AGESA FW stack patched bioses for 3rd gen - Page 7 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

AGESA FW stack patched bioses for 3rd gen

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #61 of 458 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 03:33 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mito1172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: TURKİYE
Posts: 394
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Stilt View Post
It will work, but there is simply no point in using them on other than 3000-series CPUs.
Quote: Originally Posted by Synoxia View Post
Yes but a 1800x completely ignores the newer, patched SMU. You won't see any difference in XFR algorithms.
thanks for the answer. I got a 7403 bios cold boot and the latest Q8 CODE error so I wanted to try it. I better get back to 7003 bios

AMD Ryzen 7 1800X 3.8 GHZ (NOCTUA NH-U12S SE) ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (Sapphire Nitron+Radeon RX 580 4G) G.SKILL Flare X DDR4-3200Mhz C14 32GB (4x8GB) Samsung 850 PRO 512GB 550MB-520MB/s Sata3 SSD
mito1172 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #62 of 458 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 04:18 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Hi Stilt, to comply with the copyright license of Flashrom and Rufus, you need to provide the complete source code for both programs, under the GPL version 2 for Flashrom, and version 3 for Rufus. I can't find a link on your OP, is this available anywhere?
gstomp is offline  
post #63 of 458 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 07:16 PM
Hardware Destroyer
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 30
Rep: 0
Thanks for your work!
I've tried Strix X370-I Gaming - 5204MFI with 3700X. PCIE 4.0 gone with new SMU.
It has 25MHz higher boost than SMU46.34.0 , but the multi thread performance is less than SMU46.34.0 ,because it drops to 3600MHz sometimes.
Could you please modify this BIOS with SMU46.34.0 ?

Last edited by dsanke; 09-17-2019 at 02:26 AM.
dsanke is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #64 of 458 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 08:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Synoxia's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 759
Rep: 6 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by mito1172 View Post
thanks for the answer. I got a 7403 bios cold boot and the latest Q8 CODE error so I wanted to try it. I better get back to 7003 bios
Try bioses before ryzen 2000 release. There's a possibility that they could perform better on your cpu because they are only optimized for 1st gen. Not sure though.

Tryndamere
(13 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asus C7H Hero Wifi
GPU
Radeon Vega 64
RAM
G-Skill Tridentz OC 16 gb 3800 c14-16-17-16-32-48
Power Supply
EVGA G3 Gold
Cooling
Noctua D15
Case
Phanteks Enthoo pro TG
Operating System
Win 10 1903 build 18950 64bit
Monitor
Viewsonic XG2401
Keyboard
Fnatic RGB Cherry mx brown
Mouse
Logitech G Pro Wireless 950 dpi
Mousepad
Artisan ZERO Fx
Audio
JBL305
▲ hide details ▲
Synoxia is offline  
post #65 of 458 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 09:00 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
That a great work and effort. Thanks.

I have a noob question though - why use flashrom under DOS specifically? I mostly run linux or windows 8.1 on my machine and flashrom is available under linux. Will it fail?

Another noobier question - I have an Asus rog strix b350-f. Since the first day I got the 3600 on it, it has boosted correctly (originally with 1.0.0.2, then with 1.0.0.3 ab and now with 1.0.0.3 abb). No PBO is enabled. It boosts to 4.2 (some cores actually read as 4290.8, most as 4193.2), front side bus most of the time 99.8 but 102.2 on occasion, even under prime 95 with 256/256 and FM3 single thread it stays at 42x. 12 threads under the same hover all cores at 40.3x to 40.6x. Idle voltage is 0.919. The only things I did is set -0.0750 voltage offset (it was going a little high for my taste under load) and set memory to 3200 (I have crappy 3000 rated hynix).

What benefit will this patched bios bring to the setup?

