Accidentally Water Cooled Asus AMD Mobo - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Accidentally Water Cooled Asus AMD Mobo

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 35 (permalink) Old 08-04-2019, 09:52 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
rivaldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,779
Rep: 47 (Unique: 44)
Accidentally Water Cooled Asus AMD Mobo

Hi guys,

So uh. Yesterday I accidentally Water Cooled my computer. Particularly the graphics cards and CPU cooler... I left it out under a fan for nearly 24 hours to dry it out. Plugged it in and upon turning on my PSU my mobo still has a green light. When I push the power button on the case though the top fan's LED light flashed for a split second and then went right back off and nothing else turned on... No fans or anything...

Water came right in through the top vent where the 200mm fan sits. Corsair 600T case. Pictures below to give you an idea what got hit by the water I guess. What I'm wondering now is, is it safe to test parts that I suspect may be working with other parts? Like the green light on the mobo makes me think the PSU and mobo are working but idk about my RAM or CPU... Trying to minimise repair costs and only replace what's broken if possible. New GPU already on the way. Cheers in advance mates.

Images can be found here; https://drive.google.com/open?id=13r...uVqB9X1rgwTJyA

LATEST UPDATE:

Got a new GPU from a friend, 280x, it's in my brother's rig with my old drives and working. Main problem I'm dealing with is my right monitor (of my 3) not working. Onboard mobo audio also not working. From post #30 on page 3;

Quote:
"EDIT UPDATE:

Ok... Got the 280 in, it's working. The Win10 reset stopped halfway through so it undid the changes and I'm back to my rig before it got wet, just with a 280x that rattles. Any help to fix a GPU fan rattling would be great, and now I'm having another problem. My right monitor doesn't seem to get a signal from the graphics card. I tried two different DVI cables on it, and tried using it via HDMI, and can't get it to come up. It's detected in the display settings menu of Win10 but it won't let me extend to the display. Could this just be a driver issue or something? Left and center monitors work just fine with the same cables I used on the right monitor... Right monitor turns on, has a blue light for a little while, then no matter what's plugged into it says there's no signal detected, goes black, and the light turns orange...

Also can't seem to get my speakers to work through the onboard sound card on the motherboard, seems the driver isn't working, tips here? Should I just do a clean install of Win 10 anyways? It's already showing as a not valid Windows because of the mobo switch as suggested it would...

Another update:

Got audio working on Xonar DG sound card from the wet rig. Would still like onboard audio working as I like to have speakers plugged into mobo sound and headphones in my sound card so I can swap when I want..."

Quotes better than Charlie Sheen's (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommy1993 go_quote.gif
Perfect for my hobby of shaving my balls while standing in a volcano

devil.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by PARTON go_quote.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by luXfer go_quote.gif
I plan on making my HAF-932 into a family heirloom eventually.
The grandkids are going to wonder what the hell it even is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pioneerisloud go_quote.gif
EDIT:
Dangit...double post! doh.gif After the next person posts...I'll clean this mistake up. ninja.gif

sneaky.gifAMD 4GHz Clubsneaky.gifdevil.gifWe Are The Red Tidedevil.gif



Last edited by rivaldog; 08-09-2019 at 12:06 PM.
rivaldog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 35 (permalink) Old 08-05-2019, 08:28 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
rivaldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,779
Rep: 47 (Unique: 44)
Bump. If anyone could please chime in with input that'd be great... If anyone can tell from the pictures or the given info what they suspect may or may not be working and/or what's safe to test with other known working parts, that'd be great...

Quotes better than Charlie Sheen's (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommy1993 go_quote.gif
Perfect for my hobby of shaving my balls while standing in a volcano

devil.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by PARTON go_quote.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by luXfer go_quote.gif
I plan on making my HAF-932 into a family heirloom eventually.
The grandkids are going to wonder what the hell it even is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pioneerisloud go_quote.gif
EDIT:
Dangit...double post! doh.gif After the next person posts...I'll clean this mistake up. ninja.gif

sneaky.gifAMD 4GHz Clubsneaky.gifdevil.gifWe Are The Red Tidedevil.gif


rivaldog is offline  
post #3 of 35 (permalink) Old 08-05-2019, 08:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Section31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 401
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Wrong pictures but great gag if it was meant to be. Happened to me before. I would bring it to store or borrow friends computer to test out the GPU and CPU. Chances are your motherboard got fried and that's the best case. Replacing an motherboard is the cheapest option. Any water that gets into the chipset controller section = dead motheboard.

Last edited by Section31; 08-05-2019 at 08:36 AM.
Section31 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 35 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 06:13 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
rivaldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,779
Rep: 47 (Unique: 44)
When I follow the link it pulls up the correct pictures, what are you guys seeing?

I'm almost certain the GPU is toast. If you look at the pictures (if they're the correct images which they are when I follow the link), you can see the GPU got hit with a lot of water...

What are the odds the PSU is fine? I've got a really nice PSU I'd like to keep if it's working. EVGA supernova 750 G2. The mobo has a greenlight that comes on, does that mean the mobo and PSU are still working? Or is there a chance that greenlight can come on even if the PSU or mobo are malfunctioning? Is it safe to test the PSU with other known working parts?

