(Gigabyte X570 AORUS Master Overclocking Thread) - Page 27 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte X570 AORUS Master Overclocking Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #261 of 270 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 09:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 43
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by dansi View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by edu616 View Post
Greetings,

I just made a build with this board and a 3700X. I have a 360 rad just for the cpu (just to let you guys know that I have good cooling) and I have tried those settings as I also saw that Buildzoid suggested them. I have Encounter that if I use them my cpu will never reach the 4.4GHz on single threaded applications. However if I use an EDC value of 10 my clocks will go up to 4.42GHz on at least 2 or 3 cores while using single threaded applications which with the value at 230 my cores were just boosting to 4.35GHz max. I also have +200MHz auto OC turned ON. Is this a glitch or why is it working like that? My temps never go above 70 while doing multi threaded applications like CB20 and others and my voltage will be at around 1.34 while doing them. When doing single threaded benchmarks I can see that voltage goes from 1.44 to 1.46. When tests are done voltages go back to 0.989 and clocks go back to 3.6GHz as I am using the ryzen balanced power plan in windows.

I know it's a lot of info but just want to make sure my values are safe since I'm new to both this cpu and this board. Thanks in advanced to whoever replies.
For gigabyte x570, just stick with pbo + undervolt, as our findings here https://www.overclock.net/forum/10-a...0-part-ii.html

Buildzoid is specified for his motherboard.
Seems ryzen 3000 and its bios have not been consistently applied across all x570. But for gigabtye's, it seem the values work as they should.
Will try thanks!
edu616 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #262 of 270 (permalink) Old 05-24-2020, 09:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 43
Rep: 0
Hello I did the undervolt using a negative offset and temps and voltages did in fact decrease while maintaining or improving performance in some benchmarks.

Now I have other questions related to gaming:

1) What clocks do you guys see on average in gaming? If you guys play something like BFV or BF1, Overwatch, Racing sims and others.

2) What cpu voltages do you see while gaming?

I think my voltages are still high while doing gaming. My CPU is able to boost to 43.23GHz while gaming but I'm seeing voltages around the 1.4 (they go from 1.37 to 1.4V). The thing is when benching heavy threaded tasks it goes to 1.29-1.32V which is not bad at all. Now when benching single threaded applications it goes to 1.42 -1.43 volts and that is just spikes for when some of the cores go to 4.4GHz since I have a 3700X, and that is a lot better than what I had before the negative offset. But seeing 1.37 to 1.4V while gaming really worries me can anybody check and make sure what they see while gaming? All the info I have been able to find is for benching and testing stability which now I'm not concerned with those as I am stable with my negative offset and temps and voltages are behaving like they should on these task. But gaming is my main concern now. Thanks and sorry again for the long post.
edu616 is offline  
post #263 of 270 (permalink) Old 05-24-2020, 01:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
bluechris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Athens - Greece
Posts: 267
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by edu616 View Post
Hello I did the undervolt using a negative offset and temps and voltages did in fact decrease while maintaining or improving performance in some benchmarks.

Now I have other questions related to gaming:

1) What clocks do you guys see on average in gaming? If you guys play something like BFV or BF1, Overwatch, Racing sims and others.

2) What cpu voltages do you see while gaming?

I think my voltages are still high while doing gaming. My CPU is able to boost to 43.23GHz while gaming but I'm seeing voltages around the 1.4 (they go from 1.37 to 1.4V). The thing is when benching heavy threaded tasks it goes to 1.29-1.32V which is not bad at all. Now when benching single threaded applications it goes to 1.42 -1.43 volts and that is just spikes for when some of the cores go to 4.4GHz since I have a 3700X, and that is a lot better than what I had before the negative offset. But seeing 1.37 to 1.4V while gaming really worries me can anybody check and make sure what they see while gaming? All the info I have been able to find is for benching and testing stability which now I'm not concerned with those as I am stable with my negative offset and temps and voltages are behaving like they should on these task. But gaming is my main concern now. Thanks and sorry again for the long post.
Can you run a cb20 multi and see your voltages there? Gaming is not pushing the cpu alot so voltages raises but it's ok. You need to see the higher voltage that you will get in a cpu stress scenario.
Its something strange to me why AMD cpu's do this since i came from intel for the last 27 years.

