(Gigabyte X570 AORUS Master Overclocking Thread) - Page 30 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte X570 AORUS Master Overclocking Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #291 of 340 (permalink) Old 06-03-2020, 12:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 48
Rep: 0
Hello guys

I used the xmp profile for a couple of days(Gskill 4266 cl19 Samsung b-die single rank 2x8gb) , today the pc did not boot by locking on error 15. it probably does not digest something of the xmp profile of these RAMs. as suggested I went to 3733, after 48 minutes of memtest no error.

I used these parameters to get started (as suggested by the guys in the owners' topik)

Vddp voltage control manual

vddp voltage control 920

System Memory multiplier 37.33

-Standard timing control

Cas latency 16

tRCDRD 16

tRCDWR 16

tRP 16

tRAS 32

tRC 48

ProcODT 43.6 ohm

DRAM voltage 1.38V

Infinity fabric frequency and dividers 1867mHz


do you have any other parameter to suggest me? or some other test method? do you see any wrong parameter? I hope I won't run into bootloop anymore


Inviato dal mio HD1903 utilizzando Tapatalk
Tsk_Force is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #292 of 340 (permalink) Old 06-03-2020, 02:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 16
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Andi64 View Post
Hey zacreth, I have the same kit but with worse latencies, the 18-22-22-22 version. But my kit actually did 16-19-16-19 at 3733Mhz 12hs stable. I just applied the Fast preset with 3600Mhz settings from DRAM calculator at it worked. Then started to raise the frequency until 3800Mhz witch wasn't stable so I dial down to 3733mhz.

It was 2 memtest86 passes stable. It worked for 6 months... but a DIMM died
All voltages were stock, with F12a BIOS.

Latency in AIDA64 was 67ns.
i thought we had to keep the frequency as the what the memory stick actually are. So in my case since they were 3600MHZ ram that's what you're suppose to do in the Calculator.... no?
zacreth is offline  
post #293 of 340 (permalink) Old 06-03-2020, 02:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2020
Posts: 16
Rep: 0
Thanks for the answers and the links. I'm going through the links now and trying things out to see what I can get.

Quote: Originally Posted by RaXelliX View Post
14 is too extreme for Hynix RAM. Not even sure why the calculator is suggesting it. 14 is so extreme in fact that it likely won't do that at 3200Mhz. Let alone at something higher.

That's GDM at work. GDM sets primaries to even numbers. 15 becomes 16 and so on. But GDM does add a lot of stability so unless you really want to run uneven timings better to leave it on. GDM = Gear Down Mode.

That is an improvement. Ideal would be around 67.

Only Samsung B-Die kits can do around 65. Perhaps 64 but not much lower.

Generally yes when it comes to timings lower=better.
Some guides:
https://github.com/integralfx/MemTes...0OC%20Guide.md
https://www.techpowerup.com/review/a...locking-guide/

I believe the BIOS misreads this value. Like i said eralier i can't even boot under 525. So it must be incorrect. Only Samsung B-Die kits can do such a low tRFC.

Those higher values maybe more for stability and not speed.
zacreth is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #294 of 340 (permalink) Old 06-04-2020, 03:31 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 48
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Tsk_Force View Post
Hello guys

I used the xmp profile for a couple of days(Gskill 4266 cl19 Samsung b-die single rank 2x8gb) , today the pc did not boot by locking on error 15. it probably does not digest something of the xmp profile of these RAMs. as suggested I went to 3733, after 48 minutes of memtest no error.

I used these parameters to get started (as suggested by the guys in the owners' topik)

Vddp voltage control manual

vddp voltage control 920

System Memory multiplier 37.33

-Standard timing control

Cas latency 16

tRCDRD 16

tRCDWR 16

tRP 16

tRAS 32

tRC 48

ProcODT 43.6 ohm

DRAM voltage 1.38V

Infinity fabric frequency and dividers 1867mHz


do you have any other parameter to suggest me? or some other test method? do you see any wrong parameter? I hope I won't run into bootloop anymore


Inviato dal mio HD1903 utilizzando Tapatalk
Hello guys



same error, the pc this morning went into bootloop until the BIOS was reset. these are the parameters I used, any suggestions?

Inviato dal mio HD1903 utilizzando Tapatalk
Tsk_Force is offline  
post #295 of 340 (permalink) Old 06-04-2020, 08:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Andi64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by zacreth View Post
i thought we had to keep the frequency as the what the memory stick actually are. So in my case since they were 3600MHZ ram that's what you're suppose to do in the Calculator.... no?

Hinyx CJR won't do much better timings than 16-18-16-18 I think, but it can do 3800-4000Mhz. You should stick to 1:1:1 frequency so, the limit will be around DDR4-3800. Give it a try, stick to DRAM Calculator timings, the 3600Mhz preset, and try 3733Mhz and then 3800Mhz. If you are lucky your CPU will do 1900Mhz FCLK and you'll get a little boost in performance. If you are not, it will most probably do 1866Mhz with DDR4-3733 and you should see 66.5-67.5ns latency depending on your timings.

Remember to force 1:1 relation with your RAM and force 1900 or 1866Mhz to the Infinity Fabric to keep every frequency in sync.
Andi64 is offline  
post #296 of 340 (permalink) Old 06-04-2020, 03:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Yuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Germany
Posts: 218
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Hey,

is there any downside to setting the PWM phases to "extreme performance"?

