.
Ryzen 9 3900X at 4.275GHZSamsung 970 EVO m.2 NVMe 1TB
AMD Radeon VII gpu, MSI X570 MEG ACE motherboard, AlphaCool Eisbaer 360 cpu AIO cooler
32GB G.Skill TridentZ Neo DDR4 3600mhz CL-16-16-16-36 1.35v

Last edited by os2wiz; 08-08-2019 at 02:28 PM.
os2wiz is offline  
post #26 of 259 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 02:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 55
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by os2wiz View Post
I would not be antsin the pants crazy about this. MSI is traditionally slower than Asus and Gigabyte with bios releases, Yes sometimes it can be annoying, but it much rarer that MSI releases a bad bios that won't boot. Asus has done that on several occasions, which caused me to stop purchasing the ROG Crosshair motherboards. MSI is a smaller company , so their resources are limited. But I can assure that bios will be coming out and is likely to rock solid. First is NOT always best.
By the wayI am uploading my latest AIDA64 cache and memory benchmark. It was done with fabric speed at 1833mhz and memory clock of 3666mhz. It is my best score, but I had to abandon those settings as within a 1 hour interval I had 2 occasions of 2 youtube videos playing that initiated a system failure. The screen went blak and the system failed to reboot although the power was still on. I believe the 1833mhz fabric speed is the culprit. It is just a little too bleeding edge for me.

I hear ya and appreciate it. What's your cpu clock at for this?
ver_21 is offline  
post #27 of 259 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 02:21 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
os2wiz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Brooklyn, New York
Posts: 2,430
Rep: 62 (Unique: 41)
Quote: Originally Posted by ver_21 View Post
I hear ya and appreciate it. What's your cpu clock at for this?
I reduced it from 4.225GHZ to 4.2GHZ which has always been my 24/7 clock speed. It is very possible that further bios updates may allow us to use fabric speeds above 1800 mhz with greater stability. Time will tell.

Technology is NOT a liberator . Whom technology serves is a class question.
Technology wielded by the capitalist class benefits only the exploiters.
Technology wielded by the working class will serve ALL Humanity.
Ryzen 9 3900X at 4.275GHZSamsung 970 EVO m.2 NVMe 1TB
AMD Radeon VII gpu, MSI X570 MEG ACE motherboard, AlphaCool Eisbaer 360 cpu AIO cooler
32GB G.Skill TridentZ Neo DDR4 3600mhz CL-16-16-16-36 1.35v

Last edited by os2wiz; 08-08-2019 at 02:34 PM.
os2wiz is offline  
post #28 of 259 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 09:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
VPII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 652
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by os2wiz View Post
I would not be ants in the pants crazy about this. MSI is traditionally slower than Asus and Gigabyte with bios releases, Yes sometimes it can be annoying, but it much rarer that MSI releases a bad bios that won't boot. Asus has done that on several occasions, which caused me to stop purchasing the ROG Crosshair motherboards. MSI is a smaller company , so their resources are limited. But I can assure you that bios will be coming out and is likely to be rock solid. First is NOT always best.
By the wayI am uploading my latest AIDA64 cache and memory benchmark. It was done with fabric speed at 1833mhz and memory clock of 3666mhz. It is my best score, but I had to abandon those settings as within a 1 hour interval I had 2 occasions of 2 youtube videos playing that initiated a system failure. The screen went black and the system failed to reboot on its own ,although the power was still on. I believe the 1833mhz fabric speed is the culprit. It is just a little too bleeding edge for me.
Interestingly, AIDA64 as well as CPUz only report AGESA 1.0.0.3 no AB as stated on the download page.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DDR3666.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	167.0 KB
ID:	287322  


AMD
(9 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
GALAX RTX 2080 TI OC
RAM
G.Skill f4-3200c14d-16gtzr tridentz rgb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 M.2 SSD
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
CoolerMaster MLW-D24M-A20PC-R1 MasterLiquid ML240L 240mm RGB Liquid CPU Cooler
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2717D 27" UltraSharp InfinityEdge LED Monitor
▲ hide details ▲
VPII is offline  
post #29 of 259 (permalink) Old 08-09-2019, 10:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 55
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Game Boost Mode 11
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	gamebeastmode11.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	429.3 KB
ID:	287434  

ver_21 is offline  
post #30 of 259 (permalink) Old 08-09-2019, 09:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
VPII's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Hout Bay, Cape Town, South Africa
Posts: 652
Rep: 9 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by os2wiz View Post
THat should not be. Are you on the latest bios??? It may be possible that you did not set everything to default, reboot and then go into M-flash upon reboot. I would reapply the 1.3 bios after you make sure you restore defaults reboot and then M-flash . Sounds like your bios got corrupted in some way. That happened to me on my X470 motherboard once where I could only use gameboost. It was some lame beta bios when it occurred. I may have failed to set everything to default when I flashed that bios. Let us know what happens .
Hey there, well I played around in the bios and found it working as per normal punching in the clocks, so all good. Right now for benching only I can do 4.39Ghz all core on my Ryzen 9 3900X but it needs 1.38vcore set in the bios which means just over 80C running CB20. Still it is fine. For everyday use I can do 4.2 at 1.2vcore or 4.26ghz at 1.23vcore all perfectly stable and temps way lower. Right now my cpu is sitting at 20 to 21c while browsing and installing a game at 4.26Ghz with the 1.23vcore set in bios.

AMD
(9 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 2700X
Motherboard
Asus Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
GALAX RTX 2080 TI OC
RAM
G.Skill f4-3200c14d-16gtzr tridentz rgb
Hard Drive
Crucial MX300 M.2 SSD
Power Supply
Corsair HX1200i
Cooling
CoolerMaster MLW-D24M-A20PC-R1 MasterLiquid ML240L 240mm RGB Liquid CPU Cooler
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Dell U2717D 27" UltraSharp InfinityEdge LED Monitor
▲ hide details ▲
VPII is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off