(Gigabyte X570 AORUS Master Overclocking Thread) - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

(Gigabyte X570 AORUS Master Overclocking Thread)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 41 (permalink) Old 08-02-2019, 11:58 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Heuchler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,884
Rep: 255 (Unique: 187)
(Gigabyte X570 AORUS Master Overclocking Thread)

Boards features:

* Direct 14-phase [12+2] Infineon Digital VRM (XDPE123G5C) with 50A IR3556 Powerstages
* Fins-Array Heatsink and Direct Touch Heatpipe, Thermally conductive Baseplate
* 6-Layer 2X Copper PCIe 4.0 Mid-Loss Ready PCB
* B-Clock IC, LED POST code, Status LEDs, Easy Voltage Measuring Points
* Socketed Dual-BIOS (selectable) + Q-Flash
* ALC1220-VB & ESS SABRE 9118 DAC with WIMA film Capacitors
* Triple PCIe 4.0 M.2 + 6x SATA-III (last two SATA ports shared with 3rd M.2 off the chipset)

Board layout
Click image for larger version

Name:	X570 AORUS MASTER layout.png
Views:	29
Size:	207.2 KB
ID:	285552


DIMM
Click image for larger version

Name:	AORUS DIMM.png
Views:	20
Size:	87.3 KB
ID:	285562


Status LEDs
Click image for larger version

Name:	AORUS Status LEDs.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	128.3 KB
ID:	285556


POST Codes
Spoiler!



M.2 and SATA-III
Spoiler!



Voltage Measurement Points
Click image for larger version

Name:	AORUS Voltage Measuring Points.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	159.3 KB
ID:	285554


BIOS Switches
Click image for larger version

Name:	AORUS BIOS Switches.png
Views:	24
Size:	173.0 KB
ID:	285560

Quote: Originally Posted by AlphaC View Post
Dual BIOs with replaceable BIOS chip explanation
It is advisable to use Single BIOS mode such that the second chip is untouched. Flash only via USB in the BIOS itself via Q-Flash. Don't flash in Windows or other OS.
Try to load Optimized Defaults so that all settings are stock before flashing the BIOS.

When you have a corrupt main BIOS you can then flash over the main BIOS by switching the BIOS to the 2nd BIOS.

1. Set board to single BIOS mode if not already.
2. Boot off the backup BIOS
3. Once in the BIOS flip the switch to the BIOS you want to flash,
4. Use Q-Flash to flash the BIOS. After reboot it may power cycle up to 5 times for memory training reasons.
Q-Flash can update the BIOS without a OS like DOS or Windows - embedded in BIOS [END key on POST screen or F8 inside the menu in BIOS].
Q-Flash Plus is more of a recovery tool or if you don't have a unsupported processor and need to update the BIOS (takes 2-3 minutes).

Spoiler!



Manual
http://download.gigabyte.us/FileList...2_190708_e.pdf

Memory QVL
https://www.gigabyte.com/us/Motherbo...rt#support-doc

AMD chipset driver
https://www.amd.com/en/support/chips...ocket-am4/x570

AMD Ryzen Master
https://www.amd.com/en/technologies/ryzen-master

Ryzen Master Reference Guide [PDF]
https://www.amd.com/system/files/doc...ence-guide.pdf

Overclocking History (Click to show)
Intel 386DX/16 @ 20 MHz
CX486SLC/50 @ 50 MHz
AM486DX2/80 @ 100 MHz
AM486 DX4-100 @ 120 MHz
AK5x86-P75 [email protected] 160 MHz
Pentium 90 @ 120 Mhz
IBM 6x86L P166+ [email protected] 160 MHz
Celeron 300a @ 454 MHz
Pentium 3 700 @ 933 MHz
Athlon XP 1400+ @ 1600 MHz
Athlon XP 1800+ @ 2088 MHz
Athlon XP 2500+ @ 2200 MHz
Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2603 MHz
Athlon X2 BE2300 @ 1900 MHz
Athlon X2 4200+ @ 2210 MHz
Athlon X2 5000+ @ 2600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E4300 @ 3000 MHz
Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 3600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 4000 MHz
Xeon C2Q L5408 @ 3200 MHz
Xeon C2Q X5450 @ 3300 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5440 @ 3400 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5450 @ 3600 MHz
Phenom2 X4 B50 @ 3700 MHz
Phenom2 X6 1045T @ 4050 MHz
Core i5-2500K Sandy @ 4500 MHz
X5650 6-Core Westmere @ 3982 MHz
AMD FX 8320E Black Edition