I get better chipset temperatures when i set it to the highest value...power consumption seems to be the same...

PewPew Rig
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen 7 3800x
Motherboard
Gigabyte x570 Aorus Master
GPU
RTX™ 2080 Ti GAMING OC 11G
RAM
G.SKill Trident Z Neo
Hard Drive
ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro
Power Supply
be quite! Straight Power 11
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Dark Base Pro 900
Monitor
ViewSonic ELITE XG270QG
Mouse
Roccat Kone Pure Ultra
Mousepad
ZOWIE G-SR- SE Deep Blue
Audio
Creative Soundblaster AE5
▲ hide details ▲
Yuke is offline  
post #297 of 340 (permalink) Old 06-05-2020, 07:28 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
PiotrMKG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 21
Rep: 0
Hello Guys,

So after my 5th gen Intel CPU decided to die and 15 years since I had AMD CPU, I got this board with 3700X, and GSKILL 3600 16-16-16-36 kit. Where do I start maximising performance? I would like to tighten memory timings as well. I tried Dram calculator's settings but it failed - MB run into memory training loop or something like that. Also what value do I need to enter in this section "Addional Calculators tab - input Freq and tRFC in ns to get tRFC1, tRFC2 and tRFC4 values (if you having trouble make sure not to be using XMP in BIOS)" from XMP profile or from first page? (need to convert from T to ns), also in TRRDS I cannot enter "3" lowest possible value is "4".

I have custom WC, and CPU has it's own 480 radiator, so I think it should keep CPU's temp in check.

edit: why MB pushes almost 1,5V @ idle? and this is with V_core set to normal -0.075V
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dram_add.png
Views:	22
Size:	33.0 KB
ID:	351880  

Click image for larger version

Name:	dram_adv.png
Views:	21
Size:	51.5 KB
ID:	351882  

Click image for larger version

Name:	dram_main.png
Views:	28
Size:	68.7 KB
ID:	351884  

Click image for larger version

Name:	stock_volts.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	677.3 KB
ID:	352190  


 

Last edited by PiotrMKG; 06-05-2020 at 11:33 AM.
PiotrMKG is offline  
post #298 of 340 (permalink) Old 06-05-2020, 06:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 54
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by PiotrMKG View Post
Hello Guys,

So after my 5th gen Intel CPU decided to die and 15 years since I had AMD CPU, I got this board with 3700X, and GSKILL 3600 16-16-16-36 kit. Where do I start maximising performance? I would like to tighten memory timings as well. I tried Dram calculator's settings but it failed - MB run into memory training loop or something like that. Also what value do I need to enter in this section "Addional Calculators tab - input Freq and tRFC in ns to get tRFC1, tRFC2 and tRFC4 values (if you having trouble make sure not to be using XMP in BIOS)" from XMP profile or from first page? (need to convert from T to ns), also in TRRDS I cannot enter "3" lowest possible value is "4".

I have custom WC, and CPU has it's own 480 radiator, so I think it should keep CPU's temp in check.

edit: why MB pushes almost 1,5V @ idle? and this is with V_core set to normal -0.075V
The CPU vcore goes up to 1.5v when cores are under very small to no load and drops down a lot under heavy load . Everyone was asking about this at launch and the answers where saying it's working as intended and so far no one has reported dead chips from it.

As for Ram OC you can try choosing the PCB version of your sticks in the Calculator(found in Thaiphoon burner under JEDEC DIMM Label or Revision / Raw Card) sometimes the XMP numbers aren't compatible. Also the DRAM and SOC max voltages from the calculator are about 0.1v lower then what's needed for low quality chips.

Ticks to NanoSeconds
[1000/(3600/2)]*288=160
For Double Data Rate memory it's half the frequency for one period times the ticks.
PopReference is offline  
post #299 of 340 (permalink) Old 06-12-2020, 01:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
PiotrMKG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Posts: 21
Rep: 0
So I managed to get my RAM to 3800MHz and IF 1900MHz. I wondered what to expect regarding CPU clocks. During Cinebench R20 i get 4200MHz with these settings:
- V core 1.33V
- PBO 333,230,230, 4X, +200MHz

Score is around 4850 and CPU temp is 67*C while room temp is around 28*C.

Any hints if it is possible to hit ca. 4400MHz all core with 1.33V?

 
PiotrMKG is offline  
post #300 of 340 (permalink) Old 06-12-2020, 02:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
VinnieM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 14
Rep: 0
This is about the best I can do with an old quad channel kit I had laying around. It is a dual ranked Kingston 2666MHz 15-17-17 kit, so it's a pretty hefty overclock. It seems to use Micron B-die chips.
I can't stabilize 3533 or higher, Windows is bootable up to 3600MHz. Latency at 3466MHz is pretty good though, probably due to dual ranked modules and tightened timings.
Best part is I can lower the vSOC to about 0.925 and it's still stable. VDDG is good till about 0.800, VDDP at 0.750. DDR4 voltage is only at 1.35.
In the old X99 system I could only manage 3200MHz, although that was possible at CL14.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Aida_mem.png
Views:	5
Size:	114.0 KB
ID:	353708  

Attached Images
 

VinnieM is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 5 (0 members and 5 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off