Need help with 3950X all core OC on Gigabyte X570 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Need help with 3950X all core OC on Gigabyte X570

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-05-2020, 04:55 PM - Thread Starter
Overclocking since 1998
 
briank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 877
Rep: 47 (Unique: 40)
Need help with 3950X all core OC on Gigabyte X570

Any help with my struggles to do even a simple all core OC would be appreciated!

I originally stated my problem in the Gigabyte X570 master thread here: https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-a...l#post28351832


Rather then tell you everything I've tried, let's start with the BIOS settings for what I think should have been very conservative, easy to boot settings (I think). These settings won't even post. I get the error screen shown. Please tell me what you see is wrong! Help!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20200306_004042544_iOS.jpg
Views:	15
Size:	71.9 KB
ID:	330886  

Click image for larger version

Name:	e200305193921.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	188.6 KB
ID:	330888  

Click image for larger version

Name:	e200305193829.jpg
Views:	23
Size:	141.6 KB
ID:	330890  

Click image for larger version

Name:	e200305193819.jpg
Views:	25
Size:	198.9 KB
ID:	330892  

Click image for larger version

Name:	e200305193805.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	158.2 KB
ID:	330894  

Click image for larger version

Name:	e200305193740.jpg
Views:	21
Size:	163.5 KB
ID:	330896  


CPU
Ryzen 9 3950X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Aorus Ultra
GPU
Powercolor 5700XT Red Devil
RAM
TridentZ B-die @ 3733CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro
Hard Drive
Adata XPG SX8200 Pro
Optical Drive
BD-RE
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
Fractal Define R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
LG 27GL83A-B 27" Nano-IPS
Keyboard
Corsair K68 Cherry Reds
Mouse
Razer Deathadder
CPU
7700K Delid @5.1GHz @1.4V
Motherboard
Asus Z270F Strix
GPU
Asus RX480 Strix @ 1400MHz
RAM
Corsair Vengance PC3200 2x8GB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro
Hard Drive
2 x 3TB HDD
Optical Drive
LG BD-R
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
Fractal Define R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
Dell 27" 1080p
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder
▲ hide details ▲


briank is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-06-2020, 07:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rissie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 142
Rep: 11 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by briank View Post
Any help with my struggles to do even a simple all core OC would be appreciated!

I originally stated my problem in the Gigabyte X570 master thread here: https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-a...l#post28351832


Rather then tell you everything I've tried, let's start with the BIOS settings for what I think should have been very conservative, easy to boot settings (I think). These settings won't even post. I get the error screen shown. Please tell me what you see is wrong! Help!
Set your memory to something other than auto if you want to do per ccx or all core overclocks.
rissie is online now  
post #3 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-06-2020, 08:09 PM - Thread Starter
Overclocking since 1998
 
briank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 877
Rep: 47 (Unique: 40)
Quote: Originally Posted by rissie View Post
Set your memory to something other than auto if you want to do per ccx or all core overclocks.
Auto is 2133CL15 which is ultra conservative isn't it? I tried XMP and Memory Calc safe settings, still couldn't post. I'll go back and try it again.

CPU
Ryzen 9 3950X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Aorus Ultra
GPU
Powercolor 5700XT Red Devil
RAM
TridentZ B-die @ 3733CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro
Hard Drive
Adata XPG SX8200 Pro
Optical Drive
BD-RE
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
Fractal Define R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
LG 27GL83A-B 27" Nano-IPS
Keyboard
Corsair K68 Cherry Reds
Mouse
Razer Deathadder
CPU
7700K Delid @5.1GHz @1.4V
Motherboard
Asus Z270F Strix
GPU
Asus RX480 Strix @ 1400MHz
RAM
Corsair Vengance PC3200 2x8GB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro
Hard Drive
2 x 3TB HDD
Optical Drive
LG BD-R
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
Fractal Define R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
Dell 27" 1080p
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder
▲ hide details ▲


briank is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-06-2020, 09:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rissie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 142
Rep: 11 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by briank View Post
Auto is 2133CL15 which is ultra conservative isn't it? I tried XMP and Memory Calc safe settings, still couldn't post. I'll go back and try it again.
Just put in the timings manually and set it at something conservative like 2666 or 3200 if your memory posts easily - CL is probably easier to post in even numbers, too. I've noticed from all the people posting in the main thread that some B-die really need memory timings set manually. The Hynix DJR just posts unless way out of spec - XMP or what not. So just get your memory out of the way of post issues. If you scrolled through the main thread, this was what was stopping someone from posting for ccx overclocks when I was helping him as well.