FX-8320E @4.5GHz, X5650 @ 4.0GHz, X6 1045T @4.0GHz, i7 [email protected]
Thinkpad T420p with i7-2720QM overclocked because this is OCN

Last edited by Heuchler; 08-10-2019 at 11:50 AM.
Heuchler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 41 (permalink) Old 08-02-2019, 11:59 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Heuchler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,884
Rep: 255 (Unique: 187)
[Memory Overclocking]


Thaiphoon Burner http://www.softnology.biz/files.html
- Read button to get IC manufacture and part number
Click image for larger version

Name:	00 - Thaiphoon.png
Views:	24
Size:	49.3 KB
ID:	285574

example: G.Skill F4-3600C19-8GSXKB (Hynix CJR SR)

RAM Calculator for Ryzen 1.6.0.3 by 1usmus
https://www.overclock.net/forum/13-a...ram-bench.html
right click (run as Admin)
more into (Run anways)

* Select Processor (Zen 2 = Ryzne 2 gen)
* Select Memory Type
* Select Rank [SR/DR]
* Select Frequency
* Select # DIMM
* Select Chipset

click R-XMP (Purple button)


Ryzen DRAM Calculator
Click image for larger version

Name:	01 - Ryzen DRAM Calculator 1.6.0.1.png
Views:	56
Size:	97.8 KB
ID:	285576

Screenshot (bottom left) then Print Main & Advanced page


Ryzen DRAM Calculator - Advanced
Click image for larger version

Name:	02 - Ryzen DRAM Calculator - Advanced.png
Views:	53
Size:	54.9 KB
ID:	285578

Addional Calculators tab - input Freq and tRFC in ns to get tRFC1, tRFC2 and tRFC4 values
Spoiler!






* setting up Favorites tab
use <Insert key> to add the following under: settings -> AMD Overclocking
Spoiler!

  • DDR and Infinity Fabric
  • VDDP Voltage
  • VDDG Voltage
  • Precision Boost Overdrive (PBO)


Tweaker -> System Memory Multiplier [auto = 21.33 = DDR4 2133]
set "36.00" for DDR4 3600 etc *if using XMP check VCORE SoC as the profile can set it way too high



Tweaker -> Advanced Memory Settings -> Memory Subtimings
Spoiler!


enter all the data from Ryzen DRAM Calculator blue numbers should correspond to BIOS order 1-42 with 33-35 are on second page (under CAD BUS Timings)
Spoiler!



Tweaker -> set voltages
  • CPU Vcore up to 1.32v is safe [set to NORMAL to use offsets mode]
  • VCORE SOC = SOC Voltage from DRAM Calculator for Ryzen page 1
  • CPU VDD18 =1.80v (helped on Zen and Zen+)
  • CPU VDDP = set to Normal (check under PC Health for correct value at end)
  • PM_1V8 = PLL Voltage from DRAM Calculator for Ryzen page 2
  • PM_1VSOC = chipset core (1.0v default but can be adj up to 1.05v could help stabilize)
  • DRAM Voltage (CH A/B) = DRAM Voltage from DRAM Calculator for Ryzen page 1
  • DDRVDDP Voltage (CH A/B) = VPP Voltage from DRAM Calculator for Ryzen page 2
  • DRAM Termination = DDRVtt = Vref = DRAM voltage/2

F11 section - using Favorites that we added after the Ryzen DRAM Calculator section
Spoiler!


Favorites -> set VDDP voltage [in mV]
Favorites -> set VDDG voltage [in mV]
Spoiler!


