Gigabyte x570 Aorus Elite Memory Training Fix? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Gigabyte x570 Aorus Elite Memory Training Fix?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-27-2020, 09:12 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Gigabyte x570 Aorus Elite Memory Training Fix?

Hi guys,

I am very new here and I don't know much, so please excuse any flaws or misunderstandings that I will have.

I just bought a new build with a Ryzen 3900x CPU and suddenly, my MOBO (Gigabyte x570 Aorus Elite), does not recognize the full amount of RAM I have installed (64 in my case), it gives me an error about memory training.

So, what I have found is that BIOS F11 which I am currently on at the moment, sees the only two slots A1 and A2, but when I insert even one or 2 more into B1 B2, the PC won't boot up.

Neither switching them to A1 and B1 or A1 and B2...

What can I do to fully use my 64gb of DDR4 Viper Steel 3200Mhz ( these are the RAM - https://www.amazon.com/Patriot-Viper.../dp/B07N3TXFFX )

At the moment everything works just fine for me except the RAM issue... I have XMP in BIOS.

If you need any more info, I would be glad to help you out.


Best regards,
Allen
Attached Files
File Type: txt DESKTOP-231O6EH.txt (210.1 KB, 6 views)
AllenConstantin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-27-2020, 10:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 24
Rep: 0
How did you get F11 bios? If you updated yourself, did you make sure to clear the cmos? Make sure you drain all power from the cmos look it up, do all methods you find to make sure. I had some issues too but after I pulled the battery and reset the board defaults all was good. Make sure youre in A2 and B2. And remember mem training can take awhile so let it do its thing, but shouldnt take more than a minute or so at most.

Couch Rig
(11 items)
CPU
3700x
Motherboard
X570 Aorus Elite Wifi
GPU
RTX 2070
RAM
Trident Z Neo F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC
Hard Drive
970 EVO
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 750 G2
Cooling
Thermalright TrueSpirit 140 Direct
Case
NZXT H500
Operating System
Win10 Pro
Monitor
Sony X720E
Audio
Yamaha RX-V379
▲ hide details ▲
hotripper is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-29-2020, 10:38 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Hi,

I just updated to F11, properly.

It works but I still think that the pmu memory training error at socket 0 channel 0 DIMM 1 is the cause of the problem.

Might be the memory controller of the CPU. Maybe some bent pins... which, in that case, I guess it's no easy way out than to use only two slots of memory, to reach 64gb of RAM :-(
AllenConstantin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-29-2020, 10:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Heuchler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 2,028
Rep: 274 (Unique: 193)
try reseating the processor into the socket

Overclocking History (Click to show)
Intel 386DX/16 @ 20 MHz
CX486SLC/50 @ 50 MHz
AM486DX2/80 @ 100 MHz
AM486 DX4-100 @ 120 MHz
AK5x86-P75 [email protected] 160 MHz
Pentium 90 @ 120 Mhz
IBM 6x86L P166+ [email protected] 160 MHz
Celeron 300a @ 454 MHz
Pentium 3 700 @ 933 MHz
Athlon XP 1400+ @ 1600 MHz
Athlon XP 1800+ @ 2088 MHz
Athlon XP 2500+ @ 2200 MHz
Athlon 64 3000+ @ 2603 MHz
Athlon X2 BE2300 @ 1900 MHz
Athlon X2 4200+ @ 2210 MHz
Athlon X2 5000+ @ 2600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E4300 @ 3000 MHz
Core 2 Duo E6750 @ 3600 MHz
Core 2 Duo E8400 @ 4000 MHz
Xeon C2Q L5408 @ 3200 MHz
Xeon C2Q X5450 @ 3300 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5440 @ 3400 MHz
Xeon C2Q E5450 @ 3600 MHz
Phenom2 X4 B50 @ 3700 MHz
Phenom2 X6 1045T @ 4050 MHz
Core i5-2500K Sandy @ 4500 MHz
X5650 6-Core Westmere @ 3982 MHz
AMD FX 8320E Black Edition

FX-8320E @4.5GHz, X5650 @ 4.0GHz, X6 1045T @4.0GHz, i7 [email protected]
Thinkpad T420p with i7-2720QM overclocked because this is OCN
Heuchler is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-29-2020, 11:25 PM
Watercooler
 
Socks keep you warm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,187
Rep: 136 (Unique: 119)
I'm not going to do the research but i will tell you.
1. Make sure the RAM is supported by the CPU and motherboard.
2. Make sure the CPU is inserted properly and clamped down correctly, most memory issues stem from a IMC( Internal Memory Controller) Issue.

I like to have fun.
https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/110855
https://www.trueachievements.com/gamer/II+TH3PRO+II
16 Threads is Good
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core I9 9900K 4.8Ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Elite
GPU
Aorus 2080Ti Xtreme Waterforce WB 11GB
RAM
Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 250 SSD
Power Supply
Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid
Cooling
Watercooling Custom
Case
900D
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
28" ACER 4K Monitor
▲ hide details ▲


Socks keep you warm is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-29-2020, 11:47 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
So, it seems that I have a broken pin on the CPU.

I am assuming that the IMC has issues... Maybe there is nothing I can do at this point and perhaps, the best bet is to use only the 2 slots, sadly, and put 2x32 GB RAM...

B1/B2 slots do not work anymore. And I have checked all the ram and all modules are fine, but not in the B1/B2 sockets.

Really sad...
AllenConstantin is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-01-2020, 12:24 AM
Watercooler
 
Socks keep you warm's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 3,187
Rep: 136 (Unique: 119)
Quote: Originally Posted by AllenConstantin View Post
So, it seems that I have a broken pin on the CPU.

I am assuming that the IMC has issues... Maybe there is nothing I can do at this point and perhaps, the best bet is to use only the 2 slots, sadly, and put 2x32 GB RAM...

B1/B2 slots do not work anymore. And I have checked all the ram and all modules are fine, but not in the B1/B2 sockets.

Really sad...
Broken pin or bent pin? If it's bent just grab a toothpick or something and try your best to straighten it. Worked for me a few times before.

I like to have fun.
https://stats.foldingathome.org/donor/110855
https://www.trueachievements.com/gamer/II+TH3PRO+II
16 Threads is Good
(10 items)
CPU
Intel Core I9 9900K 4.8Ghz
Motherboard
Gigabyte Aorus Elite
GPU
Aorus 2080Ti Xtreme Waterforce WB 11GB
RAM
Trident Z
Hard Drive
Samsung 250 SSD
Power Supply
Cooler Master Silent Pro Hybrid
Cooling
Watercooling Custom
Case
900D
Operating System
Windows 10 x64
Monitor
28" ACER 4K Monitor
▲ hide details ▲


Socks keep you warm is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-01-2020, 01:00 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
All the other pins are fine. There is just a broken one. Tried to find it, but no luck. It's location is on the edge of the CPU. I don't have a map of the pins, to view what causes that particular one, but, I assume it's the culprit for the IMC, sockets B1/B2.

In that case, any other solutions or just use A1/A2,
2x32 gb for 64gb?
AllenConstantin is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-01-2020, 01:33 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Update!

I've found the broken pin, but I don't think if it's a good option to try to solder it back. Maybe I'll go to a professionist who does this for his usual job?

Most likely he will also see some bent ones, with his eyeglass?!
AllenConstantin is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 03-11-2020, 07:26 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Update!



I finally found the issue. The AM4 socket on the Motherboard had some pins bent and I straightened them a bit and all works without issues.

Thanks a lot, for your provided help!
AllenConstantin is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off