[Official] Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5/UD7 Owners Thread/Club - Page 97 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

[Official] Gigabyte GA-890FXA-UD5/UD7 Owners Thread/Club

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #961 of 4341 (permalink) Old 07-21-2010, 11:44 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
moorhen2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Shanklin Isle of Wight. UK
Posts: 1,393
Rep: 49 (Unique: 36)
Quote:
Originally Posted by ryman546 View Post
I want to give it a shot. You just press f7 as soon as you turn it on? I cant find this anywhere in the manual.
It's not mentioned in the manual,it's a trade secret for some unknown reason,what readout are you getting on the post led's,mine would'nt go past C1,then just cycled all the time.???

Asus Z390 Maximus XI Extreme.
Asus Z390 Maximus XI Apex.
Asus Z390 Maximus XI Hero.
Intel I9 9900K.
Custom Watercooling.
moorhen2 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #962 of 4341 (permalink) Old 07-21-2010, 12:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ryman546's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Ocala, FL
Posts: 2,452
Rep: 77 (Unique: 61)
Quote:
Originally Posted by moorhen2 View Post
It's not mentioned in the manual,it's a trade secret for some unknown reason,what readout are you getting on the post led's,mine would'nt go past C1,then just cycled all the time.???
Same thing. So dual bios doesnt work then...i try tonight even so but this is FANTASTIC.

BC2: [TBAG]DaFrEaKaZoiD - aka Tank Jesus, Suicide Bomber, & Bringer of Semirhage's Obscenities.
SC2: Cold's personal T-Bagger
Quote:
Originally Posted by KombatKyle go_quote.gif
That would be problem-o #1. You guys won't believe the second... The protective plastic that comes on the cooler's copper plate was still on it. Its a piece of thick plastic with the words "WARNING, PEEL THIS OFF BEFORE INSTALLING" in red on it. It was on there, covered in AS5 itself.
Quote:
Originally Posted by thiru go_quote.gif
You can come in my shack anytime.
ryman546 is offline  
post #963 of 4341 (permalink) Old 07-21-2010, 01:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
UnexplodedCow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 772
Rep: 45 (Unique: 40)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metonymy View Post
They probably will.

But this makes me want to pull my board and re-paste my NB/SB with my Shin Etsu x23...

What they don't know shouldn't hurt me (or you). The only time I've known a company to remove the NB heatsink as SOP is MSI with their GD70 series. My temps did seem to be in the low to mid 40's on the chipset, even with slightly higher voltage. Granted, I don't have stock numbers to compare with, but it would probably be around what everyone else is getting.

UnexplodedCow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #964 of 4341 (permalink) Old 07-21-2010, 04:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tchernobyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,391
Rep: 27 (Unique: 26)
motherboard has arrived i'll be tinkering with it tomorrow.

Question though, are the cables that come with the motherboard sata 3.0 compatible? one of my hard drives is compatible with it (at least, as i understand it. 3.0 = that 6.0Gb/s designation, yes?) and I'm wondering if the cables work with it.. or if it's mainly a motherboard/device issue and not so much cables?

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryaan go_quote.gif
bingo. playing with boobs and playing with zerg are very different.
Tchernobyl is offline  
post #965 of 4341 (permalink) Old 07-21-2010, 04:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
decimator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 3,672
Rep: 269 (Unique: 196)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tchernobyl View Post
motherboard has arrived i'll be tinkering with it tomorrow.

Question though, are the cables that come with the motherboard sata 3.0 compatible? one of my hard drives is compatible with it (at least, as i understand it. 3.0 = that 6.0Gb/s designation, yes?) and I'm wondering if the cables work with it.. or if it's mainly a motherboard/device issue and not so much cables?
Cables are the same for SATA 2 and SATA 3. Any products labeled otherwise are simply marketing gimmicks.

1090T @ 4 GHz proof.gif

decimator is offline  
post #966 of 4341 (permalink) Old 07-21-2010, 04:02 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Metonymy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 988
Rep: 57 (Unique: 46)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tchernobyl View Post
motherboard has arrived i'll be tinkering with it tomorrow.

Question though, are the cables that come with the motherboard sata 3.0 compatible? one of my hard drives is compatible with it (at least, as i understand it. 3.0 = that 6.0Gb/s designation, yes?) and I'm wondering if the cables work with it.. or if it's mainly a motherboard/device issue and not so much cables?
More importantly, are your drives Sata 3.0 capable?
Metonymy is offline  
post #967 of 4341 (permalink) Old 07-21-2010, 04:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BeepBeep's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 291
Rep: 15 (Unique: 14)
Quote:
Originally Posted by moorhen2 View Post
It's not mentioned in the manual,it's a trade secret for some unknown reason,what readout are you getting on the post led's,mine would'nt go past C1,then just cycled all the time.???
Exact same thing happened to me, looped ending at C1 on post display.

I managed to unbrick it though, left cpu & ram in, removed my gpus/unplugged anything in sata, while the pc was running i cleared cmos about 10times, noticed the post display sat on something without looping (couldnt see screen - no gpu), left it for 2mins and it rebooted itself (clearly it flashed back to factory bios), put everything back in and everything is fine.

Any bios after F2 are completely f**ked for UD7, I bet there isnt many happy people, they will have half-dead boards trying to figure out the C1 loop issue.

Both F3d beta + F3c beta kill it.

BeepBeep is offline  
post #968 of 4341 (permalink) Old 07-21-2010, 04:07 PM
Senior Moderators
 
Blitz6804's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: WNY (né: LI, NY)
Posts: 11,751
I thought there was a (slight) difference in EFI shielding decimate.

Completely aside Tchernobyl, Gigabyte states they are SATA-III (6.0 GBps) regardless of if there is any difference.

Important reading: Terms of Service | Professionalism Initiative
For Sale / Wanted | Freebies
Report and ignore. Do not quote. Do not reply.
If I say anything to upset or confuse you, please PM me!
You should be Folding or Crunching! My stats: [email protected], BOINC
Clubs: 890FXA UD5/7 | Firearms | 939 | Pokémon TCG | Cooking with Blitz
- - - - -
"looks pretty flipping consistant to me :D I'm proud fo real" - juano (01/17/2012)
"okay Blitz you win" - juano (01/05/2013)
- - - - -
"Have you heard the news that you're dead? No one ever had much nice
to say, I think they never liked you anyway."
- My Chemical Romance


Blitz6804 is offline  
post #969 of 4341 (permalink) Old 07-21-2010, 04:17 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tchernobyl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ireland
Posts: 1,391
Rep: 27 (Unique: 26)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Metonymy View Post
More importantly, are your drives Sata 3.0 capable?
that was part of my question. if that "6.0Gb/s" label on some drives means sata 3.0, then yes, it's compatible.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ryaan go_quote.gif
bingo. playing with boobs and playing with zerg are very different.
Tchernobyl is offline  
post #970 of 4341 (permalink) Old 07-21-2010, 04:27 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Metonymy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Seattle
Posts: 988
Rep: 57 (Unique: 46)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tchernobyl View Post
that was part of my question. if that "6.0Gb/s" label on some drives means sata 3.0, then yes, it's compatible.
https://www.overclock.net/hard-drives...ml#post7812792
Metonymy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off