Abit NF7-s V2.0 reads ddr400 ram as ddr333, Help please. - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Abit NF7-s V2.0 reads ddr400 ram as ddr333, Help please.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-11-2005, 10:35 AM - Thread Starter
 
turrens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 112
Well the title says it all. I purchased a new mobo the Abit NF7-S V2.0, I am running an amd xp 3000+ in it with Ultra 1gb pc3200 ram, On startup it labels my memory frequency at ddr333 instead of ddr400 I am out of ideas and would apreciate any help.
turrens is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-11-2005, 10:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Delta Quadrant
Posts: 3,844
Rep: 387
Should be a spot in the bios that lets you select ram, "by spd", ddr266, ddr333, ddr400

Thats how it is in mine anyways. Might be something similiar in your bios.

Great spirits have always encountered violent opposition from mediocre minds.

If you ask a question you don't want an answer to, Expect an answer you don't want to hear.
lonnie5000 is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-11-2005, 10:41 AM
Retired Staff
 
Xavier1421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: FL
Posts: 9,589
Rep: 806
Unless you have one of the rare 400 bus XP3000's...your ram will automatically default to the CPU fsb.

Is your stock FSB on that CPU 166?


***EDIT

And Welcome to the forums!

post-flame-small.gif Retirement isn't all it's cracked up to be post-flame-small.gif


Xavier1421 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-11-2005, 11:02 AM - Thread Starter
 
turrens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 112
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xavier1421
Unless you have one of the rare 400 bus XP3000's...your ram will automatically default to the CPU fsb.

Is your stock FSB on that CPU 166?


***EDIT

And Welcome to the forums!
Well thank you.

Actually it is a 166 stock speed, DAmnit.... I bought the procccessor several years ago and was told it was a 200mhz, never knew how to check until recently...

ok well I also have a mobile 2500+ that I am planning on ocing. So should i just try to oc the proc to get my ram to get to the right speed?
turrens is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-11-2005, 11:04 AM
Administrator
 
The_Manual's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Chester, United Kingdom
Posts: 6,696
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrens
Well thank you.

Actually it is a 166 stock speed, DAmnit.... I bought the procccessor several years ago and was told it was a 200mhz, never knew how to check until recently...

ok well I also have a mobile 2500+ that I am planning on ocing. So should i just try to oc the proc to get my ram to get to the right speed?
As Xavier has run off (aka gone offline) I will answer your question for you

I would try and get your 2500+ mobile to run faster.
You would have to get the FSB to 200MHz from its default so your RAM could run at PC3200 speeds (200 x 2 = 400). Increasing the FSB will obviously increase the speed of the CPU. The higher the FSB the more bandwith you will get which will give you a nice performance increase.

Make sure that your temps stay below 55C to prevent any damage to the CPU.

Edit: As soon as Xavier comes on he will expand this answer (as he usually does )



The_Manual is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-11-2005, 11:09 AM
Retired Staff
 
Xavier1421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: FL
Posts: 9,589
Rep: 806
I have nothing more to add to teh_manual's answer

Xavier = pwned



That is unless Turrens has more questions.

post-flame-small.gif Retirement isn't all it's cracked up to be post-flame-small.gif


Xavier1421 is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-11-2005, 11:12 AM
Retired Staff
 
adas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 5,607
Rep: 595
dont worry man, that chip will overclock great. I have a XP 3000 333mhz bus that did 2.45ghz easily...with you new mobo and ram being able to go to 200mhz bus you should get some great overclocks


but the guys are right, with the 333mhz bus, your ram defaults at ddr333.

my crap needs an update laughingsmiley.gif

adas is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-11-2005, 11:33 AM - Thread Starter
 
turrens's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 112
Thanks for all the help, I have been lurking in th rafters for a while now and finally had a question I couldn't answer on my own. So You think the mobile 2500+ is probably going to end up with better performance? I am going to try both, so I guess I am just curious as to your opinions.
turrens is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-11-2005, 11:35 AM
Retired Staff
 
Xavier1421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: FL
Posts: 9,589
Rep: 806
Its a tough question between the two processors.

The mobile will definitely get higher FSB though

post-flame-small.gif Retirement isn't all it's cracked up to be post-flame-small.gif


Xavier1421 is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 05-11-2005, 11:38 AM
Retired Staff
 
adas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 5,607
Rep: 595
I think its just something you should try with both. it depends how good of chips you got, maybe you have a awesome mobile stepping that will do 2.7ghz, or maybe you got a great XP3000 chip like me and get maybe 2.6ghz....just try with both and benchmark em to see which is faster

my crap needs an update laughingsmiley.gif

adas is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off