Thanks
bahur is offline  
post #66 of 458 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 09:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mito1172's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: TURKİYE
Posts: 394
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by Synoxia View Post
Try bioses before ryzen 2000 release. There's a possibility that they could perform better on your cpu because they are only optimized for 1st gen. Not sure though.
Thank you. 7003 got back to the bios without problems. this bios is problematic.

CROSSHAIR VI HERO BIOS 7403
1.Improve system performance.
2.Update AM4 Combo PI 1.0.0.3 Patch ABB
a.Fixes a compatibility issue with Destiny 2
b.Fixes an issue with certain Linux distros
c.Removes Gen 4 support when using Ryzen 3000 CPUs
3.Improves EZFlash performance to reduce boot time.

AMD Ryzen 7 1800X 3.8 GHZ (NOCTUA NH-U12S SE) ASUS ROG CROSSHAIR VI HERO (Sapphire Nitron+Radeon RX 580 4G) G.SKILL Flare X DDR4-3200Mhz C14 32GB (4x8GB) Samsung 850 PRO 512GB 550MB-520MB/s Sata3 SSD
mito1172 is offline  
post #67 of 458 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 11:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Hello
I'm coming from reddit thread
Thank you so much for your job @The Stilt
Is there any chance to get b450 gaming plus bios? https://www.msi.com/Motherboard/B450-GAMING-PLUS
Tya

Sent from my MI 9 using Tapatalk

Last edited by joost123; 09-17-2019 at 10:20 PM.
joost123 is online now  
post #68 of 458 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 11:25 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
SexySale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: Novi Sad
Posts: 129
Rep: 0
@The Stilt , thank you!
New X470-F BIOS worked flawlessly using Flashrom and boosts are now there
I am very grateful, like this entire community.

However, I have a problem I didn't had before.
My BCLK is 99.8Mhz every time - http://prntscr.com/p73s4l (Auto OC + PBO)

I tried Load optimized defaults, No Memory OC, manual Memory OC control with manual 100 BCLK.
My Board BIOS doesn't have Spread spectrum control to give that a shot

This was not happening in previous versions.
Do you know maybe how to fix that?

Thank you.

Last edited by SexySale; 09-16-2019 at 11:35 PM. Reason: additional info
SexySale is offline  
post #69 of 458 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 11:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
CapKrunch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: No Man's Land, TX
Posts: 32
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
@The Stilt , thank you.

bios for b450 tomahawk work just fine and 3700x boosted as expected.
CapKrunch is offline  
post #70 of 458 (permalink) Old 09-16-2019, 11:54 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
mongoled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Posts: 477
Rep: 17 (Unique: 13)
So far looks like only the MSI X370 Titanium has no improvements with the updated SMU.

I dont have the technical knowledge to understand how and why this motherboard is not responding to the new SMU.

From prior experience, learning about some of the other underwhelming aspects of this motherboard (even though it was a 'flagship' motherboard at the time) I wouldn't be surprised that MSI skipped other corners to get a beta bios out for the motherboard and from the looks of it the BIOS would need to be re-engineered to be able to work with the new SMU (this is just guess work on my behalf).

So looks like I will attempt to contact MSI Germany as someone suggested to me as MSI Headquarters are completely unhelpful....

SeaSonic X750 Gold 750W
MSI X370 XPOWER Gaming Titanium | Ryzen 5 3600X 1924SUT
GSkill TridentZ F4-3600C15D-16GTZ @ 3800/1900 mhz | 1.44v | 15-17-10-15-42-28-266-16-1T
Asus GTX 780 DCII OC @ 1332/3522 mhz | 1.3v | Samsung 960 EVO 500GB
EK-FB MSI X370 XPower RGB Monoblock 1/2" ID | Swiftech D5 MCP655 | EK-XRES 100
Alphacool NexXxoS UT60 280 | 4 x Scythe GT AP-15 @ 5v
Thermochill PA120.3 | 1 x SST-FN123 | 2 x Scythe GT AP-15 | @ 5v
mongoled is offline  
Reply

Tags
am4 , bios flash , ryzen

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off