[Official] ASUS M2N-SLI and M2N32-SLI Club! - Page 1238 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] ASUS M2N-SLI and M2N32-SLI Club!

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #12371 of 12375 (permalink) Old 02-04-2019, 01:34 PM
AMD OC'ing Enthusiast
mattliston has a spectacular aura about mattliston has a spectacular aura about mattliston has a spectacular aura about mattliston has a spectacular aura about mattliston has a spectacular aura about mattliston has a spectacular aura about mattliston has a spectacular aura about mattliston has a spectacular aura about mattliston has a spectacular aura about mattliston has a spectacular aura about mattliston has a spectacular aura about
 
mattliston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,414
I would go ahead and carefully replace the caps if you intend to keep using it once fixed.
mattliston is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12372 of 12375 (permalink) Old 02-05-2019, 06:05 AM
M2N Fan
Gyro is on a distinguished road Gyro is on a distinguished road Gyro is on a distinguished road Gyro is on a distinguished road
 
Gyro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: my own little world
Posts: 2,859
Quote: Originally Posted by mattliston View Post
I would go ahead and carefully replace the caps if you intend to keep using it once fixed.
Dito

Gyro


>>>ASUS M4N98TD EVO Club Member<<<




My other M2N's
M2N32-sli dlx-x2 [email protected] 460
M2N32-sli dlx-x3 720-4x1gbOCZ [email protected] 260
Gyro is offline  
post #12373 of 12375 (permalink) Old 02-05-2019, 04:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
gayLaser Level 1
 
gayLaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 21
Thanks guys, was hoping that was the answer since I enjoy this board ever since finding the forum here a few years ago.

Unfortunately, I was wrong about my PC working great with the new PSU, when I initially tested it fired right up and I turned off without waiting for post to continue working on cleaning/installing.

The M2n sli deluxe stays running but does not give any post beeps & has no video input to monitor.

While removing components to see if it'd post/beep; I discovered that the initial issue (pressing power button, PC starts spooling up but then turns off after 1-2sec) still exists but is rare. For example: with old psu it'd never start on first try and often take 10-30 attempts to start up and stay on. With new PSU usually starts first time and stays on, rarely I had to press power 1-3 times until it remained on.

Following has been done:

- Remove 1 component at time see if beeps. Removing everything 2x ram, GPU & sata cable didn't cause beeping, just stayed on with fans running/lights

- Replace CMOS battery with known good, put jumper pins 2 & 3 for 30sec then back to pin 1 & 2

- Did a brief inspection to see if any part of back side board was burnt or had cold/cracked solder joints, seemed good but will double check.

Does anyone happen to have any other ideas on what to check next? I have quite a bit of equipment (scope, meters) bit am new to electronics.

I will be researching meanwhile and will definitely update as I imagine more users may be finding problems popping up on this aging but great board.

Cheers fellas!

Mobo: m2n sli deluxe, 965 be
PSU: corsair cx650m (only using the included connectors)
GPU: hd 7850
ram: 2x 2gb ddr2
SSD


Last edited by gayLaser; 02-05-2019 at 04:18 PM.
gayLaser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12374 of 12375 (permalink) Old 02-05-2019, 10:31 PM
AMD OC'ing Enthusiast
mattliston has a spectacular aura about mattliston has a spectacular aura about mattliston has a spectacular aura about mattliston has a spectacular aura about mattliston has a spectacular aura about mattliston has a spectacular aura about mattliston has a spectacular aura about mattliston has a spectacular aura about mattliston has a spectacular aura about mattliston has a spectacular aura about mattliston has a spectacular aura about
 
mattliston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Posts: 2,414
I would keep trying a single stick of ram, and perhaps the second PCIE x16 slot, just to rule it out.


What is the 5volt rail amperage of your power supply? Should be okay if it is more than 10 amps, so that should be able to be ruled out.


Leave out any boot devices. keyboard, gpu, ram stick, and cpu should be bare bones successful if all is well.




I have had luck in past just unplugging power, and leaving board overnight to "breathe" away from being plugged in. Odd solution, but has helped me recover from strange overclocking results with this Deluxe board.


But that was back when I was pushing the dual core I first had past 3ghz. Was pretty tough to do on this board, as I was very green to OC'ing at the time.


This board was my first custom build!!
mattliston is offline  
post #12375 of 12375 (permalink) Old 02-11-2019, 10:35 PM
New to Overclock.net
gayLaser Level 1
 
gayLaser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 21
Tried the typical swapping things in/out once more to no avail.

The rest of this post may be boring, just a log of my testing, hopefully may be useful to someone in the future in some way.

I decided to make things more interesting and desoldered the 4 bulged capacitors. I also desoldered a 5th cap of the same type that was nearby.

All 5 of the desoldered caps are TK ATWY 820uF 6.3V.

To test these I will be using a cheap LCR (mega328.) Note that this isn't precision equipment & is for reference only.

Pics w/ captions:
https://imgur.com/a/wR4xBWT

Caps 1-4 fails, returns incomplete test data and measures at ~30 pF.

Cap 5 test doesnt fail and is rather close to spec.

In terms of replacements I'm sure that many choices would work but for this scenario I chose get into the datasheets with the goal of finding the closest replacement possible when it comes to impedance/ripple current. Probably overkill but good chance for me to practice using datasheets etc.

The closest component I could find was a Rubycon "AX" series 820uF, 10v. The Ruby AX has the same impedance of 0.036 and it's rated max ripple current is slightly higher at 1540 compared to the TK ATWY's 1140.

Maybe these failed caps aren't the cause of the board not posting, I don't know their role; if anyone knows what purpose they serve in these particular areas feel free to let me know!

I'll be replacing the 4 bad ones and see if it will post. They arrive in a few days, will update.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190211_233543.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	337.3 KB
ID:	253078  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20190212_002248.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	4.38 MB
ID:	253080  

Click image for larger version

Name:	20190211_231545.jpg
Views:	1
Size:	3.50 MB
ID:	253082  



Last edited by gayLaser; 02-11-2019 at 10:42 PM.
gayLaser is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off