(Gigabyte X570 AORUS Master Overclocking Thread) - Page 6 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte X570 AORUS Master Overclocking Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #51 of 110 (permalink) Old 08-25-2019, 07:32 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BS Zalman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 20
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Dreams-Visions View Post
1.) I've had success with the overclocking tool after many hours of failing. The guide in the OP was extremely helpful in accounting for some voltage block values that I wasn't imputting which seems to have allowed me to not only escape boot loops (several hours of that), but to begin the process of getting stable in Windows. Thank you for your efforts there and throughout the thread. That said, I've noticed that when using the "Safe" timings profile in Ryzen Memory Calculator, my Read, Write, Copy and Latency numbers are really no different from stock. I've attached relevant images, but at stock (18-19-19-19-39 @ 3600):

Read: 54724 | Write: 52525 | Copy: 57072 | Latency: 72.0

"Safe" timings (16-17-16-16-36 @ 3600):

Read: 55741 | Write: 52667 | Copy: 58086 | Latency: 70.9

I had hoped with the lower CL and considerably tighter timings, I'd see latency in the 60s, at least, but nope. At minimum, I thought I would see at least *some* improvement, but I don't see it in testing.

So my question is this: Am I doing something wrong? Is it my RAM kit that simply can't do better timings? I see a few posts up that the Trident Z Neo 32GB 2x16 kit comes recommended for optimum OC. Would that RAM kit give me a better result than what I'm seeing here?

Try the Manual Profile, for me that is the best latency that i get. Before i've tried with V1 & V2 profile i get 66/67 ns latency with unstable 3733 CL16 timings.
But with Manual Profile i get 65 ns with stable 3733 CL18 timings.

Here is how you do Manual Profile. Taken from DRAM Calculator Instruction
Spoiler!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	membench01.JPG
Views:	50
Size:	100.8 KB
ID:	291496  

BS Zalman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #52 of 110 (permalink) Old 08-25-2019, 09:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 41
Rep: 0
Hey guys, I will be joining you later this week when my GB AORUS Master arrives. Already have a Ryzen 9 3900X installed in an Asus ROG Crosshair VII but need to put that MB into my old computer that I'm giving to 2 of my grandsons. Anyway, good excuse to upgrade to an X570 MB. Also getting 2X16GB GSKILL Trident 3600 Z Neo RAM since my current ram also needs to stay with the MB.

One question, is the current UEFI stable enough to burn into this MB?

Ryzen 3900X Build
(17 items)
CPU
3900X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
GPU
MSI AMD Radeon 5700XT
RAM
GSkill F4-2933C14-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung NVMe EVO 970
Hard Drive
Samsung SSD 850 Pro
Hard Drive
WDC WD750GB Sata II
Hard Drive
GB Aorus NVMe Gen4 SSD
Optical Drive
LG BDDVDRW
Power Supply
Seasonic
Cooling
Corsair H150i Pro
Case
Corsair Graphite Series 780T
Operating System
MS Win10 Pro
Monitor
Samsung LC27HG70QQNXZA
Monitor
Samsung LC27HG70QQNXZA
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Steelseries WoW mouse
▲ hide details ▲
jfrob75 is offline  
post #53 of 110 (permalink) Old 08-29-2019, 07:33 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Heuchler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,999
Rep: 272 (Unique: 192)
@jfrob75 I really like my Aorus Master. Has every feature I would possible want. I don't have to worry about bricking my board with flashing a bad BIOS that vendor didn't properly validate. I did not have a good time with my PRIME X370-PRO at Ryzen 1000 launch.



Wendell really likes his Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master and X570 I AORUS PRO


[Level1Techs] Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master Thread
https://forum.level1techs.com/t/aoru...ettings/145081

[Level1Techs] Ryzen 3000 & Nav
https://www.level1techs.com/article/...avi-megathread


Wendell recommend pea size dost of Thermal Paste on each chiplet locations.
Click image for larger version