Cheers

EDIT:

Ok so here's an update. My brother is giving me his PC which has everything working except a graphics card. I bought a used 290x off eBay and slapped it in my brother's PC, and I took off his hard drives and slapped my 4 drives in. Bios shows up just fine, and I can use my keyboard and mouse to maneuver around the BIOS. When I try to boot from my 840 Pro SSD which has Windows 10 installed, I see the Windows logo on 2 of my 3 monitors, along with a circular loading logo. The first boot it said, " Getting devices ready.... X%" and got up to like 30% before the screens turned themselves off as if I was getting no video signal from the mobo, showing an orange light instead of blue light. After a few seconds, the lights on the monitors turned blue again, on all 3, as if they are all getting a signal from the motherboard, but nothing gets displayed. Any idea what I need to do here? I'm guessing try booting into safe mode somehow to install drivers for something, but what could I need drivers for? My hard drives should have the correct drivers already for the graphics card, I had a 290 before and now having a 290x I'd imagine they could use the same drivers. The motherboard is now a Gigabyte instead of an Asus, could I need to uninstall Asus mobo drivers and install the correct Gigabyte ones now?

Also please detail instructions on how to install drivers when the computer is in this state... I'm not 100% sure how I can do it, if safe mode will work or if I'll need to like load the drivers onto a flash drive and then try booting from the flash drive or something... Also I don't think I have a flash drive, but I do have an external WD HDD. It does have important music and pictures on it though so I'd prefer not to wipe it if possible...

Please heeeelpppp I'm close to having a PC up and running again and I miss it...

Quotes better than Charlie Sheen's (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommy1993 go_quote.gif
Perfect for my hobby of shaving my balls while standing in a volcano

devil.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by PARTON go_quote.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by luXfer go_quote.gif
I plan on making my HAF-932 into a family heirloom eventually.
The grandkids are going to wonder what the hell it even is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pioneerisloud go_quote.gif
EDIT:
Dangit...double post! doh.gif After the next person posts...I'll clean this mistake up. ninja.gif

sneaky.gifAMD 4GHz Clubsneaky.gifdevil.gifWe Are The Red Tidedevil.gif



Last edited by rivaldog; 08-08-2019 at 06:20 PM.
rivaldog is offline  
post #5 of 35 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 06:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 18,095
Rep: 535 (Unique: 304)
that fan spraying everywhere did you no favors, either.

assuming it's modern enough, the cpu, chip, & memory should be fine. with a dead mobo, possibly psu.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #6 of 35 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 06:31 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 100
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Check that the BIOS settings on the new PC match whatever the drives were setup to run with on the damaged one.

If the system was running and crashed when it got wet you may have a corrupt windows install. Maybe try booting from a USB win10 image and repair/update the windows and see if that foxes the issue.
clannagh is offline  
post #7 of 35 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 06:41 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
rivaldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,779
Rep: 47 (Unique: 44)
The computer was running when it got wet, that is correct.

I was just able to successfully boot into safe mode. Does that mean my win10 install is fine? Orrrr do I need to wipe and reinstall?

Mouse works just fine but I can't get either of my 2 keyboards to work on the damn thing

No one thinks that GPU is working do they? It looks like it took a direct hit of the water, like a lot of it.

Quotes better than Charlie Sheen's (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommy1993 go_quote.gif
Perfect for my hobby of shaving my balls while standing in a volcano

devil.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by PARTON go_quote.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by luXfer go_quote.gif
I plan on making my HAF-932 into a family heirloom eventually.
The grandkids are going to wonder what the hell it even is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pioneerisloud go_quote.gif
EDIT:
Dangit...double post! doh.gif After the next person posts...I'll clean this mistake up. ninja.gif

sneaky.gifAMD 4GHz Clubsneaky.gifdevil.gifWe Are The Red Tidedevil.gif


rivaldog is offline  
post #8 of 35 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 06:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 18,095
Rep: 535 (Unique: 304)
seems you got lucky. jump into a game or something n see what happens. Not like it'll burst into flames... at least, not likely.

I got both of my 1080tis completely soaked a few months back. nearly sharted myself, but they're still fine. I installed a bridge, not realizing an o-ring had fell out, so it was a nice high pressure spray too.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #9 of 35 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 06:44 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
rivaldog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Texas
Posts: 1,779
Rep: 47 (Unique: 44)
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
seems you got lucky. jump into a game or something n see what happens. Not like it'll burst into flames... at least, not likely.

I got both of my 1080tis completely soaked a few months back. nearly sharted myself, but they're still fine. I installed a bridge, not realizing an o-ring had fell out, so it was a nice high pressure spray too.
Really?! So my GPU might still be working? The boot I managed into safe mode is on my brother's PC with PSU, mobo, CPU, RAM, that are all guaranteed not wet. My drives are in and all recognized and showing up in safe mode.

Quotes better than Charlie Sheen's (Click to show)Warning: Spoiler! (Click to show)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tommy1993 go_quote.gif
Perfect for my hobby of shaving my balls while standing in a volcano

devil.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by PARTON go_quote.gif
Quote:
Originally Posted by luXfer go_quote.gif
I plan on making my HAF-932 into a family heirloom eventually.
The grandkids are going to wonder what the hell it even is.
Quote:
Originally Posted by pioneerisloud go_quote.gif
EDIT:
Dangit...double post! doh.gif After the next person posts...I'll clean this mistake up. ninja.gif

sneaky.gifAMD 4GHz Clubsneaky.gifdevil.gifWe Are The Red Tidedevil.gif



Last edited by rivaldog; 08-08-2019 at 06:50 PM.
rivaldog is offline  
post #10 of 35 (permalink) Old 08-08-2019, 06:49 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 18,095
Rep: 535 (Unique: 304)
are you jacked into the board IO atm or something? cuz if not, then your GPU appears to be working, at least in 2D... now to load 3D.

I don't see many drip marks in the dust in the shots you took. seems like the top fan tossed most of it away, & whatever may have dripped went into the cpu cooler.

i'm gonna bet on your proper measures keeping everything nice & safe. N if not, you had a layer of dust to absorb water, which may have helped as well

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off