RAM not doing A-XMP - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

RAM not doing A-XMP

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-22-2020, 11:12 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
basschilperoord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 136
Rep: 0
RAM not doing A-XMP

My ram is not doing 3600MHz with the A-XMP profile. It even has issues with 3200MHz manual set. What is going on with my ram? These are my specs:

Sharkoon TG5 RGB case
MPG X570 Gaming Pro Carbon Wi-Fi motherboard
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X cpu
Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1080 Ti Gaming OC 11G graphics card
CMW16GX4M2Z3600C18 2x8GB DDR4 3600MHz CL18 ram
Samsung 970 Pro M.2 NVMe 512GB ssd
Toshiba DT01ACA300 3TB hdd
Fractal Design ION+ 660W Platinum psu

I already have contacted MSI europe and I'm waiting for a response from them, also sent an e-mail to the store where I got my parts from and waiting for their response aswell.
basschilperoord is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-22-2020, 12:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,880
Rep: 494 (Unique: 276)
That kit is on the QVL but they have a really odd IC. - Not Hynix nor Samsung . It's spectek ( in bed with micron ) which doesn't seem to have a very good track record with Ryzen.


EDIT: After asking around, people are telling me those are micron's lower binned chips so it's going to be a struggle to get very far with them - on Ryzen platforms in particular - sorry



Last edited by cssorkinman; 02-22-2020 at 12:28 PM.
cssorkinman is offline  
post #3 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 11:44 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
basschilperoord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 136
Rep: 0
Yeah. It even has issues with 3000MHz. I have it running at 2800MHz now and the PC works normal that way, but for a kit that's specified as 3600MHz I expected a lot more. Should I return this kit of RAM and buy a better one?
basschilperoord is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 12:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,880
Rep: 494 (Unique: 276)
That's up to you .

If it's easy and inexpensive to do so, I probably would in my case.


cssorkinman is offline  
post #5 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 12:39 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
basschilperoord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 136
Rep: 0
What kit do you recommend?
basschilperoord is offline  
post #6 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 12:51 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,880
Rep: 494 (Unique: 276)
There's others here that are far more qualified than I to give you an answer on that - hopefully someone will chime in.

The only Ryzen 3xxx X570 setup I've built I used a set of Gskill 3600 mhz Cl16 Neo's and it's worked flawlessly.

If you get no other responses, I'll dig up what the exact kit number it is for you.


cssorkinman is offline  
post #7 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 10:54 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
basschilperoord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 136
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by cssorkinman View Post
There's others here that are far more qualified than I to give you an answer on that - hopefully someone will chime in.

The only Ryzen 3xxx X570 setup I've built I used a set of Gskill 3600 mhz Cl16 Neo's and it's worked flawlessly.

If you get no other responses, I'll dig up what the exact kit number it is for you.
If you could do that, that would be great.
basschilperoord is offline  
post #8 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-23-2020, 11:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
cssorkinman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 9,880
Rep: 494 (Unique: 276)
https://www.newegg.com/g-skill-32gb-...ption=f-4+3600


That's the kit i have, I am not sure its on you QVL for your board though, verify that for yourself before purchasing .

There are better kits out there for sure, but this one hit 3800mhz without any problems at the timings for 3600mhz.

I'm also not sure they make a kit with the same IC's etc in a 2x8 set, sorry. Best of luck to you


cssorkinman is offline  
post #9 of 9 (permalink) Old 02-24-2020, 12:47 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
basschilperoord's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Posts: 136
Rep: 0
basschilperoord is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off