ASUS ROG Zenith II Extreme experience & discussion thread - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

ASUS ROG Zenith II Extreme experience & discussion thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 195 (permalink) Old 12-13-2019, 04:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 73
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
_Actually I answered my own question by finding this. M.2_1 and M.2_2 are off the CPU. Dimm.2 and M.2_3 are off the chipset.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled-1.png
Views:	66
Size:	152.2 KB
ID:	311710  

SuprPwrUsr is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 195 (permalink) Old 12-13-2019, 06:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Gadfly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 475
Rep: 47 (Unique: 31)
Quote: Originally Posted by The L33t View Post
The ideal speed for ryzen 3rd Gen seems to be 3600, and, if achievable.. Cl14. For this you need either Samsung b-dies or Micron-E chips.

Corsair sells memory with Samsung b-dies (as do Gskill and many others) , but it's a guessing game on the lower speed kits. For guaranteed bdie you need something like 3200 cl14 kit, or 3600 c16. But do pay attention to sub timings, b-die kits usually have sub timings in par with the first one, like.. CL14-14-14-34... Or buy something 3800 and above, that is guaranteed bdie. You can also use this website for some help:
https://benzhaomin.github.io/bdiefinder/

The alternative would be Crucial Ballistix Elite, 3600 or 4000. Those are guaranteed Micron-E and have great compatibility with Ryzen.

You don't need to change your kit, but you can get a decent boost in performance with a better one with the improvements in timings mostly, some applications are very sensitive to lower timings.

M.2 SSDs.. Samsung 970 EVO Plus is the most universal agreed suggestion. Sabrent is the cheaper alternative.

If you want to try something pci-e gen4.. You can try:
Corsair MP600 Gen4
Gigabyte Aorus Gen4
Sabrent Rocket Gen4

The ideal speed for Ryzen 3000 CPU's is whatever you can run in a 1:1:1 ratio. It appears the max you can get is @1900 mhz (UCLK:FCLK:MEMCLK); so 3800 MT/s. In Dual CCD Ryzens (3900X/3950X) that maxes out memory performance at @60k Read and write, and @62k copy with low 60's latency. At 1900mhz, I max out the infinity fabric at 3800 MT/s with 4 ranks (2x16GB) running at 16-16-16-32 with some tightened subs. Since the infinity fabric is maxed out, running tighter timings does not improve performance.

Based on some testing I saw by Bullzoid, it appears that does not appear to be the case with 3rd gen Threadrippers where memory performance continues to scale to beyond the 1:1:1 ratio to much higher clock speeds and much tighter timings. So ideal performance is likely to be 8 ranks in 4 channels, and as high and as tight as you can run.
Gadfly is offline  
post #23 of 195 (permalink) Old 12-13-2019, 10:32 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 91
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
its all application dependent with Threadripper as it is Ryzen

https://hwbot.org/user/keeph8n
3970X/3990X on ASUS Zenith Extreme Alpha II
10900X/10980XE on ASUS Rampage VI Apex/Encore
9900K on ASUS Apex X/XI

Streacom BC1 | EVGA 1600T2 | KPC T-Rex/Inferno/KPx | G.Skill Memory
keeph8n is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 195 (permalink) Old 12-14-2019, 09:07 AM
The IT guy...
 
OrionBG's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Posts: 346
Rep: 10 (Unique: 8)
Quote: Originally Posted by SuprPwrUsr View Post
_Actually I answered my own question by finding this. M.2_1 and M.2_2 are off the CPU. Dimm.2 and M.2_3 are off the chipset.
Are you sure this diagram is correct? It seems very unlikely for the DIMM.2 slots that are located next to the CPU to get their lanes from the chipset that is so far away... It is possible but strange...