Manually have to set both FCLK and MCLK if over 1800 MHz else default AUTO setting should be in synchronous mode [1:1]
- FCLK and MCLK should be the same else a rather large latency penalty applies

Set DDR and Infinity Fabric Frequency/Timings
Spoiler!


Favorites ->DRAM Timing Configuration
- set memory clock speed (MCLK)

Favorites ->Infinity Fabric Frequency and Divider
- set Infinity Fabric Frequency (FCLK)


check PC Health before saving BIOS
Spoiler!

Overclocking History (Click to show)
Intel 386DX/16 @ 20 MHz
CX486SLC/50 @ 50 MHz
AM486DX2/80 @ 100 MHz
AM486 DX4-100 @ 120 MHz
AK5x86-P75 [email protected] 160 MHz
Pentium 90 @ 120 Mhz
IBM 6x86L P166+ [email protected] 160 MHz
Celeron 300a @ 454 MHz
Pentium 3 700 @ 933 MHz
Athlon XP 1400+ @ 1600 MHz
Athlon XP 1800+ @ 2088 MHz
Athlon XP 2500+ @ 2200 MHz
Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2603 MHz
Athlon X2 BE2300 @ 1900 MHz
Athlon X2 4200+ @ 2210 MHz
Athlon X2 5000+ @ 2600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E4300 @ 3000 MHz
Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 3600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 4000 MHz
Xeon C2Q L5408 @ 3200 MHz
Xeon C2Q X5450 @ 3300 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5440 @ 3400 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5450 @ 3600 MHz
Phenom2 X4 B50 @ 3700 MHz
Phenom2 X6 1045T @ 4050 MHz
Core i5-2500K Sandy @ 4500 MHz
X5650 6-Core Westmere @ 3982 MHz
AMD FX 8320E Black Edition

FX-8320E @4.5GHz, X5650 @ 4.0GHz, X6 1045T @4.0GHz, i7 [email protected]
Thinkpad T420p with i7-2720QM overclocked because this is OCN

Last edited by Heuchler; 08-06-2019 at 05:41 PM.
Heuchler is offline  
post #3 of 41 (permalink) Old 08-02-2019, 11:59 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Heuchler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,884
Rep: 255 (Unique: 187)
[CPU overclocking section]

Current results on Ryzen 5 3600 (rather poor overclocker but no problem with 1900 IF]

Core 0 4200
Core 1 4225
Core 2 4250
Core 3 4250
Core 4 4250
Core 5 4225

Board Limit
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ryzen Master Limits.png
Views:	9
Size:	6.5 KB
ID:	287018


--- PPT : Package Power Tracking (Total Socket Power limit)
--- EDC : Electrical Design Current - Peak , "Indicates the maximum current the voltage rail can demand for a short, thermally insignificant time" - αC
--- TDC : Thermal Design Current - Sustained, Thermally limited VRM current

Eco Mode:
65W Matisse B: TDC = 60A/EDC=90A/PPT=87.8W
45W Matisse H: TDC = 45A/EDC=65A/PPT=60.8W


Strictly technical: Matisse (Not really) by The Stilt
https://www.overclock.net/forum/10-a...ot-really.html


Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
The overclocking capabilities

Essentially, if we're talking about the higher-end SKUs, there is basically none.
Based on my experience, the best case of scenario on 6C CCDs (3600, 3600X and 3900X) is around 4.25GHz, at relatively safe voltage levels.
In case of 3900X, given that you can cool the chip with two of those 6C CCDs. SKUs with 8C CCDs (3700X, 3800X and 3950X) the best case is around 4.15GHz. The 3950X is expected to be thermally limited, as a whole.
The biggest limit is the intensity (heat per area), secondly the voltage you can safely feed to the silicon. For example, the 9900K which has a reputation of being an inferno, has theoretical intensity of ~1.15W/mm² when operating at 5.0GHz (200W @ 174mm²).
Meanwhile Matisse can easily reach intensity of > 1.5W/mm² (120W+ @ 74mm²). The second issue is, that beyond ~3.8GHz the V/F curve becomes extremely steep. According to FIT, the safe voltage levels for the silicon are around 1.325V in high-current loads
and up to 1.47V in low-current loads (i.e ST), depending on the silicon characteristics. Because the stock boost operation is already limited by the silicon voltage reliability, the only way to eke out every last bit of all-core performance is using OC-Mode. Like on previous Ryzen generations, entering OC-Mode also means that you will loose the turbo boost (all cores operate at same frequency). On the higher-end SKUs, the single threaded performance penalty will be massive from doing so. For example on 3900X, you'd be trading additional ~100MHz all-core frequency to a loss of up to 450MHz in ST frequency by doing so. Personally, I advice against overclocking the higher-end SKUs at all, and instead increasing the power limits and trying your luck with the "Auto OC" feature (which most likely isn't beneficial).

