PPT arbitrarily limited in Windows - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

PPT arbitrarily limited in Windows

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 26 (permalink) Old 06-19-2020, 12:56 AM - Thread Starter
Old crazy guy
 
ManniX-ITA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 902
Rep: 21 (Unique: 14)
PPT arbitrarily limited in Windows

I have this weird issue that I've seen reported a few times in the past; PPT limited to an arbitrary value.
Doesn't go above 112W on my 3800x. SMU doesn't go above 116W.
I don't know since when it happened but it's pretty recent.

Maybe from the last chipset drivers update?
Tried uninstalling and reinstalling with no luck.

It's only specific to my main Windows install.
Doesn't matter the BIOS version.
I have another Windows install booting from a USB stick to test and benchmark and it's not having this issue.

Pandorum
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3800x
Motherboard
GigaByte X570 AORUS Master
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Armor OC
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 F4-3600C16-GTZNC 16-18-19-32-48-1T
Hard Drive
Samsung M.2 970 PRO 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1300 G2
Cooling
beQuiet Dark Rock Pro 4
Case
Corsair 750D Airflow
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VG248 144MHz
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed
▲ hide details ▲
ManniX-ITA is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 26 (permalink) Old 06-19-2020, 01:58 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 169
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
I was needed to search a bit to get more info that this is.

Finding this explanation.

Your CPU’s boost clock behavior is determined by a number of factors. EDC, PPT, and TDC. They are electrical design current, power package tracking, and thermal design current. One additional factor is CPU temperature. If you hit the limits, it will drop the clocks to a lower range to reduce not just temperatures, but in order to keep EDC, PPT and TDC within a certain operational range. It is important to note that the

EDC, PPT and TDC values
are set by AMD at the factory for these CPUs. 


There are precision boost 2 values and PBO values. The latter is set by the motherboard or the user and are obviously more generous and allow the CPU to reach higher clocks conditions permitting.

Skickat från min SM-G973F via Tapatalk
Mullcom is offline  
post #3 of 26 (permalink) Old 06-19-2020, 02:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 1,284
Rep: 54 (Unique: 42)
What kind of load are you trying to use? I've noted less usage in general as of a month back or such but can get it back up depending on what stuff I run, but it mostly seems limited to temperature hitting the limits restricting more power draw.

I assume you use the PB & PBO and eventually EDC bug? Not manual OC, would be utter weirdness if the restriction is related to Manual OC.

Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME, Ryzen 7 3800X PBO boost, 2x8GB 4866/1900 18.27.24.48.90.tRFC 680 1T 1.650V [Micron Rev.J]
4x8GB 3800/1900 13.23.17.30.66.tRFC 600 1T 1.700V Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V (Micron Rev.E 19nm [D9VPP]),
2x8GB Kingston HX436C17FB3K2/16 3600C17 1.35V (Micron Rev.J 17nm),
2x8GB 3866/1933 15.21.20.32.60.tRFC 448 1T 1.590V Kingston HX436C17FB3K2/16 3600C17 1.35V (Hynix DJR 17nm)
Nighthog is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 26 (permalink) Old 06-19-2020, 02:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 169
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
About OB2 and temps. A value of temp is 68c
To let you go higher this temp need to be under 68c. If I now understand it right.


"On AMD’s website specifications for some of its processors, the max temp rating is 68c. This value isn’t shown for all of its CPU’s either. but I think this actually applies to all Ryzen CPUs. I say that for a couple of reasons. I don’t think it’s a maximum temperature rating, but rather a specific target temperature under PB2 which would make sense."

Skickat från min SM-G973F via Tapatalk
Mullcom is offline  
post #5 of 26 (permalink) Old 06-19-2020, 02:48 AM - Thread Starter
Old crazy guy
 
ManniX-ITA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 902
Rep: 21 (Unique: 14)
PBO EDC bug of course!

I'm using Prime95 Large FFTs to test.
Under USB stick Windows 133W PPT, Limits to 99/99/9000%
Under main Windows 112W PPT, Limits to 80/70/6000%

Ryzen Master shows the correct limits applied.
It just can't go over 80% of the configured PPT value...