CPU
Ryzen 3600
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Pro
GPU
Nvidia GT710 Pci X1
RAM
Trident Z DDR4-3200MHz CL14-14-14-34 1.35V 64GB (4x16GB)
Hard Drive
HGST Ultrastar 7K4000 4TB 7200 RPM 512n SAS 6Gb/s 3.5-Inch 64MB HDD Enterprise Hard Drive HUS724040ALS640
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
ADATA XPG SX8200 PRO 256GB M.2 2280
Power Supply
Corsair HX750i High-Performance ATX Power Supply — 750 Watt 80 Plus® PLATINUM Certified PSU
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 chromax black
Cooling
Noctua NF-F12 PWM
Cooling
NOCTUA NF-A8 FLX FAN 80MM
Case
Corsair Carbide Air 740
Operating System
VMware ESXi 6.7 Update 3
Other
Asus HYPER M.2 X16 CARD V2
Other
HPE Smart Array P440/4GB FBWC 12Gb 1-port Int SAS Controller
▲ hide details ▲
bluechris is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #264 of 270 (permalink) Old 05-24-2020, 02:34 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 43
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by bluechris View Post
Quote: Originally Posted by edu616 View Post
Hello I did the undervolt using a negative offset and temps and voltages did in fact decrease while maintaining or improving performance in some benchmarks.

Now I have other questions related to gaming:

1) What clocks do you guys see on average in gaming? If you guys play something like BFV or BF1, Overwatch, Racing sims and others.

2) What cpu voltages do you see while gaming?

I think my voltages are still high while doing gaming. My CPU is able to boost to 43.23GHz while gaming but I'm seeing voltages around the 1.4 (they go from 1.37 to 1.4V). The thing is when benching heavy threaded tasks it goes to 1.29-1.32V which is not bad at all. Now when benching single threaded applications it goes to 1.42 -1.43 volts and that is just spikes for when some of the cores go to 4.4GHz since I have a 3700X, and that is a lot better than what I had before the negative offset. But seeing 1.37 to 1.4V while gaming really worries me can anybody check and make sure what they see while gaming? All the info I have been able to find is for benching and testing stability which now I'm not concerned with those as I am stable with my negative offset and temps and voltages are behaving like they should on these task. But gaming is my main concern now. Thanks and sorry again for the long post.
Can you run a cb20 multi and see your voltages there? Gaming is not pushing the cpu alot so voltages raises but it's ok. You need to see the higher voltage that you will get in a cpu stress scenario.
Its something strange to me why AMD cpu's do this since i came from intel for the last 27 years.
CB20 is fine just did a run Voltage goes from 1.28 to 1.33V max which is normal, temps don't go above 69 degrees C. Yes it works very different from how intel works I think AMD cpus work more like gpus in the sense on how they clock better with temps on their own. But I think intel is also moving in the same way.
edu616 is offline  
post #265 of 270 (permalink) Old 05-24-2020, 04:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 75
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Im having a small issue. It seems my CPU VCORE voltage is stuck @ 1.1. Ive looked everywhere, ive already disabled soc/uncore option in bios to no avail. Only way I can change it is by using Ryzen master, but after restart it sets itself back to 1.1. I am coming from Asus bios not to familiar with gigabyte.

This started after overclocking my memory.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	stuck11.PNG
Views:	9
Size:	12.5 KB
ID:	349050  


AMD Ryzen 3900X | Evga CLC 360 | Asus ROG Strix OC 2080Ti 2130Mhz/8500Mhz| Gigabyte Aorus Master x570 | T-Force Extreem 16GB CL16 3800/1900 1:1 FLCK | Lian Li PC-O11DX 011 | Acer XF270HUA 2K 144HZ
Uns33n is offline  
post #266 of 270 (permalink) Old 05-24-2020, 07:56 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Posts: 43
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Uns33n View Post
Im having a small issue. It seems my CPU VCORE voltage is stuck @ 1.1. Ive looked everywhere, ive already disabled soc/uncore option in bios to no avail. Only way I can change it is by using Ryzen master, but after restart it sets itself back to 1.1. I am coming from Asus bios not to familiar with gigabyte.