The V/F testing was done using full resource utilization (FRU), meaning the stability was tested using 256-bit workloads.
Unlike Intel designs, Matisse does not feature an offset for 256-bit workloads. This means that to ensure the stability of the CPU cores in every scenario, they must be tested using this kind of a workload.
On Matisse, the delta in power consumption between the scalar and 256-bit vector instructions is massive, as expected (37%). That being said, there seems to be other design related factors limiting the maximum achievable frequency.
Despite significantly lower power consumption and therefore also lower temperatures, stability even in pure scalar workloads could not be achieved at much higher frequencies, compare to FRU scenario.

Spoiler!


Performance per Watt

As expected, Matisse provides significantly higher performance per watt than its competition, thanks to its leading edge 7nm manufacturing process. Some of you might notice that Matisse's power efficiency seems to peak at 3.5GHz, despite the fact that semiconductors do not behave like that. The reason behind this was revealed by Vmin testing, which clearly illustrated that Matisse lacks fused V/F (voltage-frequency) curve below 3.4GHz. This means that below 3.4GHz frequencies the voltage is always at the same level, it is at 3.4GHz. The stock (fused) V/F curve appears to be extremely well optimized as well, leaving only the temperature factor on the table.

Spoiler!

Overclocking History (Click to show)
Intel 386DX/16 @ 20 MHz
CX486SLC/50 @ 50 MHz
AM486DX2/80 @ 100 MHz
AM486 DX4-100 @ 120 MHz
AK5x86-P75 [email protected] 160 MHz
Pentium 90 @ 120 Mhz
IBM 6x86L P166+ [email protected] 160 MHz
Celeron 300a @ 454 MHz
Pentium 3 700 @ 933 MHz
Athlon XP 1400+ @ 1600 MHz
Athlon XP 1800+ @ 2088 MHz
Athlon XP 2500+ @ 2200 MHz
Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2603 MHz
Athlon X2 BE2300 @ 1900 MHz
Athlon X2 4200+ @ 2210 MHz
Athlon X2 5000+ @ 2600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E4300 @ 3000 MHz
Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 3600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 4000 MHz
Xeon C2Q L5408 @ 3200 MHz
Xeon C2Q X5450 @ 3300 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5440 @ 3400 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5450 @ 3600 MHz
Phenom2 X4 B50 @ 3700 MHz
Phenom2 X6 1045T @ 4050 MHz
Core i5-2500K Sandy @ 4500 MHz
X5650 6-Core Westmere @ 3982 MHz
AMD FX 8320E Black Edition

FX-8320E @4.5GHz, X5650 @ 4.0GHz, X6 1045T @4.0GHz, i7 [email protected]
Thinkpad T420p with i7-2720QM overclocked because this is OCN

Last edited by Heuchler; 08-07-2019 at 03:23 PM.
Heuchler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 41 (permalink) Old 08-02-2019, 11:59 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Heuchler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,884
Rep: 255 (Unique: 187)
[Memory OC Results - 1xCCD]
Click image for larger version

Name:	Ryzen Master CPU-Z.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	444.2 KB
ID:	286216

