Best RAM timings for this configuration? Anyone? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Best RAM timings for this configuration? Anyone?

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-31-2020, 03:10 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Best RAM timings for this configuration? Anyone?

Hey guys,

So I am having some problems with some BSOD's when using the X.M.P profile. BSOD is almost referring to system thread exception not handled and rarely kernel security check failure.
It happens mostly in gaming but even when using tasks such as Chrome, etc... sometimes just when I log in to Windows 10 PRO latest version.

My configuration is as follows:


Ryzen 3900x
MOBO (Gigabyte x570 Aorus Elite) latest BIOS F12f
4 identical modules of total 64gb of DDR4 Viper Steel 3200Mhz https://www.amazon.com/Patriot-Viper.../dp/B07N3TXFFX


Any new BIOS advice for the RAM timings that you want to share? Maybe some of you have the same configuration as I have?! Everything that could help maintain a stable speed of 3200mhz on the RAM, without BSODS, that would be awesome.


Cheers guys!
Allen.
AllenConstantin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-31-2020, 03:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
maestro0428's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Midwest USA
Posts: 431
Rep: 9 (Unique: 9)
Not sure if this helps, but my Intel based system had the same issues. Once I updated the bios, ram stability came back and I could use XMP. I see that you have the latest? Hopefully a new one will come down the pipe for your issue.

Join [email protected] and save lives!


maestro0428 is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-31-2020, 03:52 PM
Stock is too casual~
 
Veii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria / Bulgaria
Posts: 1,319
Rep: 81 (Unique: 47)
You'd want to share a thaiphoon burner readout first , because everything under 3600MT/s is a mixed bag what you get
Your main issue likely is bad voltages
Start with
CLDO_VDDP 900mV
CLDO_VDDG 950mV
vSOC 1.05v
procODT 32ohm or at best 28ohm if you can select
CAD_BUS 30-20-20-24

worked with an X570 Aorus Pro and can say, the dual bios is a nightmare without a board switch
Doublecheck first on which bios you are, not that it again jumped to another

SiSandra Inter-Core Bandwith 14nm Ryzen global #1 | Twitter
Personal Records
RAM > Viper Steel @ 3466C14 (64.2ns) & Alt | Hynix-MFR 3333CL14 (72.5ns) & Alt

GPU > Gigabyte 970 G1 @ 1595|1900 (Hynix) | RX 580 Red Devil GS @ 1620|2200 (Micron)
CPU > TR 1950X [email protected]1.2v & [email protected]1.365v[105Mhz FSB](3.23Beta)
#Main: 1700X [email protected]1.365v1.73Ghz IMC CL14 (64.2ns)」+ Dark Rock 3 | X370 Taichi 1.0.0.3 ABBA by The Stilt | Viper Steel [PVS416G400C9K]| Gigabyte 970 G1 | Samsung 850 Evo
Veii is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 03-31-2020, 11:41 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Thank you for your reply and your help!


Attached the Thaiphoon details.

https://files.fm/thumb_show.php?i=nn6jcrhr

Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.18363.752]
(c) 2019 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\allen>wmic bios get smbiosbiosversion
SMBIOSBIOSVersion
F12f


I'll try and enter what you said and see if that helps.
Attached Files
File Type: txt Patriot Memory 3200 C16 Series.txt (3.5 KB, 8 views)
AllenConstantin is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-01-2020, 12:45 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 19,816
Rep: 888 (Unique: 641)
Quote: Originally Posted by AllenConstantin View Post
Thank you for your reply and your help!


Attached the Thaiphoon details.

https://files.fm/thumb_show.php?i=nn6jcrhr

Microsoft Windows [Version 10.0.18363.752]
(c) 2019 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

C:\Users\allen>wmic bios get smbiosbiosversion
SMBIOSBIOSVersion
F12f


I'll try and enter what you said and see if that helps.
Try giving it a bit more juice. If stock is 1.35v, raise it to 1.36 or 1.37v when using XMP. Had to do this with both my Asus B350 and X470. With an MSI A320, it was all auto using XMP with three sets of RAM - B-die, C-die and some cheap unknown Maxsun brand.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-01-2020, 06:15 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Thanks, guys! I will try all these things out!

Strange that the Bios sees the voltage at 1.380v at the moment, although I have set it to 1.35... no more crashes till now... Will have to analyze more!

Last edited by AllenConstantin; 04-01-2020 at 06:46 AM.
AllenConstantin is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-01-2020, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 15
Rep: 0
Okay, so nothing helped till now!

I think I'm losing my nerves with this. Either, I am not setting something correct in the BIOS or I don't know what is happening.

It seems that whatever I do, I can't manually set the DRAM voltage at 1.35 stable because BIOS isn't letting me...

I tried resetting it, putting the timings manually from the DRAM calculator... nothing works... I still get BSODs while gaming or browsing.

This build is almost brand new...
AllenConstantin is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 04-04-2020, 03:11 PM
Stock is too casual~
 
Veii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria / Bulgaria
Posts: 1,319
Rep: 81 (Unique: 47)
Dual rank B0 PCB Spectek 25nm kits
Alright, this is gonna be another of these "Help me get my memory to work" ~ 100 post threads probably
@AllenConstantin sorry for the late replay - it was drowned by other threads and i didn't get any mention or ping

Are you up for some days of work to get them to run fine ?
Dual rank is annoying, Hynix is annoying, dual rank hynix is very annoying, dual rank spectec tops it off by annoyingness
The board just doesn't know what to predict for chinese spectec kits
But at least it's A0/B0 pcb and 25nm - probably exactly as annoying as HynixMFR 25nm
Which love voltage near 1.6-1.62v region
(not recommendable for people who don't know how CAD_BUS works)

Let's take HynixMFR timings as example for these
Hmm RTT values , this is hard ~ i don't know actually
CAD_BUS 60-20-20-24
procODT 53ohm
VDDP 900mV
VDDG 1050mV
VSOC 1.1v

start with this as preset
RTT values will probably be what causes boot issues but i don't know what to give you right now without testing
use GearDownMode and 1T
push 1.52v VDIMM on them and be sure you have active cooling (25nm won't have a problem)
On a case you can reverse the exhaust fan as intake soo it cools your vrms and your memory , and top as exhaust if front is intake too

SiSandra Inter-Core Bandwith 14nm Ryzen global #1 | Twitter
Personal Records
RAM > Viper Steel @ 3466C14 (64.2ns) & Alt | Hynix-MFR 3333CL14 (72.5ns) & Alt

GPU > Gigabyte 970 G1 @ 1595|1900 (Hynix) | RX 580 Red Devil GS @ 1620|2200 (Micron)
CPU > TR 1950X [email protected]1.2v & [email protected]1.365v[105Mhz FSB](3.23Beta)
#Main: 1700X [email protected]1.365v1.73Ghz IMC CL14 (64.2ns)」+ Dark Rock 3 | X370 Taichi 1.0.0.3 ABBA by The Stilt | Viper Steel [PVS416G400C9K]| Gigabyte 970 G1 | Samsung 850 Evo

Last edited by Veii; 04-04-2020 at 04:41 PM.
Veii is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off