Name:	L1T Ryzen 3000 Thermal Paste pea size dot on each chiplet location.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	217.8 KB
ID:	292406

update: new Video


Overclocking History (Click to show)
Intel 386DX/16 @ 20 MHz
CX486SLC/50 @ 50 MHz
AM486DX2/80 @ 100 MHz
AM486 DX4-100 @ 120 MHz
AK5x86-P75 [email protected] 160 MHz
Pentium 90 @ 120 Mhz
IBM 6x86L P166+ [email protected] 160 MHz
Celeron 300a @ 454 MHz
Pentium 3 700 @ 933 MHz
Athlon XP 1400+ @ 1600 MHz
Athlon XP 1800+ @ 2088 MHz
Athlon XP 2500+ @ 2200 MHz
Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2603 MHz
Athlon X2 BE2300 @ 1900 MHz
Athlon X2 4200+ @ 2210 MHz
Athlon X2 5000+ @ 2600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E4300 @ 3000 MHz
Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 3600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 4000 MHz
Xeon C2Q L5408 @ 3200 MHz
Xeon C2Q X5450 @ 3300 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5440 @ 3400 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5450 @ 3600 MHz
Phenom2 X4 B50 @ 3700 MHz
Phenom2 X6 1045T @ 4050 MHz
Core i5-2500K Sandy @ 4500 MHz
X5650 6-Core Westmere @ 3982 MHz
AMD FX 8320E Black Edition

FX-8320E @4.5GHz, X5650 @ 4.0GHz, X6 1045T @4.0GHz, i7 [email protected]
Thinkpad T420p with i7-2720QM overclocked because this is OCN

Last edited by Heuchler; 09-02-2019 at 01:05 PM.
Heuchler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #54 of 110 (permalink) Old 08-30-2019, 11:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 41
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Heuchler View Post
@jfrob75 I really like my Aorus Master. Has every feature I would possible want. I don't have to worry about bricking my board with flashing a bad BIOS that vendor didn't properly validate. I did not have a good time with my PRIME X370-PRO at Ryzen 1000 launch.
Thanks for the feedback. I took possession of my Aorus Master this week on Tuesday. I'm coming from a CH7, so still getting used to differences in UEFI GUI's. Think I finally have a stable OC of my memory @3733. Thought I would see more boost from this MB for my 3900X than I was seeing on the CH7. Lot's of information in this thread as well as others but will take some time to sift through it all. On my CH7 I was able achieve a stable all core OC of 4.3GHz and MEM OC of 3733. Not yet successful with this combined OC on this MB yet. Waiting on some new thermal paste hoping it resolve my little thermal issue. Had to use some generic thermal paste when swapping MB's since I was out of the liquid metal I had used when installing the 3900X on my CH7.

Ryzen 3900X Build
(17 items)
CPU
3900X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
GPU
MSI AMD Radeon 5700XT
RAM
GSkill F4-2933C14-16GFX
Hard Drive
Samsung NVMe EVO 970
Hard Drive
Samsung SSD 850 Pro
Hard Drive
WDC WD750GB Sata II
Hard Drive
GB Aorus NVMe Gen4 SSD
Optical Drive
LG BDDVDRW
Power Supply
Seasonic
Cooling
Corsair H150i Pro
Case
Corsair Graphite Series 780T
Operating System
MS Win10 Pro
Monitor
Samsung LC27HG70QQNXZA
Monitor
Samsung LC27HG70QQNXZA
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Steelseries WoW mouse
▲ hide details ▲
jfrob75 is offline  
post #55 of 110 (permalink) Old 08-30-2019, 12:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
Can someone explain why when my Vcore voltage is at 1.325v but Ryzen Master think its only 1.1v? Also HWInfo64 says all the VID core voltages are stuck at 1.1v as well.
Thistletea is offline  
post #56 of 110 (permalink) Old 08-31-2019, 01:26 AM
Gaming enthusiast
 
Ironcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 818
Rep: 36 (Unique: 30)
Moved this over to here from the owners thread as I didnt notice this one:

I feel like Im getting really bad speeds and latency on this board, and whats up with the 99.8 clock its driving my ocd mad. Where am I going wrong with my memory, its passing memtest at this point but speeds and latency are way below my asus ch6 im coming from. Im on a master.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Annotation 2019-08-31 033855.png
Views:	47
Size:	1.53 MB
ID:	292608  

