Questions about X570 boards & Ram - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Questions about X570 boards & Ram

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-16-2020, 02:18 PM - Thread Starter
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,428
Rep: 93 (Unique: 69)
Questions about X570 boards & Ram

So this isn't published data anywhere by any of the board companies and all I can find is information from Buildzoid doing some in-depth examination of the different boards and I'm not for sure on his data. So I figured I would post this here and see if anyone out there has any first-hand experience with this configuration and can confirm yes-or-no that this works or not.

Question is this: Which X570 motherboards can 100% confirmed for sure run 4 sticks of ram and overclock all 4 sticks to 3600~3800 Mhz with Ryzen 3000 series processors?

I believe this relies on some motherboards to have T-topology memory trace configurations. If I'm understanding data right then Daisy-Chain memory trace motherboards can only overclock 2 sticks of ram stable. But there's no data published if a motherboard is Daisy or T-top. So.. hopefully someone out there has tried this configuration in an X570 board and can chime in with "Yes this works in motherboard X" for example.
kithylin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-16-2020, 04:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
newls1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Atlanta GA
Posts: 1,598
Rep: 39 (Unique: 29)
i ran 4 sticks of 16gb (64gb total) of DJR @ 3733 on the CH8 Hero board... hardly any tweaking needed.. it just worked

**Intel System** Asus Z390E Strix / 8700k @ 4.85Ghz / 32GB BDie @ 3200 CL14 / PowerColor 5700XT / eVGA 850w PSU / Sammy 960 EVO m.2 / MX500 250gb games SSD / 49" Samsung UltraWide 144Hz

**Games Only** Asus Maximus Formula XII / i9 10900k @ 5.2GHz / 32gb 4x8GB Patriot Viper DDR4 4400 @ 4000MTs / 2080Ti / Everything watercooled using Dual Loops and many 420mm rads


newls1 is offline  
post #3 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-16-2020, 05:43 PM - Thread Starter
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,428
Rep: 93 (Unique: 69)
Quote: Originally Posted by newls1 View Post
i ran 4 sticks of 16gb (64gb total) of DJR @ 3733 on the CH8 Hero board... hardly any tweaking needed.. it just worked
Thank you for confirming it on at least one motherboard. Is that the Aorus Master X570 board you're referring to?

I looked up memory QVL lists and Asrock claims the Taichi X570 supports ram up to 3800 Mhz on Matisse processors in 4-stick configurations via their QVL. My MSI X470 Gaming Plus motherboard claims it can do 4-sticks @ 3600 with Matisse chips via the QVL.

It would be nice to know if 100% for sure it would work before spending money on ram though..... Has anyone tried this in either of these two boards to confirm it?
kithylin is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-16-2020, 06:27 PM
on Overclock.net
 
PolRoger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 671
Rep: 66 (Unique: 55)
I have two X570 motherboards and a couple of older generation AM4 boards. I've been able to run at 3600MHz/3733MHz as well as 3800MHz 1:1 UCLK/FCLK with (single-sided) Samsung B-die kits: 4x16GB.

I found both 3600MHz and 3733MHz speeds to be easier to dial in on my boards (@full bank) vs. 3800MHz.

I've also seen other people posting screen shots of X570 boards running with 4 DIMMs populated.

My guess... Is that 4x16GB sticks (1 rank) will/would be easier to run vs. 4x16GB sticks (2 rank)?? Also note that some Ryzen 3000 series chips don't like to run at 3800MHz 1:1.

Edit: Here is a link to a spread sheet that shows memory trace layout design for motherboards. It is not 100% accurate... X570 Taichi and Phantom Gaming X are both actually Daisy Chain (The Taichi is listed as T-Topology).

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...fvid=380807963

Currently running Ryzen 9 on (X570) ASUS Crosshair XVIII Hero (Wi-Fi) & ASRock Taichi with GSKILL Flare X (B-die).
Testing Bench
(2 items)
CPU
Ryzen, Kaby Lake, Skylake, Haswell, IB-E and Vishera
Case
On a Dimastech open Bench Table
▲ hide details ▲



Last edited by PolRoger; 04-16-2020 at 06:35 PM.
PolRoger is offline  
post #5 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-16-2020, 06:43 PM - Thread Starter
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,428
Rep: 93 (Unique: 69)
Thanks for the comments there folks. If you're wondering why I'm asking then this is why: https://www.newegg.com/patriot-16gb-...82E16820225144 Only $129.99 per set.

I've spoken to someone on steam today that told me about this ram set here and claims it will do 3800 @ 14-14-14 with a 3900X, and 3600 @ 12-12-12 with a 3700X, both options with only 1.50v. And I'm getting the government stimulus thing soon (didn't get mine yet) and I was considering grabbing two sets of these and a 3700X. I was just trying to make sure they could probably work first. And looks like it should work fine in either my current X470 board or a X570 board if I wanted one of those.

Quote: Originally Posted by PolRoger View Post
Edit: Here is a link to a spread sheet that shows memory trace layout design for motherboards. It is not 100% accurate... X570 Taichi and Phantom Gaming X are both actually Daisy Chain (The Taichi is listed as T-Topology).

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets...fvid=380807963
Oops I just refeshed the page and saw your edit. Thank you for sharing this!

