Gigabyte B450 AORUS PRO, BIOS and XMP - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte B450 AORUS PRO, BIOS and XMP

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-22-2019, 02:42 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Gigabyte B450 AORUS PRO, BIOS and XMP

I recently purchased Gigabyte B450 AORUS PRO, Ryzen 7 2700 and Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB 3200MHz (PN: CMK16GX4M2B3200C16).

I am currently running F32 BIOS, with AGESA 0.0.7.2. Otherwise everything runs well, but I cannot get XMP to work, and after a failed boot the motherboard reverts to backup BIOS. At 2133 Mhz everything runs just fine.

My question is, should I downgrade the BIOS to F5 with AGESA 1.0.0.6 or upgrade to F42a with AGESA 1.0.0.3 ABB? Or stick with 2133 Mhz until a more stable AGESA is available?

Also if someone could give me manual settings to try, I would be happy to get at least 2933 Mhz.

And to increase my understanding ,is AMD still developing the AGESA for Pinnacle Ridge or is the 1.0.0.6 the best option?
Teemu Liukkonen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 12:45 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
More information

Well, I wasn´t correct at all. I am in fact running XMP profile 1.

If someone could tell me what is happening here. I am confused.

One one page (with VCOREs) DRAM Voltage (CH A/B) is showing Auto and 1.200V.

Still it show on the very first page of BIOS Memory Ch A/B Volt 1.380V. Also on the advanced settings it shows 1.380V.

XMP shows Profile1, with Auto and 3200Mhz, voltage 1.35V. All is on Auto, and then two columns of correct settings (16-18-18-18-36 etc.).

Still the result, when Windows boots up is 15-15-15-36-51-374-1T at 2133Mhz. HWiNFO64 reports as DRAM voltage 1.380V.

So I suppose I am getting the XMP voltage, but nothing else.

What should I do?

Screenshots are available at:
drive.google.com/open?id=1exZUtsUgRyMAsjME94aGvszcreSuw7IV
Teemu Liukkonen is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 08-24-2019, 12:56 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 16,969
Rep: 1122 (Unique: 647)
if you're setting 3200 and you're booting into Windows and it's saying 2133 then it failed memory training.

Stop using XMP and enter the timings in manually.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1TB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 480GB SSD
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU
Monitor
Dell E2311H
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S
Mouse
Logitech G502
Audio
SMSL SA50 + FiiO E10K
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Polk Audio PSW111
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston 8GB DDR4 2400
Hard Drive
Dierka K1 120GB
Hard Drive
ADATA SU800 128GB M.2
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Dierya DK63-BT 60% (Outemu Blue)
Mouse
Logitech M510
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
Velocifire TKL01 Outemu Browns
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-22-2019, 06:28 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: Finland
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
I should have listened to The Pook immediately, but I had to gather some courage first

I finally tried again, now with XMP disabled. And everything worked, the machine posts quickly, without the CPU, GPU, Memory and BIOS leds blinking for a while, resulting in defaulting to 2133 Mhz (as was with XMP, even with manual timings). I would conclude that the XMP does not work in my case.

So this is how I got to 2933 Mhz:

Everything else on BIOS default except:

DRAM voltage (CH A/B) - 1.37V

XMP - disabled

Memory timing mode - Manual

System memory multiplier - 29.33

CAS Latency - 15

tRCDRD - 17

tRCDWR - 17

tRP - 17

tRAS - 36


I also tried 3200 Mhz (XMP disabled, manually setting the XMP profile timings), but in this case the Windows 10 boot failed with "Bad system config info". I had to reset to 2933 Mhz to get Windows to boot.

Any suggestion what to try, either to optimize speed for 2933 Mhz or to try 3200 Mhz?

Couple of oddities that I noticed:
1.) BIOS and HWINFO64 both report DRAM voltage 1.38V, but Ryzen Master shows the 1.37V.
2.) Actual timings achieved are 16-17-17-17-36-69-514-1T (Ryzen Master and HWINFO64), even when set in BIOS to 15-17-17-17-36. HWINF64 show 15-17-17-33-50 as supported for 1467 Mhz for these memory modules. Perhaps I will give that a go, and see it it posts.
Teemu Liukkonen is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 09-22-2019, 06:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
treetops422's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 381
Rep: 17 (Unique: 12)
Quote: Originally Posted by Teemu Liukkonen View Post
I should have listened to The Pook immediately, but I had to gather some courage first

I finally tried again, now with XMP disabled. And everything worked, the machine posts quickly, without the CPU, GPU, Memory and BIOS leds blinking for a while, resulting in defaulting to 2133 Mhz (as was with XMP, even with manual timings). I would conclude that the XMP does not work in my case.

So this is how I got to 2933 Mhz:

Everything else on BIOS default except:

DRAM voltage (CH A/B) - 1.37V

XMP - disabled

Memory timing mode - Manual

System memory multiplier - 29.33

CAS Latency - 15

tRCDRD - 17

tRCDWR - 17

tRP - 17

tRAS - 36


I also tried 3200 Mhz (XMP disabled, manually setting the XMP profile timings), but in this case the Windows 10 boot failed with "Bad system config info". I had to reset to 2933 Mhz to get Windows to boot.

Any suggestion what to try, either to optimize speed for 2933 Mhz or to try 3200 Mhz?

Couple of oddities that I noticed:
1.) BIOS and HWINFO64 both report DRAM voltage 1.38V, but Ryzen Master shows the 1.37V.
2.) Actual timings achieved are 16-17-17-17-36-69-514-1T (Ryzen Master and HWINFO64), even when set in BIOS to 15-17-17-17-36. HWINF64 show 15-17-17-33-50 as supported for 1467 Mhz for these memory modules. Perhaps I will give that a go, and see it it posts.
This may help. I feel like I'm spamming it to much. I contacted my mobo mnfer and this fixed my XMP profiles. I'd contact the mnfer. My 450 mobo is in my sig. One stick at first in the correct slot to let the bios identify the ram being something no one seems to know. In my case manually entering the timing only got me so far until I did this.
  • Enter into the UEFI bios restart the m/b and press F2/Del on your KB.
  • Once you inside the UEFi bios. Go to Advance mode Press F9 (load default setting), and go to OC tweaker tab. Load the XMP, and select the DRAM FREQ to 3200mhz first. If you able to boot up with 3200mhz.
  • Please start it with one stick of memory first. The memory has to install on the A2 (2nd DIMM) slots.
  • Please have memory install on A2 first.






Sapphire Radeon RX 5700 Non XT Boost Core 2035 Gaming Ram 960 43c Air Water Hybrid Cardboard Blower with a 20$ chinese Waterblock on the core 50 gallon tote of water, Ryzen 2600 4.1 ghz, 15$ chinese waterblock, same tote 3200 ddr3 cl16 Team T-FORCE VULCAN TUF , B450m Asrock Pro 4 Mobo, 700 Watt OCZ PSU.
treetops422 is offline  
Reply

Tags
agesa , b450 , bios , Motherboard , xmp

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off