ASUS Zenith Extreme X399, I can update Bios with a Raid 0? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

ASUS Zenith Extreme X399, I can update Bios with a Raid 0?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-09-2020, 10:34 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
JRippa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 10
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
ASUS Zenith Extreme X399, I can update Bios with a Raid 0?

I am on Zenith Extreme X399 motherboard, I created this Raid 0 setup back on bios version 0902 (8 version ago) I have been wanting to update the bios but am afraid doing so will erase my Raid 0 and I wont be able to set it back up and retrieve my data/boot into my drive. So i pose this question, Can I update bios and still keep my Raid 0 intact? I asked on asus forum but its dead been over 6 months or more waiting on a response/reply. So any help will be appreciated. thanks.
JRippa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-09-2020, 10:40 AM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,104
Rep: 1332 (Unique: 704)
updating the BIOS sets everything to the defaults, and AHCI is the default setting for SATA devices. you should just have to go back in the BIOS after updating and set it from SATA to RAID.

Is your BIOS EEPROM socketed? A lot of higher end Intel boards are, and if it is and you're paranoid you can just buy a new EEPROM (with the latest BIOS on it) and stick it in and if it breaks everything just put your old EEPROM back in and it'll be like nothing changed.

I ordered from both bios_store and biosdepot on eBay, both got me what I needed. bios_store is cheaper but is based in Taiwan though, biosdepot is in California. both were under $20 shipped to my door though.

You shouldn't need it, though.

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
XPG SX8200 Pro NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 860 1TB RAID 0
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Cooling
Raijintek Morpheus II
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU 27" 1440p
Monitor
LG 24UD58 24" 4K
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MK730 (Blues)
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mouse
Glorious Model D
Audio
Klipsch PowerGate + Schiit Hel
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston DDR4 2400 16GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 480GB
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Dierya DK63-BT 60% (Outemu Blue)
Mouse
Logitech G603 Wireless
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S (Browns)
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-09-2020, 02:27 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
JRippa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 10
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
updating the BIOS sets everything to the defaults, and AHCI is the default setting for SATA devices. you should just have to go back in the BIOS after updating and set it from SATA to RAID.

Is your BIOS EEPROM socketed? A lot of higher end Intel boards are, and if it is and you're paranoid you can just buy a new EEPROM (with the latest BIOS on it) and stick it in and if it breaks everything just put your old EEPROM back in and it'll be like nothing changed.

I ordered from both bios_store and biosdepot on eBay, both got me what I needed. bios_store is cheaper but is based in Taiwan though, biosdepot is in California. both were under $20 shipped to my door though.

You shouldn't need it, though.
oaky tahnks for the reply, I dont think my board is EEPROM but I just wanted to make sure i can still keep my raid 0. I have accidently switched profiles that switched my mobo from raid to sata and i just switched it back and it was as you say got my raid 0 setup back with no issues.
JRippa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-09-2020, 02:33 PM
9 Cans of Ravioli
 
The Pook's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 18,104
Rep: 1332 (Unique: 704)
Quote: Originally Posted by JRippa View Post
oaky tahnks for the reply, I dont think my board is EEPROM but I just wanted to make sure i can still keep my raid 0. I have accidently switched profiles that switched my mobo from raid to sata and i just switched it back and it was as you say got my raid 0 setup back with no issues.

your board definitely has an EEPROM (it's where the BIOS and its settings are stored), the question is if it's socketed or not.

it'll look like this, it'll have 8-pins and it'll have a dimple in one corner, it's either in a socket and can be pulled or it's soldered in.



you shouldn't need to bother with it though

Intel i9 9900K Coffee Lake @ X8 5309mhz (+47.5%)
AMD FX-8320 Vishera @ X4 5022mhz (+43.5%)
Intel i5 4690K Haswell @ X4 5013mhz (+43.2%)
AMD X4 960T Zosma @ X6 4870mhz (+62.3%)
Intel i7 6700 Skylake @ X4 4709mhz (+38.5%)
Intel i5 6400 Skylake @ X4 4588mhz (+69.9%)
2 OP pls nerf
(24 items)
NUC U
(10 items)
CPU
i9 9900K
Motherboard
AsRock Z390 Taichi
GPU
MSI GTX 1080 Ti
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 4133 32GB
Hard Drive
XPG SX8200 Pro NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
HP EX950 NVMe 2TB
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 860 1TB RAID 0
Hard Drive
Toshiba X300 5TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital EZRZ 3TB
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus Plus Gold 750w
Cooling
Corsair H115i Pro
Cooling
Raijintek Morpheus II
Case
Fractal Design Meshify S2
Operating System
Windows 10 Education x64
Monitor
Acer XF270HU 27" 1440p
Monitor
LG 24UD58 24" 4K
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MK730 (Blues)
Mouse
Logitech G502
Mouse
Glorious Model D
Audio
Klipsch PowerGate + Schiit Hel
Audio
Micca RB42
Audio
Philips Fidelio X2
Audio
Philips SHP9500S
Audio
Audio Technica ATH-M50X
CPU
i3 8109U
Motherboard
Intel NUC8i3BEH
GPU
Iris Plus 655
RAM
Kingston DDR4 2400 16GB
Hard Drive
Mushkin Pilot NVMe 1TB
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra II 480GB
Operating System
Windows 10 Professional
Operating System
MX Linux
Keyboard
Dierya DK63-BT 60% (Outemu Blue)
Mouse
Logitech G603 Wireless
CPU
i7 860
Motherboard
Advantech AIMB 280 ITX
GPU
EVGA GTX 950 2GB
RAM
Kingston 2GB DDR3 1333
Hard Drive
Seagate Momentus 2.5" 500GB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Blue 2.5" 320GB
Power Supply
Silverstone SFX-L Gold 500w
Cooling
Arctic Alpine 11 GT 2
Case
Silverstone Milo Z ML07B
Operating System
Windows XP x86 SP3
Keyboard
CoolerMaster MasterKeys Pro S (Browns)
Mouse
Logitech M512
▲ hide details ▲


The Pook is offline  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-11-2020, 10:29 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
JRippa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 10
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Quote: Originally Posted by The Pook View Post
your board definitely has an EEPROM (it's where the BIOS and its settings are stored), the question is if it's socketed or not.

it'll look like this, it'll have 8-pins and it'll have a dimple in one corner, it's either in a socket and can be pulled or it's soldered in.



you shouldn't need to bother with it though
yeah thanks for the help, I didnt need any of that, just updated the bios like normal all I had to do was renable raid mode in bios and all was good. Thanks again.
JRippa is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off