New to Overclocking - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

New to Overclocking

post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-28-2004, 09:14 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net

Rep: 0
I'm new to OC. How do I OC a XP 2600+ with a MSI 6590 KT4 Ultra "FISR" Motherboard. Any help would be appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-28-2004, 09:38 PM
Retired Staff

Rep: 354 (Unique: 187)
Read my post here for the basics of overclocking. And google is your friend. Now your CPU is either a barton or a tbred B. If it's a barton your stock voltage is 1.65v. You can use WCPUID to find out what you have as well.

Now your board does not have the PCI bus locked. So you must be careful w/ your FSB. Your board has a 1/3, 1/4. and 1/5 PCI divider (at least I don't think there's a 1/6 divider at 200mhz and higher). From 100-132mhz FSB your divider will be set to 1/3; from 133-165mhz it will be set at 1/4; from 166+ your divider is 1/5. Now you do not want your PCI bus running above let's say 38-39 max. So so let's say you wanna try out 150mhz of FSB. 150mhz x (1/4) = 37.5mhz for the PCI bus. So you don't want to be "just" under one of the divider changing points. Calculate to make sure your not to high.

The main reason you don't want your PCI bus running to high is because your harddrive uses your PCI bus. When it's set too high, your HDD can become corrupted and you'll have the joy of reinstalling everything and possibly losing all your files depending on which partition the files are on, and what got corrupted. When I had an old KT266 mobo, this happened to me, I think I was at 41mhz on the PCI bus. Now I have an nforce2 chipset mobo, and the PCI bus stays at 33mhz no matter what! I dunno why VIA can't do the same thing!

Fold for the cure & team 37726!!
H2O cooling: Chevette heatercore, 172mm 258CFM fan, Apogee GT, and Ehiem 1250. Load temp @ 1.45vcore 41C.
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 03-28-2004, 10:42 PM
New to Overclock.net