Orion-TR4
(12 items)
CPU
Threadripper 1950x
Motherboard
Asrock x399 Taichi
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti FE
RAM
G.Skill TridentZ RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung PM961 Nvme SSD
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO SATA SSD
Hard Drive
Intel 5400S SATA SSD
Power Supply
Corsair HX1000i
Cooling
Custom Loop mostly EKWB
Case
Lian-Li PC-O11 WGX ROG Edition
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Audio
Sound Blaster Z
▲ hide details ▲
OrionBG is offline  
post #25 of 195 (permalink) Old 12-14-2019, 02:35 PM
X5O!P%@AP[4\PZX54(P^)7CC)
 
rush2049's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 725
Rep: 46 (Unique: 32)
I have been enjoying my 3970x and the Zenith II Extreme quite a bit.
I have 8 sticks of 8GB G.Skill 3600mhz CL15 sticks. (four two pack kits)

I have been trying to dial in what I call 'stock' settings.
Ram about where the XMP profile says.
CPU with default behaviors allowed (some spread spectrum and power saving options off).
Fixed voltages for SoC, CPU, and Ram.

So with that said I am completely stable (Prime 95 w/ AVX used for testing, both high memory and small FFT tested separately):
1.105 volts on vCore + LLC 4
1.39 volts on dram AB and CD
1.15 volts on SoC + LLC 3

My Stock Bios Settings:
https://imgur.com/a/d0BRh78


One quirk I have noticed. My cpu is completely stable (compute and intense memory utilization) @ .9 volts. However! The ancillary components experience what I am calling hiccups. By ancillary I mean, the ethernet ports, the usb ports, and the sata ports. (NVME drives not affected)
With that low of a voltage the SATA ports are sometimes shown, sometimes not during POST. In windows they function fine, but sustained writes have blips of high latency every 2-4 seconds.
Also the usb ports while writing to a USB stick have the same symptoms. They function perfectly fine, but have hiccups in sustained reads/writes.
The ethernet ports also have the same behavior, but it is much more annoying. While playing games for example your ping may be steady at 25ms to the game server, but occasionally blips to 450ms!!!!

After doing a lot of testing I found that I need 1.1 volts on the cpu cores to get rid of those issues, making my idle temperatures 10C hotter at 40 degrees. Under load, not change in the high temps (59C).



The Soc was ok at 1.1 when I only had 6 dimms. When i added in the remaining 2 I needed 1.15 volts to keep my stock settings of 3600mhz CL15.

Other small notes: I am not using the molex connector at the bottom of the board, nor am I using the extra PCIe power connector near the cpu power plugs. I have to order new power cables to reach these locations for my build. So if this adds more stability at lower voltages I would not know at the moment.


--------------------------EDIT----------------------------------

Did some quick overclocking this evening:

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	CINEBENCH_R20_CPU_19176 - cropped.jpg
Views:	217
Size:	854.1 KB
ID:	312052  


--Intentionally Left Blank--
Glas
(10 items)
CPU
Threadripper 3970x
Motherboard
Asus Zenith Extreme II
GPU
Nvidia RTX 2080 ti
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series DDR4 3600 Model F4-3600C15D
Power Supply
Corsair AX1600i
Cooling
Custom Watercooling
Case
Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer XR382CQK bmijqphuzx
Monitor
Loctek D7H - Heavy Duty Gas Spring Single LCD Arm Stand Monitor Desk Mount
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by rush2049; 12-14-2019 at 10:19 PM.
rush2049 is offline  
post #26 of 195 (permalink) Old 12-15-2019, 12:26 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
springs113's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Posts: 895
Rep: 22 (Unique: 19)
Why does my performance drop when the only thing I set is xmp?
Im using this board and a 3960x, was on bios 403 now I'm on 602. Performance dropped alone from three bios change...I only set xmp on the newer bios by the way. My memory is trident z 3600 cas 16.

springs113 is offline  
post #27 of 195 (permalink) Old 12-16-2019, 04:23 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
sblantipodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,449
Rep: 29 (Unique: 27)
Quote: Originally Posted by rush2049 View Post
I have been enjoying my 3970x and the Zenith II Extreme quite a bit.
I have 8 sticks of 8GB G.Skill 3600mhz CL15 sticks. (four two pack kits)

I have been trying to dial in what I call 'stock' settings.
Ram about where the XMP profile says.
CPU with default behaviors allowed (some spread spectrum and power saving options off).
Fixed voltages for SoC, CPU, and Ram.

