Will I get better performance from a MoBo swap? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Will I get better performance from a MoBo swap?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-02-2005, 05:18 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
BlazeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 186
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
I am looking for a cheap performance upgrade, like $42 cheap. Will swapping to a faster mobo help me out with my components I already have?

I am currently running an ASUS A7V8X board.

Components to be swapped:

Athlon XP2100+ (paly)
PC3200 512kb
Geforce FX5600

Heres the board I am looking at because it is very inexpensive and is much faster(i think, u be the judge) MoBo Here please give your opinion

BlazeR is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-02-2005, 05:21 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
zokus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Drumheller, Alberta
Posts: 2,248
Rep: 194 (Unique: 136)
No, it won't. motherboards don't make things faster. The way you get that is by either buying new RAM, new vid card, new CPU, or Overclocking any of the previous. If you can't OC the RAM and CPU, then a new mobo is in order.


doh.gifNever argue with an idiot; they will bring you down to their level and beat you with experience.
doh.gif
zokus is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-02-2005, 05:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
zokus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Drumheller, Alberta
Posts: 2,248
Rep: 194 (Unique: 136)
You may want that MOBO anyways just cause it has better features than your current one, allowing you to upgrade easier


doh.gifNever argue with an idiot; they will bring you down to their level and beat you with experience.
doh.gif
zokus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-02-2005, 05:25 PM
Retired Staff
 
ShawnMcGrail's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 3,990
Rep: 356 (Unique: 194)
Quote:
Originally Posted by BlazeR
I am looking for a cheap performance upgrade, like $42 cheap. Will swapping to a faster mobo help me out with my components I already have?

I am currently running an ASUS A7V8X board.

Components to be swapped:

Athlon XP2100+ (paly)
PC3200 512kb
Geforce FX5600

Heres the board I am looking at because it is very inexpensive and is much faster(i think, u be the judge) MoBo Here please give your opinion
A new motherboard ain't going to do [email protected] with your 512kilobytes of ram.. lol

ShawnMcGrail is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-02-2005, 05:28 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,000
Rep: 461 (Unique: 275)
That motherboard is horrible, grab a Shuttle AN35N Ultra


blob is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-02-2005, 05:31 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
BlazeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 186
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
What is better than to upgrade, I don't just want to shell out on 256mb ram and barely get anygains.

Will buying 256mb more ram help my computer out a lot?

Check out this Ram for $31.00

BlazeR is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-02-2005, 05:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
zokus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Drumheller, Alberta
Posts: 2,248
Rep: 194 (Unique: 136)
Don't bother with that, it's crappy 2700 prob with no warranty and crappy timings. If anything it'd prob bring you down. Look for some 512 PC3200, even corsair value select if you're really on a budget.


doh.gifNever argue with an idiot; they will bring you down to their level and beat you with experience.
doh.gif
zokus is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-02-2005, 05:45 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
BlazeR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Detroit, MI
Posts: 186
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote:
Originally Posted by zokus
Don't bother with that, it's crappy 2700 prob with no warranty and crappy timings. If anything it'd prob bring you down. Look for some 512 PC3200, even corsair value select if you're really on a budget.
Thats my problem, the mobo only handles one PC3200 memory. I would have to look for a 1ghz single module. They are like $130 which is way out of my budget of like $50.

BlazeR is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-02-2005, 05:59 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Wiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 725
Rep: 43 (Unique: 35)
A higher quality motherboard does mean better components on the board...information will flow from place to place faster depending on the workmanship and so on.

i agree it wont really increase the performance noticably, but it will make differences.


Wiggy is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-02-2005, 06:01 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Dallas, TX
Posts: 4,000
Rep: 461 (Unique: 275)
Hence, you should buy the Shuttle AN35N Ultra.


blob is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off