Asrock Creator TRX40 not taking power? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Asrock Creator TRX40 not taking power?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-22-2020, 06:48 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Asrock Creator TRX40 not taking power?

Hey everyone!

First off here is my build:

My specs:

MOBO: Asrock Creator TRX40
CPU: TR 3960x
CPU Cooling: Kraken x62
CASE: Phanteks Primo
RAM: HyperX Fury 64GB
GPU: RTX 2070
PSU: EVGA 1600W T2
SSD: Samsung EVO 512gb

So I connected everything, and I'm getting nothing. Even the Dr. Debugger with the Red LED lights doesn't come up!

I then took everything apart, and connected my two 8pin CPU power chords and my 24pin power chord, and I still get zero lights.

I figured my motherboard was dead, so I had it returned and got another sent to me. Sure enough, I am having the same issue, which leads me to believe this is a user-error.

Can anyone with a Asrock Creator TRX40 confirm a way to test if the motherboard is faulty? Shouldn't it light up with just a PSU connected to it?

Anyway help would be much appreciated, again this is my second motherboard so I don't believe that I could of received 2 dead motherboards, I'm clearly doing something wrong....
viable is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-23-2020, 07:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
boldenc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 263
Rep: 7 (Unique: 7)
maybe there is a short? I would suspect the PSU or compatibility issue, did you try different PSU?
Also I would test it outside the case just to make sure there is no short.

Overclocked
TUF Ultimate Force
(17 items)
CPU
Ryzen 9 [email protected]
Motherboard
X570 Plus TUF - Wifi
GPU
ASUS Strix 1070 Ti
RAM
GSkill 32GB [email protected]
Hard Drive
PM980 1TB
Hard Drive
970 Pro 512GB
Hard Drive
Intel 660p 2TB
Hard Drive
Seagate 8TB DC Edition
Hard Drive
960 Pro 512GB
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Titanium 850w
Cooling
Enermax LIQMAX III 360mm
Case
ASUS TUF GT501
Operating System
Windows 10 1909
Monitor
LG 34UM88
Keyboard
Kingston HyperX Alloy Elite
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder Elite
Audio
Creative SB ZxR
▲ hide details ▲
boldenc is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-23-2020, 07:05 AM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 39,265
Rep: 2801 (Unique: 1654)
Have you tried using only a single 8 pin?
I once had a board with two 8 pins and for some reason it just refused to boot with both 8 pins plugged in

Dreissen
(27 items)
Seravee
(18 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3700x
Motherboard
Asrock x570 Taichi
GPU
MSI RTX 2070 Super Gaming X Trio
RAM
G Skill TridentZ
Hard Drive
Corsair Force MP510 1,92 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST14000NE0008
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf ST12000VN0007
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST12000NE0007
Hard Drive
WD Ultrastar DC HC530 14 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate IronWolf Pro ST16000NE000
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Ultra Titanium 750 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-U12S Chromax
Case
Phanteks Luxe 2
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 55C8
Keyboard
Corsair Strafe RGB MK.2 with Cherry MX Silent
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
HyperX Fury S XL
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
RHA L1 Dacamp
Audio
Sennheiser HD 599
Audio
Dali E 12 F
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 1
Audio
2x Dali Opticon 2
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Other
Vegas MBA 60cm LED Strip
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
GTX 1060 3 GB wth blower style cooler
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
Seasonic Focus GX 650 watt
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
AOC 24G2U
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming STRAFE RGB Mechanical
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mousepad
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Other
CableMod 30 CM Magnetic Red LED strip
Monitor
LG 24MP59G-P
Mouse
Logitech MX518 Hero
Other
Delock PCI-E to M.2 NVME Adaptor Card
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-23-2020, 07:14 AM
Bench, Dead, Squat
 
Bad5ector's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Halifax, Canada
Posts: 213
Rep: 20 (Unique: 15)
The power switch is turned on on the back of the PSU???

Deff seems like short or power related though.

ShadowMoses
(21 items)
CPU
i7 7700K
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Maximus IX Formula LGA1151
GPU
EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Founders Edition
RAM
Corsair Vengenace Lpx 32GB DDR4 3200MHZ
Hard Drive
Seagate ST1000DX001 SSHD 1TB 3.5in SATA3 64MB Cache Internal Solid State Hybrid Drive
Hard Drive
Kingston HyperX Predator 240GB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNOVA 1000 G1 80 Plus Gold Certified 1000W Fully Modular
Cooling
RAD - EK-CoolStream XE 360
Cooling
CPU Block - EK-Supremacy EVO - Nickel
Cooling
GPU Block - EK-FC Titan X Pascal - Nickel
Cooling
Pump / Res - EK-XRES 140 Revo D5 PWM (incl. sleeved pump)
Cooling
Fans - 3 x EK-Vardar F4-120ER (2200rpm)
Cooling
Coolant - EK-Ekoolant Pastel BLUE (concentrate 250mL)
Cooling
Tubing - EK-DuraClear 11,1/15,9mm
Case
Thermaltake Core P3 SE Snow Edition
Operating System
Microsoft Windows 10 Pro 64Bit
Monitor
BenQ XL2720Z 27in LED 144HZ 1ms GTG FPS Gaming Monitor
Monitor
42" LG TV
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming K65 Lux RGB Compact Mechanical Keyboard
Mouse
Corsair Gaming M65 Pro RGB Optical Gaming Mouse
Mouse
Corsair Gaming MM300
▲ hide details ▲
Bad5ector is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-23-2020, 07:37 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
Hey everyone, thanks so much for taking the time to help me!

Long story short, i got it to boot. I do think my first board i got from asrock was dead on arrival, because when I hooked
everything up, i got nothing.

But now, with this, everything works. The thing is, when I hooked the PSU up to it, i got nothing out of it.
But once I hooked everything else up (ram, cpu, cpu cooler, gpu, fans, psu, etc) i got it to boot...

Again thanks again for taking the time guys <3
viable is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-23-2020, 07:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Paradigm Shifter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Japan
Posts: 2,921
Rep: 252 (Unique: 201)
Quote: Originally Posted by viable View Post
Hey everyone, thanks so much for taking the time to help me!

Long story short, i got it to boot. I do think my first board i got from asrock was dead on arrival, because when I hooked
everything up, i got nothing.

But now, with this, everything works. The thing is, when I hooked the PSU up to it, i got nothing out of it.
But once I hooked everything else up (ram, cpu, cpu cooler, gpu, fans, psu, etc) i got it to boot...

Again thanks again for taking the time guys <3
Just out of curiosity, what boards have you used that do anything without a CPU in situ?


Paradigm Shifter is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off