Ultra cheap mobo for Ryzen 7 3700X? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Ultra cheap mobo for Ryzen 7 3700X?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 07:13 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Ultra cheap mobo for Ryzen 7 3700X?

Hello! I've got asrock b450m-hdv motherboard (https://www.asrock.com/MB/AMD/B450M-HDV/index.asp) and i use it with ryzen 5 2400g. Anyway i want to upgrade my CPU to Ryzen 7 3700x and GPU to RX 5700 XT and i wonder if it is worth it to change that really cheap mobo? What if i dont and just stick with this b450m-hdv? May it be dangerous for components or something? Or just it might affect performance a little? Cpu vrms have a heatsink which is small but it cools VRMs a little. Which is important my mobo isn't asrock b450m-hdv r4.0. My one is "basic", old revision of this mobo.
HRb6 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 07:53 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Koslov's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 149
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
I'd get something in Tier D at least (source LTT tier list v2):

Tier D 100A current draw on little ambient airflow, maxed out 1800X and 3800X, a tad more than maxed out 2600X, maxed out 2700X in ambient cooling (Cinebench R15)

Asus: X470 Prime Pro, X470-I, B450 TUF Pro, B450-E, B450-I, X370 X370-I, B350 B350-I
Asrock: X470 Master SLI, K4, ITX, B450 Pro4, K4, M/AC, Steel Legend, ITX
Gigabyte: X470 Gaming 5, Ultra Gaming, B450 Aorus Elite (mATX)
MSI: X570 X570-A Pro, Gaming Plus, Edge, X470 Gaming Pro, B450 Pro-VDH (& Max & V2), Bazooka (& V2), X370 Gaming Pro Carbon, Krait Gaming, SLI Plus, Gaming Plus, Gaming Pro, B350 Gaming Pro Carbon, Krait Gaming
Koslov is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 08:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,288
Rep: 880 (Unique: 638)
You won't have issues unless you decide to oc. Got my XT on a B350.

https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/40825895

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 02:31 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Koslov View Post
I'd get something in Tier D at least (source LTT tier list v2):

Tier D 100A current draw on little ambient airflow, maxed out 1800X and 3800X, a tad more than maxed out 2600X, maxed out 2700X in ambient cooling (Cinebench R15)

Asus: X470 Prime Pro, X470-I, B450 TUF Pro, B450-E, B450-I, X370 X370-I, B350 B350-I
Asrock: X470 Master SLI, K4, ITX, B450 Pro4, K4, M/AC, Steel Legend, ITX
Gigabyte: X470 Gaming 5, Ultra Gaming, B450 Aorus Elite (mATX)
MSI: X570 X570-A Pro, Gaming Plus, Edge, X470 Gaming Pro, B450 Pro-VDH (& Max & V2), Bazooka (& V2), X370 Gaming Pro Carbon, Krait Gaming, SLI Plus, Gaming Plus, Gaming Pro, B350 Gaming Pro Carbon, Krait Gaming
Thanks for answering!
Okay I'll keep it in mind but unfortunately I already have this b450m-hdv which I bought some time ago. At that time I didn't plan on upgrading to something much more powerful... I just wonder is it really worth it to change this mobo. Anyway Ryzen 7 3700x has only 65w tdp so it might not be that bad...
HRb6 is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 02:40 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
You won't have issues unless you decide to oc. Got my XT on a B350.

https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/40825895
Thank you for answering!
I clicked the link and checked your mobo. To be honest it looks quite good despite it is b350. I'm sure it has way better quality than mine. After all I will probably try with this motherboard which I own and I hope I won't have to buy a new one 🙂
HRb6 is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 08:04 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
gerardfraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 847
Rep: 96 (Unique: 75)
Spreadsheet for VRM on the (AM4-socket for AMD Ryzen CPUs) By Cr1318 (Reddit)
Cautilus#5912 (Discord)

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...#gid=639584818

Motherboards (AM4-socket for AMD Ryzen CPUs) Comparison by by Raison John Bassig

X570/X470/X370/B450/B350/A320
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...gid=2112472504
gerardfraser is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-21-2020, 10:55 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,288
Rep: 880 (Unique: 638)
Quote: Originally Posted by HRb6 View Post
Thank you for answering!
I clicked the link and checked your mobo. To be honest it looks quite good despite it is b350. I'm sure it has way better quality than mine. After all I will probably try with this motherboard which I own and I hope I won't have to buy a new one 🙂
The cpu support list for your motherboard has a BIOS update to accommodate an R9 3950, which is a 16 core part. I've seen reviewers try a 12 core ryzen on an A320 motherboard. Not that I recommend any of these.

I have an R7 2700, which is a 65W cpu. In normal use even when all cores are in use it does not see 65W. Gaming mostly uses 45W. OC.ed to 4.0 GHz all core, tho, 65W goes to 120W easy.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-22-2020, 01:51 AM
Vandelay Industries
 
maltamonk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: US/UK
Posts: 1,551
Rep: 80 (Unique: 60)
You'd be fine honestly as long as you're not trying to OC to the max. Mobo's are one component where diminishing returns happen very low in the stack.
maltamonk is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-22-2020, 01:25 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
There's also one more thing about this mobo that makes me really confused. When I tried to overclock my DDR4 memory (Crucial Ballistix Sport LT 16gb 2666mhz) I was able to run it on 3000mhz stable without changing voltage(well, I changed it a little to 1.26 but I think it would be possible to stick with 1.20v and even go a little higher with the frequency). I checked stability even with memtest but I did only 2 passes because I hadn't got enough time for more. It seemed to be perfect stable. Is it normal? Maybe there are some errors and mobo provides higher voltage than it is set up in BIOS. What do you think? If it's important I used XMP to OC. This mobo doesn't have features like manual overclocking of memory so you have to use XMP.
HRb6 is offline  
Reply

Tags
Cpu , Motherboard , ryzen , Upgrade

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off