Aorus x470 Gaming 7 Wifi Crashed / Bios Issue - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Aorus x470 Gaming 7 Wifi Crashed / Bios Issue

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 (permalink) Old 11-06-2019, 10:24 PM - Thread Starter
Technical Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Aorus x470 Gaming 7 Wifi Crashed / Bios Issue

My motherboard crashed during a firmware update and the computer wouldn't boot, so I flipped the 2 switches on the board from BIOS 1 to BIOS 2 and now it boots. What do I do next?

Here's the issue that pre-empted this:

Earlier today I installed a second SDD into an m.2 slot on my Aorus X470 Gaming 7 wifi board.

Throughout the day I had a couple blue screen of death's marked "Internal Power Error." After doing some research I suspected I needed to update my BIOS from F7.

On the downloads page for the X470 the the BIOS versions past F40 state "Before update BIOS to F40, you have to install EC FW Update Tool (B19.0517.1 or later version) to avoid 4DIMM DDR compatibility on 3rd Gen AMD Ryzen™ CPU." I went ahead and downloaded the EC FW Update Tool (after updating the chipset driver as requested by earlier BIOS versions), and when the computer rebooted it asked me if I wanted to update the firmware on the motherboard. I selected yes, and when the meter got close to 100% (I wasn't watching the whole time), the monitor stopped worked and the computer was unresponsive to the keyboard or mouse. I thought maybe the firmware update was still in process as the LEDs were still on. I gave it 20 minutes before I force killed the power and tried to reboot. The LEDs would turn on, but my monitor, keyboard etc was unresponsive. I was able to get it running again by flipping the switches on the board from BIOS 1 to BIOS 2.

So what do I do now? I'd like to fix the issue with BIOS 1, and get the overall BIOS updated to see if that fixes the BSOD issues. Thanks in advance for your suggestions.
Chris Pezza is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 (permalink) Old 11-06-2019, 11:29 PM - Thread Starter
Technical Hobbyist
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
And now I think I'm totally screwed. The same issue is happening with it on BIOS 2. It will turn on but get's locked at the first screen. Can't into QFlash or anything.
Chris Pezza is offline  
Reply

Tags
Amd , aorus , bios , Bsod , firmware

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off