[Official] Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5/UD7 Owners Thread/Club - Page 435 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

[Official] Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5/UD7 Owners Thread/Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4341 of 4347 (permalink) Old 04-12-2019, 09:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
BACKUP copy:
Attached Files
File Type: zip 89fxau52.zip (643.9 KB, 22 views)

Last edited by tesla77; 04-12-2019 at 10:04 AM.
tesla77 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4342 of 4347 (permalink) Old 04-12-2019, 10:00 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by podcats View Post
I scoured this thread today (because I have an old 890FXA-UD5 lying around that I figured I could get more life out of with an upgrade), and managed to find this post from ig0ru4 way back from 2011: https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-a...l#post15711750

For the sake of posterity, I've uploaded the file (89fxau52.f7e) to MEGA, which you can find here (hopefully it won't expire for some time): https://mega.nz/#!3CIUnKiT!VMavHYIh1...FI6F4N3RuvQZBc

I haven't tried the BIOS yet, since the board isn't with me right now, but I plan on trying it out in a few days. If it fries the board, then oh well; if not, yay for avoiding obsolescence!

Thanks to ig0ru4 for the original upload, and full credits go to Gigabyte obviously.

Hopefully this saves time for anyone else looking for this in the future! Cheers!
Appreciate your help!

Thanks a lot!
tesla77 is offline  
post #4343 of 4347 (permalink) Old 02-09-2020, 05:57 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Hi everyone

Can i use 2 sticks 8G DDR3 1600mhz to run dual channel in Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5 rev3.1 and upgrade CPU to FX-63xx or FX-83xx ?
And what is the maximum memory and highest frequency i can install on this mobo ?
thank you very much

Last edited by devilmaycry2020; 02-09-2020 at 08:56 AM.
devilmaycry2020 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4344 of 4347 (permalink) Old 02-12-2020, 09:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
GA-890FXA-UD5 v3.1

Yes, you can. They should work at 1600 MHz.
You can install as much as 32 GiB of memory and it will work at 1333 MHz:
https://www.amd.com/en/support/kb/faq/cpu-ddr3
Do not blindly trust rumours which claim that you should be able to overclock the memory, always test your setup using the Stressful Application Test:
https://github.com/stressapptest/stressapptest
You can download it and build it on probably any recent Linux distribution, many binary ones offer pre-built packages of the Stressful Application Test and there are even some live distributions that feature it.

I use 32 GiB of some low-profile Netlist-branded PC3-12800E memory with Hynix chips (I think that it is this one: NVD1G7235107H-D12THM), 4 sticks of 8 GiB each, with a fairly recent AMD FX-8370. Event though the BIOS automatically set the frequency to 1600 MHz, I found it necessary to lower it to 1333 MHz manually (by setting the multiplier to 6.66x, down from 8x), otherwise the Stressful Application Test would lock up my computer after a few minutes.
Thus, although it is a fairly recent CPU—one that was bundled with a Wraith cooler—it still does not support memory speeds beyond the original specification.

Besides, this motherboard tends to overvolt the CPU, or at least mine does (using BIOS version FEf). Try lowering the CPU core voltage to the base frequency VID, 1.325 V, while you are at it, and test it. The motherboard board sets it needlessly high.

Last edited by Antikapitalista; 02-12-2020 at 02:05 PM. Reason: the part number of the memory has been added
Antikapitalista is offline  
post #4345 of 4347 (permalink) Old 02-12-2020, 05:50 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Antikapitalista View Post
Yes, you can. They should work at 1600 MHz.
You can install as much as 32 GiB of memory and it will work at 1333 MHz:
https://www.amd.com/en/support/kb/faq/cpu-ddr3
Do not blindly trust rumours which claim that you should be able to overclock the memory, always test your setup using the Stressful Application Test:
https://github.com/stressapptest/stressapptest
You can download it and build it on probably any recent Linux distribution, many binary ones offer pre-built packages of the Stressful Application Test and there are even some live distributions that feature it.

I use 32 GiB of some low-profile Netlist-branded PC3-12800E memory with Hynix chips (I think that it is this one: NVD1G7235107H-D12THM), 4 sticks of 8 GiB each, with a fairly recent AMD FX-8370. Event though the BIOS automatically set the frequency to 1600 MHz, I found it necessary to lower it to 1333 MHz manually (by setting the multiplier to 6.66x, down from 8x), otherwise the Stressful Application Test would lock up my computer after a few minutes.
Thus, although it is a fairly recent CPU—one that was bundled with a Wraith cooler—it still does not support memory speeds beyond the original specification.

Besides, this motherboard tends to overvolt the CPU, or at least mine does (using BIOS version FEf). Try lowering the CPU core voltage to the base frequency VID, 1.325 V, while you are at it, and test it. The motherboard board sets it needlessly high.
I've found this https://www.overclock.net/forum/11-a...30776?page=401

Last edited by devilmaycry2020; 02-12-2020 at 05:58 PM.
devilmaycry2020 is offline  
post #4346 of 4347 (permalink) Old 02-15-2020, 04:13 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Hi everyone

Here is my pc specification i want to overlock it a bit but dont know how to adjust it correctly. someone can help. Thanks a lot
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	my_PC_info.jpg
Views:	7
Size:	651.8 KB
ID:	326810  

devilmaycry2020 is offline  
post #4347 of 4347 (permalink) Old 02-20-2020, 06:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 6
Rep: 0
AMD FX Processors Unleashed | a Guide to Performance Tuning with AMD OverDrive and the new AMD FX Processors

Since you already have Windows installed, I suggest that you start with reading the official guide to performance tuning from AMD:
https://web.archive.org/web/20180127...ning_Guide.pdf
Then you could search the Internet for other guides.
Antikapitalista is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off