Last edited by kithylin; 04-16-2020 at 06:58 PM.
kithylin is offline  
post #6 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-16-2020, 07:05 PM
on Overclock.net
 
PolRoger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 671
Rep: 66 (Unique: 55)
Those are most likely B-die... I'm not sure of the pcb layout for those kits... 8 or 10 layers? A0 or A1/A2?

I would think that two kits would run 4 DIMMs on X470/X570. Don't know about the 14-14-14 or the 12-12-12 @ 1.50v DRAM part?

Much depends on the quality of the B-die binning by the manufacturer... B-die IC quality can vary quite a bit.

What X470 board are you running? I can also run @3800C16 1:1 (4x16GB) with my ASUS Crosshair XVII Hero (WiFi).

Currently running Ryzen 9 on (X570) ASUS Crosshair XVIII Hero (Wi-Fi) & ASRock Taichi with GSKILL Flare X (B-die).
Testing Bench
(2 items)
CPU
Ryzen, Kaby Lake, Skylake, Haswell, IB-E and Vishera
Case
On a Dimastech open Bench Table
▲ hide details ▲


PolRoger is offline  
post #7 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-16-2020, 07:17 PM
on Overclock.net
 
PolRoger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 671
Rep: 66 (Unique: 55)
These two kits at your local Micro Center are also B-die.

https://www.microcenter.com/product/...-16gtz---black

https://www.microcenter.com/product/...-16gfx---black

If you want to run/bench "fast and tight" with B-die... 2x8GB works better than 4x8GB.

That open box 3600C15 kit might be a good value option.

Currently running Ryzen 9 on (X570) ASUS Crosshair XVIII Hero (Wi-Fi) & ASRock Taichi with GSKILL Flare X (B-die).
Testing Bench
(2 items)
CPU
Ryzen, Kaby Lake, Skylake, Haswell, IB-E and Vishera
Case
On a Dimastech open Bench Table
▲ hide details ▲


PolRoger is offline  
post #8 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-16-2020, 07:29 PM - Thread Starter
Like a fox!
 
kithylin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Dallas, Texas, USA
Posts: 2,428
Rep: 93 (Unique: 69)
Quote: Originally Posted by PolRoger View Post
These two kits at your local Micro Center are also B-die.

https://www.microcenter.com/product/...-16gtz---black

https://www.microcenter.com/product/...-16gfx---black

If you want to run/bench "fast and tight" with B-die... 2x8GB works better than 4x8GB.

That open box 3600C15 kit might be a good value option.
Thanks but I'm looking more towards the future. 3600~3800 now with a 3000 series chip and with this other kit I linked above I could (probably) go up to 4400 XMP with a Ryzen 4000 series chip later. I rather not get something and be "limited" to only 3600 or 3200 in the future.

I said what board I have up above, Right now it's MSI X470 Gaming Plus. Which I know is a bargin-bin / low tier X470 board but eh. We'll see. I think I'll try the ram in it first and see what it can do. If it doesn't work out I'll replace it with a X570 board.
kithylin is offline  
post #9 of 11 (permalink) Old 04-16-2020, 09:44 PM
on Overclock.net
 
PolRoger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 671
Rep: 66 (Unique: 55)
Quote: Originally Posted by kithylin View Post
Thanks but I'm looking more towards the future. 3600~3800 now with a 3000 series chip and with this other kit I linked above I could (probably) go up to 4400 XMP with a Ryzen 4000 series chip later. I rather not get something and be "limited" to only 3600 or 3200 in the future.
Hard to know what kind of FCLK improvement the upcoming Ryzen 4000 series is going to bring?

Ryzen 3000 is maxed at ~1900MHz... Maybe they will get up to 2000MHz(+)… You're going to need 2200MHz FCLK to run 4400 XMP 1:1.

I have a kit of Crucial Ballistix 3600C16 (Micron E-die) 2x16GB that will boot/run 4133C19 UCLK/FCLK uncoupled right now ~1.36v DRAM but performance is still generally better for Ryzen when running @1:1.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Crucial Ballstix 4133C19.PNG
Views:	10
Size:	78.9 KB
ID:	339482  


Currently running Ryzen 9 on (X570) ASUS Crosshair XVIII Hero (Wi-Fi) & ASRock Taichi with GSKILL Flare X (B-die).
Testing Bench
(2 items)
CPU
Ryzen, Kaby Lake, Skylake, Haswell, IB-E and Vishera
Case
On a Dimastech open Bench Table
▲ hide details ▲


PolRoger is offline  
post #10 of 11 (permalink) Old 05-12-2020, 01:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
holdyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2020
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
MSi x570 ace memory clocking help

I just put together a MSI MEG x570 ACE with a pair of Corsair Vengence LPX 4600mhz. Is there something about the msi boards that prevent volatages over 1.5? Because every time I try to even get this memeory up to speed the clocking fails, tremendously. so far I cant get anything more than 2304mhz. Ive read stacks of articles on these stick all saying out of the box 4300 easy. But no matter what I do I cant get above half? Any help would be useful, and since Im sure Im messing this up somewhere, DRAM for dummies type of explaination would help my migraine. honestly I'd even roll the dice with an imported profile at this point.

MSI MEG x570 ACE
Ryzen 3700x
2x8 Corsair Vengence LPX 4600mhz CMK16GX4M2K4600C19
holdyn is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off