So with that said I am completely stable (Prime 95 w/ AVX used for testing, both high memory and small FFT tested separately):
1.105 volts on vCore + LLC 4
1.39 volts on dram AB and CD
1.15 volts on SoC + LLC 3

My Stock Bios Settings:
https://imgur.com/a/d0BRh78


One quirk I have noticed. My cpu is completely stable (compute and intense memory utilization) @ .9 volts. However! The ancillary components experience what I am calling hiccups. By ancillary I mean, the ethernet ports, the usb ports, and the sata ports. (NVME drives not affected)
With that low of a voltage the SATA ports are sometimes shown, sometimes not during POST. In windows they function fine, but sustained writes have blips of high latency every 2-4 seconds.
Also the usb ports while writing to a USB stick have the same symptoms. They function perfectly fine, but have hiccups in sustained reads/writes.
The ethernet ports also have the same behavior, but it is much more annoying. While playing games for example your ping may be steady at 25ms to the game server, but occasionally blips to 450ms!!!!

After doing a lot of testing I found that I need 1.1 volts on the cpu cores to get rid of those issues, making my idle temperatures 10C hotter at 40 degrees. Under load, not change in the high temps (59C).



The Soc was ok at 1.1 when I only had 6 dimms. When i added in the remaining 2 I needed 1.15 volts to keep my stock settings of 3600mhz CL15.

Other small notes: I am not using the molex connector at the bottom of the board, nor am I using the extra PCIe power connector near the cpu power plugs. I have to order new power cables to reach these locations for my build. So if this adds more stability at lower voltages I would not know at the moment.


--------------------------EDIT----------------------------------

Did some quick overclocking this evening:

is the hiccups you are experiencing related to the OC?
do you have the same problem when using default bios settings?

do you use PBO or manual OC?

sblantipodi is offline  
post #28 of 195 (permalink) Old 12-16-2019, 09:59 AM
X5O!P%@AP[4\PZX54(P^)7CC)
 
rush2049's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 725
Rep: 46 (Unique: 32)
The hiccups are related to setting a manual vCore (no overclock). Take a look at my link to the bios settings I am using.
That is default behavior as far as I am aware except for setting a manual vCore and vSOC.

(The default behavior of asus made the vCore go up to 1.5 volts far too often and stayed there....)

--Intentionally Left Blank--
Glas
(10 items)
CPU
Threadripper 3970x
Motherboard
Asus Zenith Extreme II
GPU
Nvidia RTX 2080 ti
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series DDR4 3600 Model F4-3600C15D
Power Supply
Corsair AX1600i
Cooling
Custom Watercooling
Case
Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer XR382CQK bmijqphuzx
Monitor
Loctek D7H - Heavy Duty Gas Spring Single LCD Arm Stand Monitor Desk Mount
▲ hide details ▲


rush2049 is offline  
post #29 of 195 (permalink) Old 12-16-2019, 09:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
sblantipodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 2,449
Rep: 29 (Unique: 27)
Quote: Originally Posted by rush2049 View Post
The hiccups are related to setting a manual vCore (no overclock). Take a look at my link to the bios settings I am using.
That is default behavior as far as I am aware except for setting a manual vCore and vSOC.

(The default behavior of asus made the vCore go up to 1.5 volts far too often and stayed there....)
why setting a manual vcore if no overclock?

sblantipodi is offline  
post #30 of 195 (permalink) Old 12-16-2019, 10:03 AM
X5O!P%@AP[4\PZX54(P^)7CC)
 
rush2049's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: PA, USA
Posts: 725
Rep: 46 (Unique: 32)
Quote: Originally Posted by springs113 View Post
Why does my performance drop when the only thing I set is xmp?
Im using this board and a 3960x, was on bios 403 now I'm on 602. Performance dropped alone from three bios change...I only set xmp on the newer bios by the way. My memory is trident z 3600 cas 16.
Make sure to manually set the infinity fabric to 1800 to match your 3600mhz ram. (1800*2=3600 (DDR = double date rate))

--Intentionally Left Blank--
Glas
(10 items)
CPU
Threadripper 3970x
Motherboard
Asus Zenith Extreme II
GPU
Nvidia RTX 2080 ti
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series DDR4 3600 Model F4-3600C15D
Power Supply
Corsair AX1600i
Cooling
Custom Watercooling
Case
Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Acer XR382CQK bmijqphuzx
Monitor
Loctek D7H - Heavy Duty Gas Spring Single LCD Arm Stand Monitor Desk Mount
▲ hide details ▲


rush2049 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off