AIDA64 Memory   Read   Write   Copy   Latency
3400 @14-18-19-28   50,403   27,195   47,015   70.5ns
3533 @14-18-19-28   50,999   28,260   49,207   68.4 ns
3600 @20-20-20-40   50,548   28,790   48,456   71.7 ns
3600 @16-19-20-36   50,980   28,791   49,476   68.3 ns
3733 mismatch   49,125   28,792   49,742   80.6 ns
3733 @16-21-21-36   52,519   29,858   51,666   67.4 ns
3733 @16-20-20-36   52,931   29,861   51,356   66.8 ns
3800 @16-21-21-36   53,917   29,864   51,699   65.8 ns
3800 @16-20-20-36   54,694   30,396   52,426   65.0 ns



Click image for larger version

Name:	cachemem DDR4 3800 16-20-20-36.png
Views:	13
Size:	92.3 KB
ID:	285564
G.Skill F4-3600C19-8GSXKB (CJR) DDR4 3800 16-20-20-36 AIDA64 Results
Spoiler!



Click image for larger version

Name:	AIDA64 DDR4 3400 c14 CPUZ.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	273.5 KB
ID:	287238
G.Skill F4-3600C19-8GSXKB (CJR) DDR4 3400 14-18-19-42 AIDA64 Results
Spoiler!




Please send The Stilt and 1usmus a thank you for all their hard work.

Overclocking History (Click to show)
Intel 386DX/16 @ 20 MHz
CX486SLC/50 @ 50 MHz
AM486DX2/80 @ 100 MHz
AM486 DX4-100 @ 120 MHz
AK5x86-P75 [email protected] 160 MHz
Pentium 90 @ 120 Mhz
IBM 6x86L P166+ [email protected] 160 MHz
Celeron 300a @ 454 MHz
Pentium 3 700 @ 933 MHz
Athlon XP 1400+ @ 1600 MHz
Athlon XP 1800+ @ 2088 MHz
Athlon XP 2500+ @ 2200 MHz
Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2603 MHz
Athlon X2 BE2300 @ 1900 MHz
Athlon X2 4200+ @ 2210 MHz
Athlon X2 5000+ @ 2600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E4300 @ 3000 MHz
Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 3600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 4000 MHz
Xeon C2Q L5408 @ 3200 MHz
Xeon C2Q X5450 @ 3300 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5440 @ 3400 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5450 @ 3600 MHz
Phenom2 X4 B50 @ 3700 MHz
Phenom2 X6 1045T @ 4050 MHz
Core i5-2500K Sandy @ 4500 MHz
X5650 6-Core Westmere @ 3982 MHz
AMD FX 8320E Black Edition

FX-8320E @4.5GHz, X5650 @ 4.0GHz, X6 1045T @4.0GHz, i7 [email protected]
Thinkpad T420p with i7-2720QM overclocked because this is OCN

Last edited by Heuchler; 08-08-2019 at 03:18 PM.
Heuchler is offline  
post #5 of 41 (permalink) Old 08-05-2019, 12:31 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Heuchler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,884
Rep: 255 (Unique: 187)
TROUBLESHOOTING
odd memory behavior try Reseating the CPU and DIMM

Using slot A2/B2 - From CPU skip a slot, DIMM, skip a slot, DIMM
Click image for larger version

Name:	mb_manual_x570-aorus-master_e.pdf.png
Views:	1
Size:	31.9 KB
ID:	290628

FAQ
Quote: Originally Posted by GBT-MatthewH View Post

Q: What is "High frequency support" under XMP?
A: This is a quick way to adjust Infinity Fabric speed manually.
  • Level 1 = 1600 IF
  • Level 2 = 1700 IF
  • Level 3 = 1800 IF
  • To go above 1800 IF set the speed manually, do not use these presets.

Q: XMP doesn't work!
A: Make sure you are:
  • Using slot A2/B2 - From CPU skip a slot, RAM, skip a slot, RAM. I cannot emphasize this enough. If you are helping someone T/S a problem this should be your first question.
  • You are using the latest BIOS.
  • For debugging RAM please keep everything else default.
  • If the above don't help post your RAM kit and any steps you have tried to fix the problem.

Q: My RAM voltage goes to 1.2V when setting a CPU multiplier.
A: Your OC is unstable. Try raising Vcore.