This started after overclocking my memory.
Put your memory back to it's default state first and see if that solves the problem. Also what power plan are you using inside windows?
edu616 is offline  
post #267 of 270 (permalink) Old 05-24-2020, 10:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 75
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by edu616 View Post
Put your memory back to it's default state first and see if that solves the problem. Also what power plan are you using inside windows?
Fixed it by loading a stable profile.

AMD Ryzen 3900X | Evga CLC 360 | Asus ROG Strix OC 2080Ti 2130Mhz/8500Mhz| Gigabyte Aorus Master x570 | T-Force Extreem 16GB CL16 3800/1900 1:1 FLCK | Lian Li PC-O11DX 011 | Acer XF270HUA 2K 144HZ
Uns33n is offline  
post #268 of 270 (permalink) Old 05-25-2020, 12:27 PM
AMD Gamer
 
Loosenut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: S. of StL
Posts: 598
Rep: 14 (Unique: 12)
Quote: Originally Posted by Uns33n View Post
Im having a small issue. It seems my CPU VCORE voltage is stuck @ 1.1. Ive looked everywhere, ive already disabled soc/uncore option in bios to no avail. Only way I can change it is by using Ryzen master, but after restart it sets itself back to 1.1. I am coming from Asus bios not to familiar with gigabyte.

This started after overclocking my memory.
I have this same issue

Quote: Originally Posted by Uns33n View Post
Fixed it by loading a stable profile.
which profile did you load? windows, bios, memory?

I suspect mine to be memory related but am still working thru testing to confirm

edit: I have found that I must power down between bios adjustments

Arguing is like racing, the minute you stumble, you already lost
Ratrod v2
(20 items)
Old AMD Rig
(23 items)
HTPC
(13 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard
Gigiabyte x570 Aurus Master
GPU
Saphire Vega 56
RAM
G.Skill 16GB 3600 RipJaws V
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO nvme
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO
Power Supply
EVGA RM1000x
Cooling
Corsair H115i
Case
Cooler Master Maker 5
Operating System
Win 10 x64 Pro
Monitor
Asus VG278
Monitor
Asus PA248
Keyboard
Max keyboard Nighthawk x8
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mousepad
Corsair MM200 Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad — Extended
Audio
Xonar DSX
Audio
Pioneer VSX-519v
Audio
Polk Audio Monitor 40 Series II
CPU
AMD FX-8350 @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard
GA-990FXA-UD5
GPU
Saphire R9 290x
RAM
G. Skill Ripjaws X
Hard Drive
1TB WD Caviar Black
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 250GB
Optical Drive
LG DVD sata burner
Power Supply
OCZ ZX-850W
Cooling
Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Case
HAF 922
Operating System
Windows 7 64 bit Ultimate
Monitor
Asus 24" PA248
Monitor
ASUS 22" VW224U
Keyboard
Max Keyboard Nighthawk x8
Mouse
Tt eSports Theron
Mouse
Rosewill Mouse mat
Audio
Pioneer VSX-519
Audio
Sony SS-MS535
Audio
Turtle Beach X12
Audio
Sony 10" 100W Powered Sub
Other
CM 120mm JetFlo case fan
Other
CM 120mm JetFlo case fan
Other
Asus mini Blue Tooth Adaptor usb-BT211
CPU
AMD A8-5600k
Motherboard
MSI FM2-A75MA-E35 mtax
GPU
EVGA 450
RAM
Corsair XMS 4GB
Hard Drive
Hitachi 1GB
Optical Drive
Asus Dvd Rom
Power Supply
Rosewill Green Series RG530-S12 530W R
Cooling
stock
Case
nMedia 5000B
Operating System
Win 7 x32 ultimate
Monitor
42" LG tv
Keyboard
Logitech k400 Wireless Mouse & Keyboard all in one
Audio
home theater
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by Loosenut; 05-25-2020 at 05:08 PM.
Loosenut is offline  
post #269 of 270 (permalink) Old 05-27-2020, 07:35 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 75
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by Loosenut View Post
I have this same issue



which profile did you load? windows, bios, memory?

