Gigabyte B450 Aorus Pro Wifi RAM settings - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte B450 Aorus Pro Wifi RAM settings

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-09-2019, 06:18 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
wmunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 114
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Gigabyte B450 Aorus Pro Wifi RAM settings

I have the Gigabyte B450 Aorus Pro wifi, with G.Skill F4-3200C16-8GTZR memory kit, Previously I hadn't had much luck getting the ram to run stable above 3333 mhz.....

Today I tried something a bit different, I picked hynix CJR in ryzen dram calculator, and applied the 3800 mhz safe profile it generated, and IT WORKED!

This is with a Ryzen 7 3700x processor.

I have no idea why the CJR settings work, but they do. Very stable without issues. Boots well and no errors.

CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard
Gigabyte B450 Aorus Pro Wifi
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1660 OC
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200 8GB x 2
Hard Drive
Intel P600 1TB Nvme
Power Supply
Corsair RM750i
Cooling
Phanteks PH-TC14PE_ 140mm UFB CPU Cooler
Case
Fractal Design Define R5
▲ hide details ▲
wmunn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-17-2019, 12:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Do you have more information on this? I have the same motherboard. Is it stable?
goxplex is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-17-2019, 12:09 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2019
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Is it stable? Are you sure you dont have the F4-3200C16-8GTZRX which is specifically made for ryzen?
goxplex is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-18-2019, 07:08 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
wmunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 114
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by goxplex View Post
Do you have more information on this? I have the same motherboard. Is it stable?
Yes, it passes memtest completely at this setting.

If you have this board, and the same ram kit noted above, I would start with ryzen dram calculator, generate safe profile for 3600 and start there. I have since moved onto a 32gb kit rated for 3600 as I wanted the increase in available memory, but the 3200 kit was working fine at 3600 and 3800 speeds.

CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard
Gigabyte B450 Aorus Pro Wifi
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1660 OC
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200 8GB x 2
Hard Drive
Intel P600 1TB Nvme
Power Supply
Corsair RM750i
Cooling
Phanteks PH-TC14PE_ 140mm UFB CPU Cooler
Case
Fractal Design Define R5
▲ hide details ▲
wmunn is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-18-2019, 07:17 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
wmunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 114
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
This was the stable 3600 settings
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3200.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	268.2 KB
ID:	306958  

Click image for larger version

Name:	3200-settings1.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	310.2 KB
ID:	306962  

Click image for larger version

Name:	3200-settings2.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	163.6 KB
ID:	306964  


CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard
Gigabyte B450 Aorus Pro Wifi
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1660 OC
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200 8GB x 2
Hard Drive
Intel P600 1TB Nvme
Power Supply
Corsair RM750i
Cooling
Phanteks PH-TC14PE_ 140mm UFB CPU Cooler
Case
Fractal Design Define R5
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by wmunn; 11-18-2019 at 07:22 PM.
wmunn is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-18-2019, 07:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: USA
Posts: 42
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by wmunn View Post
I have the Gigabyte B450 Aorus Pro wifi, with G.Skill F4-3200C16-8GTZR memory kit, Previously I hadn't had much luck getting the ram to run stable above 3333 mhz.....

Today I tried something a bit different, I picked hynix CJR in ryzen dram calculator, and applied the 3800 mhz safe profile it generated, and IT WORKED!

This is with a Ryzen 7 3700x processor.

I have no idea why the CJR settings work, but they do. Very stable without issues. Boots well and no errors.
What type of RAM did you pick in the calculator? Those sticks are Hynix AFR. These are the chips: H5AN8G8NAFR-TFC. You can tell if you run Thaiphoon Burner and read the memory modules. It will tell you what type of ram chips are on that board. I'm not totally surprised that CJR worked. They are slightly better than AFR, but those settings may not be totally stable.

Black Widow
(17 items)
CPU
AMD RYZEN 9 3900X 12-Core 3.8 GHz (4.6 GHz Max Boost)
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Aorus Master
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Ti Gaming
RAM
G.Skill Flare-X F4-3200C14D-16GFX
Hard Drive
ADATA XPG SX8200 Pro
Hard Drive
Crucial CT525MX300SDD1
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA G3 750 W 80+ Gold
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Cooling
Noctua NF-A14 PWM
Cooling
Noctua NF-A14 PWM
Cooling
Noctua NF-F12 PWM
Cooling
Noctua NA ​FC1 Fan controller
Case
Fractal Design Define C TG
Operating System
MS Windows 10 Home OEM
Monitor
Nixeus EDG v2 27" IPS
Keyboard
Massdrop CTRL w/ Cherry MX Brown
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder
▲ hide details ▲
Rapidian is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 04:05 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
wmunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 114
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by Rapidian View Post
What type of RAM did you pick in the calculator? Those sticks are Hynix AFR. These are the chips: H5AN8G8NAFR-TFC. You can tell if you run Thaiphoon Burner and read the memory modules. It will tell you what type of ram chips are on that board. I'm not totally surprised that CJR worked. They are slightly better than AFR, but those settings may not be totally stable.
see attached thaiphoon burner readings. definitely A die, but runs with C die calculator settings.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3200.jpg.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	498.0 KB
ID:	307032  


CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard
Gigabyte B450 Aorus Pro Wifi
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1660 OC
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200 8GB x 2
Hard Drive
Intel P600 1TB Nvme
Power Supply
Corsair RM750i
Cooling
Phanteks PH-TC14PE_ 140mm UFB CPU Cooler
Case
Fractal Design Define R5
▲ hide details ▲
wmunn is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 11-19-2019, 04:09 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
wmunn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 114
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Here are the stable 3800 settings.....
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3800.jpg
Views:	9
Size:	648.3 KB
ID:	307036  


CPU
AMD Ryzen 7 3700X
Motherboard
Gigabyte B450 Aorus Pro Wifi
GPU
Gigabyte GTX 1660 OC
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB 3200 8GB x 2
Hard Drive
Intel P600 1TB Nvme
Power Supply
Corsair RM750i
Cooling
Phanteks PH-TC14PE_ 140mm UFB CPU Cooler
Case
Fractal Design Define R5
▲ hide details ▲
wmunn is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off