Reported Issues Status

Issue Status
Fans go to 100% after sleep   Should be fixed in next BIOS
WHEA errors   Should be fixed in next BIOS
BIOS Resets after PSU is unplugged or switched off   Fixed in latest BETA BIOS 8/2
Disabling CSM causes BIOS to become slow Reproducible / Working on a fix
SOC too low after sleep Fixed 7/31
High idle voltage with memory over 3600  Fixed 7/31

I dont see my BIOS on the webpage!!!

We have tons of servers worldwide. If you don't see a file, or get access denied, it means the file hasn't propagated there yet. You need to go to the global page...

Here is an example of the US page:   gigabyte.com/us/Motherboard/X570-AORUS-MASTER-rev-10/
Here is an example of the global page:  gigabyte.com/Motherboard/X570-AORUS-MASTER-rev-10/

Notice the only difference is the "/US". Simply remove that. For EU remove "/EU", etc... If you get the access denied message try the ASIA server. Its the same file, just a different mirror!

How to use Q-Flash Plus without a CPU:
Spoiler!


Known quirks, not necessarily board specific


Quote:
PBO not working?

Are you languishing in 4.2-4.3 max boost clocks even for single core ? Set your memory speed to 3533 or less and set the fabric speed to match.

The AORUS Master is an impressive board. I have two 3900Xs. Both can hit 4.5 all core with a manual OC. One can clock a bit higher but only on the first CCX.


Help my NVMe won’t show up

Settings > Miscellaneous > PCIe slot config then pick PCIe Gen3. This can also help if you have a riser card or extension cable (not recommended).

In general I recommend this if you have a Samsung NVMe. I’ve got some 960 Pros and 970 Evos/Pros I’ve been rotating through various motherboards and… yeah… Samsung is a bit weird. Set it for PCIE3 as it seems to struggle with auto detection in some scenarios.
Level 1 Tech - Aorus Master x570 Perfect UEFI Settings
https://forum.level1techs.com/t/aoru...ettings/145081



- upcoming fanless chipset mod

[place holder]


unboxed
Spoiler!

Overclocking History (Click to show)
Intel 386DX/16 @ 20 MHz
CX486SLC/50 @ 50 MHz
AM486DX2/80 @ 100 MHz
AM486 DX4-100 @ 120 MHz
AK5x86-P75 [email protected] 160 MHz
Pentium 90 @ 120 Mhz
IBM 6x86L P166+ [email protected] 160 MHz
Celeron 300a @ 454 MHz
Pentium 3 700 @ 933 MHz
Athlon XP 1400+ @ 1600 MHz
Athlon XP 1800+ @ 2088 MHz
Athlon XP 2500+ @ 2200 MHz
Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2603 MHz
Athlon X2 BE2300 @ 1900 MHz
Athlon X2 4200+ @ 2210 MHz
Athlon X2 5000+ @ 2600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E4300 @ 3000 MHz
Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 3600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 4000 MHz
Xeon C2Q L5408 @ 3200 MHz
Xeon C2Q X5450 @ 3300 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5440 @ 3400 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5450 @ 3600 MHz
Phenom2 X4 B50 @ 3700 MHz
Phenom2 X6 1045T @ 4050 MHz
Core i5-2500K Sandy @ 4500 MHz
X5650 6-Core Westmere @ 3982 MHz
AMD FX 8320E Black Edition

FX-8320E @4.5GHz, X5650 @ 4.0GHz, X6 1045T @4.0GHz, i7 [email protected]
Thinkpad T420p with i7-2720QM overclocked because this is OCN

Last edited by Heuchler; 08-21-2019 at 12:30 PM.
Heuchler is offline  
post #6 of 41 (permalink) Old 08-05-2019, 01:52 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 11,073
Rep: 900 (Unique: 590)
AlphaC is offline  
post #7 of 41 (permalink) Old 08-05-2019, 08:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
OK I am slooooww.

I don't get this
Tweaker -> System Memory Multiplier [auto = 21.33 = DDR4 2133]
set 36.00 for DDR4 3600 or make System Memory Multiplier the same as CPU Clock Ratio

So are you saying that if my 3800x is stock at x39 I'd set my mem multipler to 39 as well ? - I've just been setting to what ever I want my mem to be? for example 38 for 3800.
I am not questioning you I just need to understand what I am not.