Click image for larger version

Name:	Annotation 2019-08-31 033603.png
Views:	16
Size:	378.3 KB
ID:	292610  


Origin: Ironcobra80
Steam: Ironcobra
Gaming Ryzen
(14 items)
CPU
3600
Motherboard
Gigabyte Auros Master x570
GPU
EVGA XC ULTRA 2080 TI
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB F4-3600C16D-16GTZR (16-15-15-28 3800)
Hard Drive
HP EX950 1TB
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG EVO 860 1TB
Power Supply
SEASONIC FOCUS+ GOLD 650W
Cooling
CORSAIR 115I PRO PUSH/PULL FANS-NOCTUA
Case
CORSAIR CARBIDE AIR 540
Operating System
W10 FAST RING
Monitor
LG OLED C6 65"
Keyboard
Varmilo VB87M
Mouse
LOGITECH G900
Mousepad
Zowie Gear P-SR
▲ hide details ▲
Ironcobra is offline  
post #57 of 110 (permalink) Old 08-31-2019, 04:54 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 808
Rep: 28 (Unique: 25)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ironcobra View Post
Moved this over to here from the owners thread as I didnt notice this one:

I feel like Im getting really bad speeds and latency on this board, and whats up with the 99.8 clock its driving my ocd mad. Where am I going wrong with my memory, its passing memtest at this point but speeds and latency are way below my asus ch6 im coming from. Im on a master.
You sub-timings are far from optimal.

Power down mode: disabled?
Tried Gear Down Mode: disabled?
Both will increase performance but GDM:disabled can be really hard/tricky to get stable and can limit your max frequency obtained compared to having it enabled.

And I wonder what it's with those CAD Bus Timings values? I see you being the second person having such values. Does AUTO with [0.0.0] not work for you guys or is that what AUTO does for B-die?
Data Bus Configuration. I see many use [dis, dis, RZQ/5] but I newer found that one being the most optimal for my setups. Could be Micron/Samsung difference but I never saw Samsung B-die owners try other stuff.

Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME, Ryzen 7 3800X 4.45Ghz, 4266/1900 MEM/FCLK, 16.26.19.48.76.tRFC 650 1T 1.58V
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V (Micron E-die 16nm)
OLD: Biostar x470GT8 Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM ...
Nighthog is offline  
post #58 of 110 (permalink) Old 08-31-2019, 12:31 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Heuchler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,999
Rep: 272 (Unique: 192)
@jfrob75 My ASUS X370 and ASRock X370 boards have very similar feeling BIOS. Coming from a Sabertooth 990FX both X370 boards where really easy to adjust to.

NL Hardware.info did a X570 motherboards Round-Up (includes VRM temps and a look at BIOS for each of the 15 boards they tested)
https://nl.hardware.info/artikel/941...-met-een-3900x





@Ironcobra your Trfc [345] being lower than Trfc2 and Trfc4 [468] seems odd to me.
DRAM calculator has a tab to calculate Trfc timings or you can try putting Trfc2 and Trfc4 on Auto [should be '0' value in BIOS] to see it that helps


my OCPD doesn't like the 99.8 MHz much either. I would suggest getting timing down then see if you can bump up the BUS a little. 100.1 MHz should fine. Far warning I was running 103 MHz for a few years on X58. Socket 1331 is good but wish they would have bump it up to 1337-pins.
CPU Boost seems to very YMMV at this time from individual chips and BIOS behavior. Wendel from Level 1 Techs has all his Matisse CPUs boosting correctly with 100.1 and 3600C14 (I think). My CPU didn't overclocking much but memory control had no issues with 1900 IF.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	03 - Ryzen DRAM Calculator - calculators.png
Views:	13
Size:	30.1 KB
ID:	292688  


Overclocking History (Click to show)
Intel 386DX/16 @ 20 MHz
CX486SLC/50 @ 50 MHz
AM486DX2/80 @ 100 MHz
AM486 DX4-100 @ 120 MHz
AK5x86-P75 [email protected] 160 MHz
Pentium 90 @ 120 Mhz
IBM 6x86L P166+ [email protected] 160 MHz
Celeron 300a @ 454 MHz
Pentium 3 700 @ 933 MHz
Athlon XP 1400+ @ 1600 MHz
Athlon XP 1800+ @ 2088 MHz
Athlon XP 2500+ @ 2200 MHz
Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2603 MHz
Athlon X2 BE2300 @ 1900 MHz
Athlon X2 4200+ @ 2210 MHz
Athlon X2 5000+ @ 2600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E4300 @ 3000 MHz
Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 3600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 4000 MHz
Xeon C2Q L5408 @ 3200 MHz
Xeon C2Q X5450 @ 3300 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5440 @ 3400 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5450 @ 3600 MHz
Phenom2 X4 B50 @ 3700 MHz
Phenom2 X6 1045T @ 4050 MHz
Core i5-2500K Sandy @ 4500 MHz
X5650 6-Core Westmere @ 3982 MHz
AMD FX 8320E Black Edition