Pandorum
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3800x
Motherboard
GigaByte X570 AORUS Master
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Armor OC
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 F4-3600C16-GTZNC 16-18-19-32-48-1T
Hard Drive
Samsung M.2 970 PRO 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1300 G2
Cooling
beQuiet Dark Rock Pro 4
Case
Corsair 750D Airflow
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VG248 144MHz
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed
▲ hide details ▲
ManniX-ITA is online now  
post #6 of 26 (permalink) Old 06-19-2020, 03:38 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 169
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by ManniX-ITA View Post
PBO EDC bug of course!



I'm using Prime95 Large FFTs to test.

Under USB stick Windows 133W PPT, Limits to 99/99/9000%

Under main Windows 112W PPT, Limits to 80/70/6000%



Ryzen Master shows the correct limits applied.

It just can't go over 80% of the configured PPT value...
So this is some sort of windows setting "software issue"?

Some sort of settings are different between this windows or one have update that the other don't have. ?

Skickat från min SM-G973F via Tapatalk
Mullcom is offline  
post #7 of 26 (permalink) Old 06-19-2020, 04:02 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 169
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Check this out.

https://community.amd.com/thread/236247

Skickat från min SM-G973F via Tapatalk
Mullcom is offline  
post #8 of 26 (permalink) Old 06-19-2020, 04:13 AM - Thread Starter
Old crazy guy
 
ManniX-ITA's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Germany
Posts: 902
Rep: 21 (Unique: 14)
Quote: Originally Posted by Mullcom View Post
So this is some sort of windows setting "software issue"?

Some sort of settings are different between this windows or one have update that the other don't have. ?

Skickat från min SM-G973F via Tapatalk
Quote: Originally Posted by Mullcom View Post
Check this out.

https://community.amd.com/thread/236247

Skickat från min SM-G973F via Tapatalk
Thanks for helping out

Yes seems it's a software issue of some sort.
Both installs have same updates and are almost identical drivers wise.
Of course the main install is running a whole lot of stuff on top.
But till now never had a similar issue.

I've recently modded the power scheme to lower the idle temps but it shouldn't be related; the changes are done on specific profiles.
I'm also running ProcessLasso, which is doing much more then Coreprio, which is switching to the Ultimate profile automatically.
Tried to stop the engine and shut it down and doesn't change anything.

I've also reinstalled Ryzen Master, applied a PBO profile, tested with it and still limited.
Removed the profile, did again all the settings in AMD CBS (RM wipes your settings there when you use it) and still limited...

Pandorum
(12 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3800x
Motherboard
GigaByte X570 AORUS Master
GPU
MSI GTX 1070 Armor OC
RAM
G.Skill DDR4 F4-3600C16-GTZNC 16-18-19-32-48-1T
Hard Drive
Samsung M.2 970 PRO 1TB
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova 1300 G2
Cooling
beQuiet Dark Rock Pro 4
Case
Corsair 750D Airflow
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
Asus VG248 144MHz
Keyboard
Logitech G15
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed
▲ hide details ▲
ManniX-ITA is online now  
post #9 of 26 (permalink) Old 06-19-2020, 04:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 169
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Have you try to boot I. Failsafe mode and see if it reacts the same?

This way you can find out more if there are related to software or hardware.

Use run and type msconfig .. but that you already know

Skickat från min SM-G973F via Tapatalk
Mullcom is offline  
post #10 of 26 (permalink) Old 06-19-2020, 05:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Posts: 169
Rep: 3 (Unique: 3)
Quote: Originally Posted by Mullcom View Post
Have you try to boot I. Failsafe mode and see if it reacts the same?

This way you can find out more if there are related to software or hardware.

Use run and type msconfig .. but that you already know

Skickat från min SM-G973F via Tapatalk
Sorry for the last dummy tip. Forget that you booted from USB stick. But it may help to minimize the drivers and other software or windows it self. If failsafe work like USB installed windows. Then you know it may be a driver or 3d party app that are causing this.

Skickat från min SM-G973F via Tapatalk
Mullcom is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off