And thanks for what you did here - NICE!

On the bench now: x570 Master, 3800x, [email protected] 1:1, H115i, RM850x, RX5700 XT
Crosshair VII (WiFi), 2700X, F4-3200C14D-32GTZSW @3200, 960Pro, 860Evo, GTX1080ti, HX850, Celsius S36, Define R6
X470 Taichi, 2700X, F4-3200C14D-16GTZSK @3200, 960Evo, 860Evo, GTX1080, RM850x, Celsius S36, Define R6 usb-c
Maximus X Hero (WiFi AC), 8700K 5.1GHz, 32GB Dominator c16 @3200, 960Evo, 860Evo, GTX1080ti, HX1000i, H150, Obsidian 500D
Delta9k is offline  
post #8 of 41 (permalink) Old 08-06-2019, 02:01 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Heuchler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,884
Rep: 255 (Unique: 187)
Quote: Originally Posted by Delta9k View Post
OK I am slooooww.

I don't get this
Tweaker -> System Memory Multiplier [auto = 21.33 = DDR4 2133]
set 36.00 for DDR4 3600 or make System Memory Multiplier the same as CPU Clock Ratio

So are you saying that if my 3800x is stock at x39 I'd set my mem multipler to 39 as well ? - I've just been setting to what ever I want my mem to be? for example 38 for 3800.
I am not questioning you I just need to understand what I am not.

And thanks for what you did here - NICE!

Without using XMP the memory multiplier would default to 21.33 [DDR4-2133]. Just have to set it. MCLK (Memory frequency clock should override it).

Auto setting in my overclocking passed have caused issues. Sometimes very hard to pinpoint when troubleshooting and other times massive overvolting. So I avoid them if I can.






I might have re-created the issue that some people are having after reading your question. I lowered my Memory speed to 3400C14 and tried a higher CPU Clock Ratio [42.00 Multiplier] with PBO. It didn't change PBO behavior for me. Not a great clocking chip. Silicon Lottery.

I tried Ryzen Master overclocking next. Resulting in a Windows hardlock. And failure to POST afterwards. F5i in single BIOS mode. To this point I only experienced fail posting due to too low voltages for DRAM, VDDP or SoC

And the after 4 failed boot attempts the board would POST with a Clear Cmos Information - BIOS been reset message.

Only way to get the system running again was physically switching to the backup BIOS. Only way to get a successful POST is with default settings. Entering the BIOS and loading XMP profile or any previously saved Profile resulted in having to Cold Boot and wait for the 4 failed boot cycles to Clear Cmos.

Click image for larger version

Name:	CLEAR Cmos.jpg
Views:	10
Size:	178.9 KB
ID:	286686


SoC and/or DRAM might not sticking in BIOS

Click image for larger version

Name:	workaround - stock setting windows.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	673.5 KB
ID:	286680


Workaround for me is booting into Windows on stock settings (do not enter BIOS after Clear Cmos) then change everything everything using Ryzen Master.

Click image for larger version

Name:	workaround - Ryzen Master.jpg
Views:	37
Size:	340.5 KB
ID:	286682
Click image for larger version

Name:	workaround - Ryzen Master to Restart Windows.jpg
Views:	13
Size:	33.4 KB
ID:	286684


Update: looks like Ryzen Master changed VDDP & VDDG under XFR Enhancement. Which overwrote the values I set in AMD Overclocking under VDDP/VDDG Voltage Control

