Biostar X570GT8 - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Biostar X570GT8

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-27-2019, 09:52 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
stewwy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 48
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
I'm in the UK google shopping gives 10 retailers here all around £180
stewwy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-27-2019, 10:30 AM
curmudgeon
 
miklkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,778
Rep: 305 (Unique: 176)
Quote: Originally Posted by stewwy View Post
I'm in the UK google shopping gives 10 retailers here all around £180




IOKIYAR
Junkyard Dog
(18 items)
Blackie
(17 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 1700
Motherboard
Biostar X370 GT7
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon Vega 64
RAM
G. Skill Ripjaws ddr4 3200 16 GB 4x4
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500gb SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital 500gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 evo 1tb ssd
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic 850 watt
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL05
Operating System
Win 10 64bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent vertical mouse
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative X-FI
Other
Sennheiser headphones HD 599
CPU
AMD FX8370 @ 5 ghz
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth
GPU
Sapphire Fury
RAM
G Skill F3-14900CL9Q-16GBXL
Hard Drive
Western Digital
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-850KM Active PFC F3
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL02b
Operating System
Win X 64 bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent VM4
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative Soundblaster Z
Audio
Sennheiser 428 headphones
▲ hide details ▲
miklkit is offline  
post #13 of 18 (permalink) Old 07-29-2019, 12:44 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
stewwy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 48
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by miklkit View Post
I believe the VRMs are the same as the CH6 but not as many and the heat sink is just a solid block of aluminum.



The case fan controller sounds like it is the same on the x370 and x470. Yes PWM only and it is locked to the system temps instead of the CPU temps. Whether this is good or not depends on one's priorities. To me this is very good as the case fans only rev up when gaming and the GPU needs lots of cool air. If one is interested in the highest possible overclocks, then this is a bad thing.



What I like is how each fan can be tuned from idle to top rpm so that they run at the same speed at all times. Fans running at different speeds and producing bad atonal harmonics is like fingernails on a chalkboard to me and this is the first board I've had that lets me tune that out.



But still, when I go to the Biostar site and look for retailers it says to go to Newegg, but Newegg does not have the X570 for sale. So who knows what features it may have?
Well I will on the 2nd when it arrives :-) . I've a 3900x on order so when it eventually arrives, I'll post a small review and some pics without all the heatsinks/fancy bits on. My 2700x is going to my eldest so I'll try it in my C6H first and see if there is any difference in clocks or DRAM over-clock ability. I've a nice set of teamgroup b-die 3200 CL14 which should max out the 1:1 at 3600/3733.
stewwy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 10:25 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
stewwy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 48
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
now with naked pics

:-) put some pics up
stewwy is offline  
post #15 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-11-2019, 07:23 AM
curmudgeon
 
miklkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,778
Rep: 305 (Unique: 176)
It looks like a good layout. That fan looks like a high speed job with so-so blades so it won't be the quietest, but considering that Biostar tends to use good quality parts it should last a long time.



I don't like those hard plastic PCIE lock downs as I tend to break them right away. But I have not broken the ones on my X370 so they must be better somehow, maybe because they are bigger so I can use a finger instead of a screw driver.


Pet peeve: I'd like to see the socket for the case front panel cable moved to the leading edge of the board by the SATA sockets for better cable routing.



It still has the dual bios chips with a switch which helped me a lot when I messed up ram settings.


It's too bad it's not for sale on this continent.

IOKIYAR
Junkyard Dog
(18 items)
Blackie
(17 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 1700
Motherboard
Biostar X370 GT7
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon Vega 64
RAM
G. Skill Ripjaws ddr4 3200 16 GB 4x4
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500gb SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital 500gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 evo 1tb ssd
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic 850 watt
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL05
Operating System
Win 10 64bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent vertical mouse
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative X-FI
Other
Sennheiser headphones HD 599
CPU
AMD FX8370 @ 5 ghz
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth
GPU
Sapphire Fury
RAM
G Skill F3-14900CL9Q-16GBXL
Hard Drive
Western Digital
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-850KM Active PFC F3
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL02b
Operating System
Win X 64 bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent VM4
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative Soundblaster Z
Audio
Sennheiser 428 headphones
▲ hide details ▲
miklkit is offline  
post #16 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-11-2019, 08:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 698
Rep: 25 (Unique: 22)
No reports on the BIOS/features for the X570GT8?

Even if the X470GT8 had dual bios I never broke it on that board. Too much fail-safe built-in and didn't let you use unstable settings.

NEWEST: Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME, Ryzen 7 3800X 4.4Ghz, 3800/1900 1:1 MEM, 16.23.17.32.66.tRFC 580 1T 1.45V
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V (Micron E-die 16nm)
OLD: Biostar x470GT8 Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM ...
Nighthog is offline  
post #17 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-11-2019, 01:32 PM
curmudgeon
 
miklkit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Posts: 5,778
Rep: 305 (Unique: 176)
Mostly I use that for new bios by leapfrogging from one to the next. That way if a bios was no good a flip of the switch got it back to where it was. But it really didn't like the settings that ram utility from musimus or whatever his name is spit out and it simply would not post.



Yeah, is the new bios like the old bios?

IOKIYAR
Junkyard Dog
(18 items)
Blackie
(17 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 1700
Motherboard
Biostar X370 GT7
GPU
Sapphire Nitro+ Radeon Vega 64
RAM
G. Skill Ripjaws ddr4 3200 16 GB 4x4
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500gb SSD
Hard Drive
Western Digital 500gb
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 evo 1tb ssd
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic 850 watt
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL05
Operating System
Win 10 64bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent vertical mouse
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative X-FI
Other
Sennheiser headphones HD 599
CPU
AMD FX8370 @ 5 ghz
Motherboard
ASUS Sabertooth
GPU
Sapphire Fury
RAM
G Skill F3-14900CL9Q-16GBXL
Hard Drive
Western Digital
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO
Optical Drive
Memorex Lightscribe dvd
Power Supply
Seasonic SS-850KM Active PFC F3
Cooling
Thermalright Silver Arrow IB-E Extreme
Case
Silverstone Redline RL02b
Operating System
Win X 64 bit
Monitor
Pixio 27" 1440P
Keyboard
yes
Mouse
Evoluent VM4
Mouse
yes
Audio
Creative Soundblaster Z
Audio
Sennheiser 428 headphones
▲ hide details ▲
miklkit is offline  
post #18 of 18 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 10:16 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
stewwy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Posts: 48
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Bios pic for those interested

here are a few bios pics of it running on my bench, the bios seems to have all the settings my C6H does.
It runs my bdies and hits 4.2mhz on AGESA 1.0.0.2c. and 3200 cl14 stable.

I've got 1.0.0.3abb on the first bios to try tonight, still runs 3200 cl14 xmp stable.

and a final pic of where its going when I get the 3950x :-)

oops first pic upside down lol

one thing, if you have bdies change proc to 34.3 to get them stable
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190812_173623511.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	5.05 MB
ID:	288462  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190812_175632167.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	4.15 MB
ID:	288476  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190812_175644238.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	3.76 MB
ID:	288478  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190812_175434444.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	3.78 MB
ID:	288480  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190812_172003622.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	4.04 MB
ID:	288482  

Click image for larger version

Name:	MVIMG_20190812_172006424.jpg
Views:	11
Size:	6.72 MB
ID:	288484  


Last edited by stewwy; 08-12-2019 at 10:20 AM. Reason: NEW INFO
stewwy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off