Help setting up all the RGB wiring on new build with MSI x570 Unify - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Help setting up all the RGB wiring on new build with MSI x570 Unify

post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-12-2020, 08:08 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 41 (Unique: 40)
I can't find a generic build subforum here... so this seemed like the most appropriate place for this question...

I pulled the trigger on all the parts for my new build and they arrived this weekend. Specs lower in the post. I am a complete and total noob on wiring leds and rgbs and would love some assistance. I have watched videos and read forums, read the manuals and checked the diagrams. They don't show anything useful, they just seem to assume you know what to plug where... I just don't want to mess this up.

Essentially I'm wondering how I am supposed to wire up all the fans, RGB fans, RGB AIO, and case RGB properly. At the risk of sounding like an idiot, I'm asking for assistance rather than wiring it wrong. Please have mercy on a wiring noob and help me get this right 🙂

Specs...
Case: Lian Li Lancool 2 case white
PSU: Corsair RM 850x White
Motherboard: MSI x570 Unify
Storage: Mushkin Pilot M.2 NVMe SSD 2TB
CPU: Ryzen 7 3700x
CPU cooler: DeepCool Captain 240RGB v2 AIO
RAM GSkill Trident Z Neo 32gb 3200
GPU: 2x MSI GTX 1070 Quicksilver in SLI (harvested from last PC)

The Lancool 2 came with 3 non-RGB fans. I stole 2 and put them on the cooler radiator mounted in the front as intake, and put the third on the front as intake. I have 3 deepcool RGB fans (2 from the AIO and one copy purchased separately) to mount as exhaust; 2 at top and one at rear. So 3 RGB fans total.

The Lancool 2 case also has front panel RGB lights.

The AIO also has RGB lights on the block.
The GPUs and RAM have RGB but have no external wires so no problem.