[OFFICIAL] ASRock X570 Overclocking and Support Thread - Page 33 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[OFFICIAL] ASRock X570 Overclocking and Support Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #321 of 360 (permalink) Old 12-02-2019, 11:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Spexxos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by ziocomposite View Post
Enable Gear Down mode and change to 2T in case it's not doing so automatically. Keep the 1.42 Voltage as well.
No improvment with those settings unfortunately. 50% no post, 50% freezes in bios/crash on windows startup

Quote: Originally Posted by mllrkllr88 View Post
You could do this, but also not


Gear down mode totally kills benchmark efficiency for most benches. It's harder on memory for sure, but I always start with gear down disabled then go from there. Overclocking the memory is a bit pointless if the efficiency is cripples by the resulting overclock.


Voltages up to 1.50 are perfectly fine for 24/7 daily use. Don't take my word for it, the official XMP 2.0 specification lists 1.50 Vdimm as the maximum suggested value that manufactures should build into the memory. I typically run 1.85-1.95vdimm for benching...but I wouldn't recommend that for 24/7.
I would be absolutley happy with any settings that sucessfully boot with 3200 cl14. And then go from there and see what can be tweaked. But you're right RAM is astoundingly resilient. On my old computer I ran DDR3 with 1.75-1.8V. It lived to the ripe age of 5 years, then one DIMM gave up




Last night I even tested 3200 cl16 just to see if it would work. It didnt. Same issues as before. The thing that really give me headaches is the fact that A1/B1 slots dont wont to work properly. I am starting to think that either they are damaged or have a bad connection. Are there any known issues known about badly seated CPUs or too high cooler pressure causing bad memory on ryzen/x570? I know Intel had some issues in certain cases
Spexxos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #322 of 360 (permalink) Old 12-02-2019, 12:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ziocomposite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 27
Rep: 0
Really sorry to hear that, anyone else with ideas to help Spexxos out? The only thing I can think off is the mobo as you've stated.
ziocomposite is online now  
post #323 of 360 (permalink) Old 12-02-2019, 01:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Spexxos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by ziocomposite View Post
Really sorry to hear that, anyone else with ideas to help Spexxos out? The only thing I can think off is the mobo as you've stated.

I messaged the AsRock Tech Support about the issue, too. Maybe they have some ideas but frankly its not really their fault if they dont. Slots A1/B1 are not rated for more than 2666 DR if I recall correctly. It just weird that there seems to be this arbitrary barrier at 3000 mhz no matter the timings, voltage, impedance, bios revision etc.

If all else fails im going to reseat the CPU and see if I can find anything wrong with the pins/DIMM slots etc. But thats a weekend task.
Spexxos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #324 of 360 (permalink) Old 12-02-2019, 07:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Aquineas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 80
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I don't have my x570 yet (on order), but I also run 16x4 memory on my x370 Taichi, and I'm lucky if I can reach 1500Mhz on my 2700x (Samsung B die memory, rated at 1800Mhz). I just learned to live with it. I was hoping this would be improved with the x570.
Aquineas is offline  
post #325 of 360 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 05:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Jenot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2019
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Spexxos View Post
Last night I even tested 3200 cl16 just to see if it would work. It didnt. Same issues as before. The thing that really give me headaches is the fact that A1/B1 slots dont wont to work properly. I am starting to think that either they are damaged or have a bad connection. Are there any known issues known about badly seated CPUs or too high cooler pressure causing bad memory on ryzen/x570? I know Intel had some issues in certain cases

This is typical daisy chain topology behavior (A1/B1 worse than A2/B2 in 1DIMM/channel configuration), populating all 4 slots should give better results than A1/B1 and worse than A2/B2. I have X570 Taichi/3900X/4xHyperX Predator 8G SR [email protected] - works as expected without any errors 24/7, but i can't increase frequency above 3200 nor tighten timings. You have 4x16GB DR DIMMs, so expect lower max frequency. T-topology mobo should increase OC potential, but only known X570 t-topology motherboards are Taichi prototypes/preproduction samples.
Jenot is offline  
post #326 of 360 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 09:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Spexxos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Jenot View Post
This is typical daisy chain topology behavior (A1/B1 worse than A2/B2 in 1DIMM/channel configuration), populating all 4 slots should give better results than A1/B1 and worse than A2/B2. I have X570 Taichi/3900X/4xHyperX Predator 8G SR [email protected] - works as expected without any errors 24/7, but i can't increase frequency above 3200 nor tighten timings. You have 4x16GB DR DIMMs, so expect lower max frequency. T-topology mobo should increase OC potential, but only known X570 t-topology motherboards are Taichi prototypes/preproduction samples.
Wait? What? Are you sure the retail Taichi doesnt have t-topology? That was my main deciding factor when I bought the board based on buildzoids review and this spreadsheet As you stated I had the hopes that t-topology would be better since I run 4 DIMMS
Spexxos is offline  
post #327 of 360 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 01:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Wickedtme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 117
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by Spexxos View Post
Wait? What? Are you sure the retail Taichi doesnt have t-topology? That was my main deciding factor when I bought the board based on buildzoids review and this spreadsheet As you stated I had the hopes that t-topology would be better since I run 4 DIMMS
Im pretty sure we have T topology on this board (Taichi X570)

AMD Ryzen 9 3900X, Taichi X570, Trident Z Royal Silver 3733Mhz fast, CL15, Asus Strix RTX2080 OC, Samsung 970 Evo Plus Nvme 1Tb, Samsung Evo 860 4Tb, Evga 850W G+, Nzxt Kraken X62 AIO
Wickedtme is offline  
post #328 of 360 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 04:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ziocomposite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 27
Rep: 0
Essentially the initial Engineering Sample was T-Top. The released/retail boards are Daisy.

Talked about it when he first got the board -
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	topology.png
Views:	20
Size:	408.6 KB
ID:	309944  


Last edited by ziocomposite; 12-03-2019 at 04:04 PM.
ziocomposite is online now  
post #329 of 360 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 07:10 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Spexxos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by ziocomposite View Post
Essentially the initial Engineering Sample was T-Top. The released/retail boards are Daisy.

Talked about it when he first got the board - https://youtu.be/tNKg7iHQun4?t=630

Thanks for the video link. Sadly this video was uploaded 10 weeks after my purchase. If I had known this beforehand I would have chosen a different motherboard. Still the question remains: why the hell would Asrock switch from t-top to daisy chain? I easily could have saved 50€+ on the board. I kind of feel betrayed by AsRock.
Spexxos is offline  
post #330 of 360 (permalink) Old 12-03-2019, 10:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Nizzen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Norway
Posts: 1,711
Rep: 62 (Unique: 51)
Asrock x570 can do 3800c14 with 4x8GB.

4x16 I don't know.

It's not Asrock x570 that's holding back 😉

CPU24/7) 7980xe - 7900xMOBO: ASUS Rampage Apex x299 / Asrock Taichi x299RAM: 4x 3600c15 / 4x4266c19/ 4x4000 c17 GPU: 2x MSI tri X 2080ti / 1060tiSTORAGE: Areca 1883i HDD R6 + Samsung 850PROs R0 - 3x SM961 nvme 1TB - 3x Intel Optane 900p 480GBCASE: LD cooling V8 R/B / ld cooling reverse R/BMonitor: Acer x34 /Asus 27 AQ 4k g-sync / Asrock x570 Taichi / 3900x
Nizzen is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off