MEMORY for ROG Strix X570-E Gaming - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

MEMORY for ROG Strix X570-E Gaming

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-09-2020, 06:11 AM - Thread Starter
Loosing Vision
 
BinaryBummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: 192.168.0.0
Posts: 1,851
Rep: 66 (Unique: 65)
Quote: Originally Posted by xeizo View Post
Yes, not all but many 3700X do 3800MHz. In the end it's a lottery. Most do 3733MHz and AFAIK all does 3600MHz.

If you can't push the frequency further, you can push for lower timings/subtimings instead to gain a similar performance uplift.

Why not run the memory at 4133MHz you may ask, that's because Ryzen can't sync the memory bus at that speed so the memory will run on a multiplier towards the bus(which will be lowered) and that reduces performance.

The highest Zen2 can run in sync is with 3800MHz memory, if you are lucky with the lottery.
I'll keep that in mind, I probably won't win the lottery as my luck goes. Over all I don't think the price of the ram was much higher to get the 4133, but I guess i can down clock it..

I ordered another Board yesterday, then I got email to other sales, turns out they have them in stock for less.. We ordered it paid to get it sooner so it is scheduled for this Monday 13th, So now i am trying to bbone up on what next...

Do I want the AMD Master over BIOS? And if so why yes or no?

I want to find posts of anything to this mobo to be ready. As long as it arrives and was built right I should be up and running and a few hours at most. I think I gonna use my AIO over the stock cooler to. I like the RGB but it isn't all necessary if temps equal better performance.

Cheers!

Last edited by BinaryBummer; 07-09-2020 at 06:18 AM.
BinaryBummer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-09-2020, 08:11 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
xeizo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 410
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
I say you will do better without Ryzen Master, use HWINFO64 for monitoring and ZenTimings for checking the memory timings. And do everything in bios, it is probably the safest way to set everything up.

Main rig(of five)
(10 items)
CPU
Ryzen R9 3900X
Motherboard
Asus X470 Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
MSI RTX2070 Super Gaming
RAM
G.Skill Trident Z RGB
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 Evo Plus
Power Supply
Corsair RM850x
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15 Chromax.black
Case
NZXT H700 Black
Operating System
Windows 10 2004 Pro
Audio
Motu M2
▲ hide details ▲
xeizo is offline  
post #23 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-15-2020, 10:26 AM - Thread Starter
Loosing Vision
 
BinaryBummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: 192.168.0.0
Posts: 1,851
Rep: 66 (Unique: 65)
Quote: Originally Posted by xeizo View Post
I say you will do better without Ryzen Master, use HWINFO64 for monitoring and ZenTimings for checking the memory timings. And do everything in bios, it is probably the safest way to set everything up.
Got my Mobo yesterday, to the longest to switch out on this one. Decided to use Wraith Cooler for now before trying to use the AIO.

So, got it all in, cables all rerouted, wires hooked up and first boot failed, no screen at all..

So the Q-code kept posting me with the 0d (API system reserve yada yada).. Worked on in a number of times reseating the ram checking cables and still 0d code.

That said led me to trying one stick of ram.. Worked! put the other back, 0d code.. So in short I have a faulty memory stick.

So I ordered another kit of the same so I can get this up sooner. As of now it is running on 8gb stick and so far no BSOD or other..

Now if I can get them to fix my internet speed.. 950/50 and I got like 27/256k before posting this.
BinaryBummer is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-17-2020, 06:28 PM - Thread Starter
Loosing Vision
 
BinaryBummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: 192.168.0.0
Posts: 1,851
Rep: 66 (Unique: 65)
BinaryBummer is offline  
post #25 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-18-2020, 01:47 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ang1dust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 81
Rep: 0
I just got my STRIX X570
Running the 7 3700X
32GB Trident Z ( die-c ) on the AMD and ASUS QVL
Asus Nvidia 1060 6GB

Trying to see if there are any bios setting setups? I am running 2407 bios Rev, i dont see the issues many say they have with it.

My concern is every so often i get some freezing with a certain task. Like, ill run a video, be in a Teams meeting and have a medium strenuous game going in the background (MTGA for example) and ill get a single item to delay 1-3 seconds. Just trying to fine tune things so its nice and smooth.

Thanks in advance
ang1dust is offline  
post #26 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-18-2020, 04:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 18,133
Rep: 963 (Unique: 708)
check your event log for for system and apps i was having some wierd issues like that it was my memory overclock not being stable.


Midnight Madness
(17 items)
CPU
AMD RYZEN 9 3900X
Motherboard
ASUS AMD AM4 ROG Strix X570-E
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW Hydro Copper
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 850 500
Power Supply
SeaSonic M12D SS-850 850W
Cooling
EK-SBAY Dual DDC 3.2 PWM Serial
Cooling
Alphacool NexXxoS ST30 Full Copper Radiator 360
Cooling
Hardware Labs Black Ice SR2 Multiport Black Carbon Radiator - 360mm
Cooling
EKWB EK-Velocity Strike CPU
Cooling
EK-CoolStream RAD XTC 420
Case
Thermaltake core x71
Operating System
Windows 10 Pro
Monitor
ASUS VW246H Black 24" 2ms
Keyboard
Rosewill NEON K75 V2 BR
Mouse
CM Storm Sentinel Advance II
Audio
Corsair Void
▲ hide details ▲


Bal3Wolf is offline  
post #27 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-19-2020, 01:29 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ang1dust's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 81
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Bal3Wolf View Post
check your event log for for system and apps i was having some wierd issues like that it was my memory overclock not being stable.
Good idea, i know that with the first sticks of ram (Die - D; on Asus QVL but not AMD QVL) i would loose Wifi randomly. There is a post online saying it was coming from the LSO Was triggered. I got a different set of memory (Die - C) thats on both Asus and AMD QVL and it no longer disconnects. However, i still see the LSO Triggered in the events. Ill monitor it whenever it happens and see if i can pinpoint the issue.
ang1dust is offline  
post #28 of 28 (permalink) Old 07-19-2020, 07:52 PM - Thread Starter
Loosing Vision
 
BinaryBummer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: 192.168.0.0
Posts: 1,851
Rep: 66 (Unique: 65)
I still having issues in some settings.. For that matter I trying to better understand setting the CPU and figuring out the Dram Calc and all that..

Finally got my new memory in and both sticks work this go.

I still got to get my specs posted... just been busy..
BinaryBummer is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off