Make sure your VDimm is above 1.35v also. (Edit: just noticed that you have it set to 1.35V, but your settings don't seem to be saving with the readings on the right). Why is your BCLK so high? It should be 100 not 101.865 - that's probably causing your no post issues.

Last edited by rissie; 03-06-2020 at 09:51 PM.
rissie is online now  
post #5 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-06-2020, 10:08 PM - Thread Starter
Overclocking since 1998
 
briank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 877
Rep: 47 (Unique: 40)
Quote: Originally Posted by rissie View Post
Just put in the timings manually and set it at something conservative like 2666 or 3200 if your memory posts easily - CL is probably easier to post in even numbers, too. I've noticed from all the people posting in the main thread that some B-die really need memory timings set manually. The Hynix DJR just posts unless way out of spec - XMP or what not. So just get your memory out of the way of post issues. If you scrolled through the main thread, this was what was stopping someone from posting for ccx overclocks when I was helping him as well.

Make sure your VDimm is above 1.35v also. (Edit: just noticed that you have it set to 1.35V, but your settings don't seem to be saving with the readings on the right). Why is your BCLK so high? It should be 100 not 101.865 - that's probably causing your no post issues.
Gotta love Gigabyte BIOS right? Auto says it should 100MHz BCLK, but I didn't notice it was reporting 101.87MHz. I'll try manual. And the VDDR... I set it to 1.35V, how can it not be at there...

CPU
Ryzen 9 3950X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Aorus Ultra
GPU
Powercolor 5700XT Red Devil
RAM
TridentZ B-die @ 3733CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro
Hard Drive
Adata XPG SX8200 Pro
Optical Drive
BD-RE
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
Fractal Define R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
LG 27GL83A-B 27" Nano-IPS
Keyboard
Corsair K68 Cherry Reds
Mouse
Razer Deathadder
CPU
7700K Delid @5.1GHz @1.4V
Motherboard
Asus Z270F Strix
GPU
Asus RX480 Strix @ 1400MHz
RAM
Corsair Vengance PC3200 2x8GB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro
Hard Drive
2 x 3TB HDD
Optical Drive
LG BD-R
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
Fractal Define R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
Dell 27" 1080p
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder
▲ hide details ▲


briank is offline  
post #6 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-07-2020, 05:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Aquineas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 83
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by briank View Post
Gotta love Gigabyte BIOS right? Auto says it should 100MHz BCLK, but I didn't notice it was reporting 101.87MHz. I'll try manual. And the VDDR... I set it to 1.35V, how can it not be at there...
I'm coming from an Asrock bios, so I'm pleased as punch with Gigabyte's.
Aquineas is offline  
post #7 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-08-2020, 06:53 AM - Thread Starter
Overclocking since 1998
 
briank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 877
Rep: 47 (Unique: 40)
Still can't get anything to work here.

Yesterday I tried what I thought were very conservative settings. First I booted the machine at 3.6GHz all core with seemingly plenty of Vcore (1.225V under load). Ran benches fine. Booted up every time.
I also want to note, that my memory runs stable with 3733CL16-16-16... using just a PBO overclock.
So, with the 3.6GHz all-core, I manually entered the following memory settings (2666MHz CL16). Same problem, no post and I get the BIOS error message after if fails to boot (Train memory?).
What the heck am I doing wrong?

Next I'll try changing Vcore itself (not DVID offset) or just leaving it on auto..
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	200307141300.jpg
Views:	5
Size:	185.7 KB
ID:	331428  

Click image for larger version

Name:	200307141151.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	168.3 KB
ID:	331430  

