Asus M5A99X EVO with FX 8150 in trouble - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Asus M5A99X EVO with FX 8150 in trouble

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-01-2020, 12:53 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
Asus M5A99X EVO with FX 8150 in trouble

Hi there!


After my wife asked me several times to upgrade her PC from Win7 to Win10 I managed to do it this week. The PC was running fine for about 7 years now with Win7 and never had any trouble. She will use it for web, mail and office, therefore it's still fast enough. However, after I have installed Win10 and drivers I have installed the same AV software which was running on Win7 and it crashed immediately, no matter how many times I have repeated the installation process.Then I started to use hwinfo, cinebench and prime95 to check if I can see any trouble and found it after only a few minutes.


The windows power settings are set to high performance, the CPU should run between 3.6 and 4.2 GHz with default BIOS settings. If the PC has just been turned on everything is fine during 1 or 2 CB runs. Hwinfo was running all the time and after 3-4 runs the frequency will drop to 1.4 GHz on all cores for a few seconds before it changes back to 3.6 GHz. This will happen again and again. Then I tried to set everything manually in the BIOS by disabling all power limitations, turbo, CnQ, set the core voltage to 1.45v at 4.2 GHz on all cores and LLC to very high (otherwise it drop to much). Same result in Windows, frequency drop to 1.4 GHz. After a few tests I managed to keep it stable at 4.2 GHz with a voltage of 1.375v for about 10 CB runs. This should be fine for the suggested usage of this PC, but I still don't know the reason why this will happen? What is broken? The PC never was OC before and stable all the time.


Any idea?
Amiga500 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-01-2020, 01:20 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 92
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
Heat..... Clean inside need to be done problebly

Skickat från min SM-G973F via Tapatalk
Mullcom is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-01-2020, 01:53 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Goes back to windows 7. I use windows 7 with a Ryzen 3950X and works fine.
Windows 10 is too invasive and unstable, since new updates introduces more bugs.
If you feel worried about security flaws and virus, buy a decent anti virus and anti malware.
zhadoom is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-01-2020, 02:39 PM
Overclocking Enthusiast
 
ozlay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 5,810
Rep: 288 (Unique: 227)
What do your temps look like?

Rikka
(9 items)
CPU
Intel I5-7600k
Motherboard
Asrock Z270M Extreme 4
GPU
Titan X
RAM
Gskill Royal
Hard Drive
970 Evo
Hard Drive
Optane 900p
Power Supply
Seasonic Prime Snow
Case
enthoo evolv matx tempered glass
Operating System
windows 10 pro
▲ hide details ▲


ozlay is online now  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-02-2020, 11:53 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Mullcom View Post
Heat..... Clean inside need to be done problebly

Skickat från min SM-G973F via Tapatalk

Sorry, forgot to tell that I have cleaned it before installing Win10. Nut much dust inside due to good case filters. But could it be possible that the thermal paste for the power stages is to old and they are overheating?
Amiga500 is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-02-2020, 11:54 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by zhadoom View Post
Goes back to windows 7. I use windows 7 with a Ryzen 3950X and works fine.
Windows 10 is too invasive and unstable, since new updates introduces more bugs.
If you feel worried about security flaws and virus, buy a decent anti virus and anti malware.

Honestly that is no option as I have Win10 for years now and my wife forced me to install Win10
Amiga500 is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-02-2020, 11:59 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by ozlay View Post
What do your temps look like?

It failed today running prime95 (non AVX) after 10 Minutes (same 1.4 GHz trouble). Even if I decrease the voltage till it will crash. CPU Temps never exceeded 65°C, power stage and chipset temps not shown in hwinfo. CPU cooler is a dark rock 4 (upgraded from stock cooler about 2 years ago) and the case has 4x 120mm and 1x 140mm fan.
Amiga500 is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-03-2020, 11:41 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
OK, after further testings I changed the rear fan from in to out into from out to in to get a better airflow over the power stage cooler. After this it kept stable for about 18 minutes instead of only 10 Minutes.


Then I have tired 3.60GHz, LLC very high, power limits fixed to 100% and lower voltage which was stable from 1.275v to 1.250v. As 1.275v seems to be the maximum the board can hanlde with LLC set to very high I have prime95 tested the max frequency and found it stable for 2 hours with 1.275v at 4.20 GHz on all cores. Higher freqency will crash Windows immediately.


This is absolutely fine for the suggested usage of this PC.
Amiga500 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-05-2020, 05:05 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Mult1C0r3CPU's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Posts: 4
Rep: 0
My question is, do you have the latest bios installed? This motherboard can handle much higher clockspeeds and voltages than the current ones, it seems strange that your pc is behaving that way. When you were on windows 7, did you have these kind of issues regarding to the clockspeeds, or they appeared after switching to windows 10? Have you done a cmos reset and checked if the cpu needs thermal paste replacement? These are some minor tweaks that might help, although im not sure if you have checked these. In addition, it would be very helpful to tell us the other parts that your pc is currently having, so that we can see exactly which might be the issue that your computer is acting that way.

Last edited by Mult1C0r3CPU; 05-05-2020 at 06:23 AM.
Mult1C0r3CPU is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 05-11-2020, 08:15 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Posts: 13
Rep: 0
Bios 1708 is installed for years now. As there was no trouble at all while using Windows 7 and the PC never was used for gaming or rendering, I never checked the clock speeds. No Cmos reset was done so far and the CPU temperatures are low for a FX-8150 with 4.20 GHz I guess. Therefore I can't imagine that the thermal paste of the CPU need to be replaced but I will give it a try. I will also replace all the thermal paste of the heat pipe chipset cooler. Detailed specs will follow.
Amiga500 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off