I suspect mine to be memory related but am still working thru testing to confirm

edit: I have found that I must power down between bios adjustments
One of my stable OC profiles in bios.

AMD Ryzen 3900X | Evga CLC 360 | Asus ROG Strix OC 2080Ti 2130Mhz/8500Mhz| Gigabyte Aorus Master x570 | T-Force Extreem 16GB CL16 3800/1900 1:1 FLCK | Lian Li PC-O11DX 011 | Acer XF270HUA 2K 144HZ
Uns33n is offline  
post #270 of 270 (permalink) Old 05-27-2020, 03:53 PM
AMD Gamer
 
Loosenut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: S. of StL
Posts: 598
Rep: 14 (Unique: 12)
I reset bios and reflashed, still I must power drain the system after touching anything with the cpu, I literally watched the value of vcore change prior to me saving bios directly after changing the multi on the cpu. power drained the system, came back and applied it just fine. go in again without a power drain and again, same issue.

its very odd, though, I haven't had a chance the last few days to check to see if the backup bios is still the same. suppose I will check it later

Arguing is like racing, the minute you stumble, you already lost
Ratrod v2
(20 items)
Old AMD Rig
(23 items)
HTPC
(13 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3900x
Motherboard
Gigiabyte x570 Aurus Master
GPU
Saphire Vega 56
RAM
G.Skill 16GB 3600 RipJaws V
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 Evo 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Black 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 960 EVO nvme
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO
Power Supply
EVGA RM1000x
Cooling
Corsair H115i
Case
Cooler Master Maker 5
Operating System
Win 10 x64 Pro
Monitor
Asus VG278
Monitor
Asus PA248
Keyboard
Max keyboard Nighthawk x8
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mousepad
Corsair MM200 Cloth Gaming Mouse Pad — Extended
Audio
Xonar DSX
Audio
Pioneer VSX-519v
Audio
Polk Audio Monitor 40 Series II
CPU
AMD FX-8350 @ 4.4GHz
Motherboard
GA-990FXA-UD5
GPU
Saphire R9 290x
RAM
G. Skill Ripjaws X
Hard Drive
1TB WD Caviar Black
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 250GB
Optical Drive
LG DVD sata burner
Power Supply
OCZ ZX-850W
Cooling
Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Case
HAF 922
Operating System
Windows 7 64 bit Ultimate
Monitor
Asus 24" PA248
Monitor
ASUS 22" VW224U
Keyboard
Max Keyboard Nighthawk x8
Mouse
Tt eSports Theron
Mouse
Rosewill Mouse mat
Audio
Pioneer VSX-519
Audio
Sony SS-MS535
Audio
Turtle Beach X12
Audio
Sony 10" 100W Powered Sub
Other
CM 120mm JetFlo case fan
Other
CM 120mm JetFlo case fan
Other
Asus mini Blue Tooth Adaptor usb-BT211
CPU
AMD A8-5600k
Motherboard
MSI FM2-A75MA-E35 mtax
GPU
EVGA 450
RAM
Corsair XMS 4GB
Hard Drive
Hitachi 1GB
Optical Drive
Asus Dvd Rom
Power Supply
Rosewill Green Series RG530-S12 530W R
Cooling
stock
Case
nMedia 5000B
Operating System
Win 7 x32 ultimate
Monitor
42" LG tv
Keyboard
Logitech k400 Wireless Mouse & Keyboard all in one
Audio
home theater
▲ hide details ▲


Loosenut is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off