Click image for larger version

Name:	VDDP & VDDG mistmatch.png
Views:	11
Size:	92.0 KB
ID:	286730


Fixed
Click image for larger version

Name:	XFR Enhancement.png
Views:	36
Size:	654.1 KB
ID:	286732

Overclocking History (Click to show)
Intel 386DX/16 @ 20 MHz
CX486SLC/50 @ 50 MHz
AM486DX2/80 @ 100 MHz
AM486 DX4-100 @ 120 MHz
AK5x86-P75 [email protected] 160 MHz
Pentium 90 @ 120 Mhz
IBM 6x86L P166+ [email protected] 160 MHz
Celeron 300a @ 454 MHz
Pentium 3 700 @ 933 MHz
Athlon XP 1400+ @ 1600 MHz
Athlon XP 1800+ @ 2088 MHz
Athlon XP 2500+ @ 2200 MHz
Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2603 MHz
Athlon X2 BE2300 @ 1900 MHz
Athlon X2 4200+ @ 2210 MHz
Athlon X2 5000+ @ 2600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E4300 @ 3000 MHz
Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 3600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 4000 MHz
Xeon C2Q L5408 @ 3200 MHz
Xeon C2Q X5450 @ 3300 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5440 @ 3400 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5450 @ 3600 MHz
Phenom2 X4 B50 @ 3700 MHz
Phenom2 X6 1045T @ 4050 MHz
Core i5-2500K Sandy @ 4500 MHz
X5650 6-Core Westmere @ 3982 MHz
AMD FX 8320E Black Edition

FX-8320E @4.5GHz, X5650 @ 4.0GHz, X6 1045T @4.0GHz, i7 [email protected]
Thinkpad T420p with i7-2720QM overclocked because this is OCN

Last edited by Heuchler; 08-06-2019 at 03:57 PM.
Heuchler is offline  
post #9 of 41 (permalink) Old 08-06-2019, 05:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 23
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by Heuchler View Post
Without using XMP the memory multiplier would default to 21.33 [DDR4-2133]. Just have to set it. MCLK (Memory frequency clock should override it).
I get setting the mem multiplier without XMP enabled you have to or defaults to 2133. It is why match it to CPU Multiplier I I'm tripping on. I do get setting mem multiplier to match your CPU if its multi is 36 and you want rams to be 3600 - so set it to match the CPU, 36 makes sense. But setting it to match CPU in a case where your CPU multiplier is say 39 for say a 3800x cpu but you want your rams to run 3800 - did not make sense to me. If I set the mem multi to 39 to match my CPU multi my rams be trying 3900.

I must be pedantic trippen over wording, Thanks for response.

I'm doing alright on the rams. I've even been able to bring down the Dram volts a bit and tighten timings a lil further since that snapshot - [email protected] with IF 1900 is doing its thing with 63-65ns latency.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	RamStabilityCheck.jpg
Views:	28
Size:	499.7 KB
ID:	286752  


On the bench now: x570 Master, 3800x, [email protected] 1:1, H115i, RM850x, RX5700 XT
Crosshair VII (WiFi), 2700X, F4-3200C14D-32GTZSW @3200, 960Pro, 860Evo, GTX1080ti, HX850, Celsius S36, Define R6
X470 Taichi, 2700X, F4-3200C14D-16GTZSK @3200, 960Evo, 860Evo, GTX1080, RM850x, Celsius S36, Define R6 usb-c
Maximus X Hero (WiFi AC), 8700K 5.1GHz, 32GB Dominator c16 @3200, 960Evo, 860Evo, GTX1080ti, HX1000i, H150, Obsidian 500D

Last edited by Delta9k; 08-06-2019 at 05:33 PM.
Delta9k is offline  
post #10 of 41 (permalink) Old 08-06-2019, 05:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 703
Rep: 25 (Unique: 22)
Just a hint to users of Ryzen Master.

That software OVERWRITES settings inside the CPU/AGESA section of BIOS. So settings set in Ryzen Master can at times not be reset with clear-cmos so be careful! I've seen other users needed to basically Q-flash their BIOS and have Ryzen Master completely nuked to get control back to BIOS.
Ryzen Master would otherwise keep "taking over" control and set values.

NEWEST: Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME, Ryzen 7 3800X 4.4Ghz, 3800/1900 1:1 MEM, 16.23.17.32.66.tRFC 580 1T 1.45V
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V (Micron E-die 16nm)
OLD: Biostar x470GT8 Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM ...
Nighthog is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (2 members and 1 guests)
MisterSheikh , OverCloke
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off