Click image for larger version

Name:	200307141145.jpg
Views:	3
Size:	159.8 KB
ID:	331432  

Click image for larger version

Name:	200307141131.jpg
Views:	2
Size:	162.8 KB
ID:	331434  


CPU
Ryzen 9 3950X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Aorus Ultra
GPU
Powercolor 5700XT Red Devil
RAM
TridentZ B-die @ 3733CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro
Hard Drive
Adata XPG SX8200 Pro
Optical Drive
BD-RE
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
Fractal Define R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
LG 27GL83A-B 27" Nano-IPS
Keyboard
Corsair K68 Cherry Reds
Mouse
Razer Deathadder
CPU
7700K Delid @5.1GHz @1.4V
Motherboard
Asus Z270F Strix
GPU
Asus RX480 Strix @ 1400MHz
RAM
Corsair Vengance PC3200 2x8GB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro
Hard Drive
2 x 3TB HDD
Optical Drive
LG BD-R
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
Fractal Define R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
Dell 27" 1080p
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder
▲ hide details ▲


briank is offline  
post #8 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-08-2020, 07:40 AM - Thread Starter
Overclocking since 1998
 
briank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 877
Rep: 47 (Unique: 40)
Major Breakthrough!

Ok, I finally figured it out. If I make any change to memory settings, when doing an all-core OC, the first boot attempt always fails. After failing if I simply enter BIOS, which has retained my settings (a complete BIOS reset has not occurred), I just Save & Exit again and it boots the 2nd time.

I'm now running 4.4/4.4/4.25/4.25 with mem at 3200CL16 as I type this. Just wanted something easy, I'll push up the memory later. Just very excited to finally have a fix!

Has anyone else heard of this having to go through BIOS twice for settings to stick?

CPU
Ryzen 9 3950X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Aorus Ultra
GPU
Powercolor 5700XT Red Devil
RAM
TridentZ B-die @ 3733CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro
Hard Drive
Adata XPG SX8200 Pro
Optical Drive
BD-RE
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
Fractal Define R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
LG 27GL83A-B 27" Nano-IPS
Keyboard
Corsair K68 Cherry Reds
Mouse
Razer Deathadder
CPU
7700K Delid @5.1GHz @1.4V
Motherboard
Asus Z270F Strix
GPU
Asus RX480 Strix @ 1400MHz
RAM
Corsair Vengance PC3200 2x8GB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro
Hard Drive
2 x 3TB HDD
Optical Drive
LG BD-R
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
Fractal Define R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
Dell 27" 1080p
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder
▲ hide details ▲


briank is offline  
post #9 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-08-2020, 08:26 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rissie's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 142
Rep: 11 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by briank View Post
Ok, I finally figured it out. If I make any change to memory settings, when doing an all-core OC, the first boot attempt always fails. After failing if I simply enter BIOS, which has retained my settings (a complete BIOS reset has not occurred), I just Save & Exit again and it boots the 2nd time.

I'm now running 4.4/4.4/4.25/4.25 with mem at 3200CL16 as I type this. Just wanted something easy, I'll push up the memory later. Just very excited to finally have a fix!

Has anyone else heard of this having to go through BIOS twice for settings to stick?
It seems to be tied to memory. I don't have issues ever with the Trident Z Neos, but it appears some folks have problems getting the settings to stick with some memory.
rissie is online now  
post #10 of 15 (permalink) Old 03-08-2020, 09:01 AM - Thread Starter
Overclocking since 1998
 
briank's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 877
Rep: 47 (Unique: 40)
Quote: Originally Posted by rissie View Post
It seems to be tied to memory. I don't have issues ever with the Trident Z Neos, but it appears some folks have problems getting the settings to stick with some memory.
I have a set of 2x8GB Corsair 3200CL16-18-18-18 memory that I tried on this motherboard with the same results.

CPU
Ryzen 9 3950X
Motherboard
Gigabyte X570 Aorus Ultra
GPU
Powercolor 5700XT Red Devil
RAM
TridentZ B-die @ 3733CL16
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro
Hard Drive
Adata XPG SX8200 Pro
Optical Drive
BD-RE
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Titanium 750W
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
Fractal Define R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
LG 27GL83A-B 27" Nano-IPS
Keyboard
Corsair K68 Cherry Reds
Mouse
Razer Deathadder
CPU
7700K Delid @5.1GHz @1.4V
Motherboard
Asus Z270F Strix
GPU
Asus RX480 Strix @ 1400MHz
RAM
Corsair Vengance PC3200 2x8GB
Hard Drive
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Pro
Hard Drive
2 x 3TB HDD
Optical Drive
LG BD-R
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime 750W Titanium
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15
Case
Fractal Define R5
Operating System
Windows 10 Home
Monitor
Dell 27" 1080p
Mouse
Razer DeathAdder
▲ hide details ▲


briank is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off