FX-8320E @4.5GHz, X5650 @ 4.0GHz, X6 1045T @4.0GHz, i7 [email protected]
Thinkpad T420p with i7-2720QM overclocked because this is OCN
Heuchler is offline  
post #59 of 110 (permalink) Old 08-31-2019, 01:30 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
monza1412's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 41
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by Ironcobra View Post
whats up with the 99.8 clock its driving my ocd mad.
Disabling the spread spectrum option in bios should fix that.
monza1412 is offline  
post #60 of 110 (permalink) Old 08-31-2019, 08:11 PM
Gaming enthusiast
 
Ironcobra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Posts: 818
Rep: 36 (Unique: 30)
Quote: Originally Posted by Nighthog View Post
You sub-timings are far from optimal.

Power down mode: disabled?
Tried Gear Down Mode: disabled?
Both will increase performance but GDM:disabled can be really hard/tricky to get stable and can limit your max frequency obtained compared to having it enabled.

And I wonder what it's with those CAD Bus Timings values? I see you being the second person having such values. Does AUTO with [0.0.0] not work for you guys or is that what AUTO does for B-die?
Data Bus Configuration. I see many use [dis, dis, RZQ/5] but I newer found that one being the most optimal for my setups. Could be Micron/Samsung difference but I never saw Samsung B-die owners try other stuff.
Quote: Originally Posted by Heuchler View Post
@jfrob75 My ASUS X370 and ASRock X370 boards have very similar feeling BIOS. Coming from a Sabertooth 990FX both X370 boards where really easy to adjust to.

NL Hardware.info did a X570 motherboards Round-Up (includes VRM temps and a look at BIOS for each of the 15 boards they tested)
https://nl.hardware.info/artikel/941...-met-een-3900x





@Ironcobra your Trfc [345] being lower than Trfc2 and Trfc4 [468] seems odd to me.
DRAM calculator has a tab to calculate Trfc timings or you can try putting Trfc2 and Trfc4 on Auto [should be '0' value in BIOS] to see it that helps


my OCPD doesn't like the 99.8 MHz much either. I would suggest getting timing down then see if you can bump up the BUS a little. 100.1 MHz should fine. Far warning I was running 103 MHz for a few years on X58. Socket 1331 is good but wish they would have bump it up to 1337-pins.
CPU Boost seems to very YMMV at this time from individual chips and BIOS behavior. Wendel from Level 1 Techs has all his Matisse CPUs boosting correctly with 100.1 and 3600C14 (I think). My CPU didn't overclocking much but memory control had no issues with 1900 IF.
After doing a little studying of Stilts ryzen memory explanations, I think Im finally getting the hang of it. I was able to get much lower trfc down to 260 and the two scl to 2 but it raised latency just a touch, 280 and 3 and 3 seemed to be the sweet spot. I didnt have the energy to work on 3800 tonight. But Im very happy so far. How are my dram and chipset temps, the chipset seems a little higher than what I have read and I dont see anything to control the temps.

Quote: Originally Posted by monza1412 View Post
Disabling the spread spectrum option in bios should fix that.
Good call my ocd thanks you
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Annotation 2019-09-01 014915.png
Views:	49
Size:	3.58 MB
ID:	292804  


Origin: Ironcobra80
Steam: Ironcobra
Gaming Ryzen
(14 items)
CPU
3600
Motherboard
Gigabyte Auros Master x570
GPU
EVGA XC ULTRA 2080 TI
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ RGB F4-3600C16D-16GTZR (16-15-15-28 3800)
Hard Drive
HP EX950 1TB
Hard Drive
SAMSUNG EVO 860 1TB
Power Supply
SEASONIC FOCUS+ GOLD 650W
Cooling
CORSAIR 115I PRO PUSH/PULL FANS-NOCTUA
Case
CORSAIR CARBIDE AIR 540
Operating System
W10 FAST RING
Monitor
LG OLED C6 65"
Keyboard
Varmilo VB87M
Mouse
LOGITECH G900
Mousepad
Zowie Gear P-SR
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by Ironcobra; 08-31-2019 at 10:57 PM.
Ironcobra is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off