Amd 2600+ XP Athlon o/c help - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Amd 2600+ XP Athlon o/c help

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-03-2005, 11:52 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Danyull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
just read your edit. That setting isnt there!! :s. Anyway to update the bios?
Danyull is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-03-2005, 11:55 AM
Retired Staff
 
muffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: l'Angleterre
Posts: 5,080
Rep: 403 (Unique: 229)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Danyull
just read your edit. That setting isnt there!! :s. Anyway to update the bios?
If you really want to overclock, you gotta spend money.

And to update the BIOS, you need the specific BIOS for that mobo, mofo. I did'nt see that on the manufacturers website but I'll look again

Nikon D90 + D40x / 18-55mm DX / 18-105 DX VR / 55-200mm DX VR / 50mm AF f1.8 / 70-210mm AF f4-5.6
muffin is offline  
post #13 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-03-2005, 12:04 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Danyull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
I have this program called MagicBios... seems pretty buggy and useless. First it tells me to download some 'cpu micro code' then it says my bios is all up to date and doesnt allow me to d/l it
Danyull is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #14 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-03-2005, 12:09 PM
Retired Staff
 
Xavier1421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: FL
Posts: 9,589
Rep: 806 (Unique: 414)
then sadly, it sounds like its time to upgrade

post-flame-small.gif Retirement isn't all it's cracked up to be post-flame-small.gif


Xavier1421 is offline  
post #15 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-03-2005, 12:11 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Danyull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
hehe . nah. I'll see how the 2600+ performs. Then maybe consider upgrades. Thanx for your help, while we are at it. Do you think the CPU will largely bottleneck the graphics card? im talking number of fps difference?
Danyull is offline  
post #16 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-03-2005, 12:16 PM
Retired Staff
 
Xavier1421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: FL
Posts: 9,589
Rep: 806 (Unique: 414)
depending on the video card, yes, the CPU is the numero uno bottleneck in today's gaming PC's.

Your 2600 will definitely be a bottleneck if you have a high end card.

post-flame-small.gif Retirement isn't all it's cracked up to be post-flame-small.gif


Xavier1421 is offline  
post #17 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-03-2005, 12:39 PM
Retired Staff
 
muffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: l'Angleterre
Posts: 5,080
Rep: 403 (Unique: 229)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xavier1421
depending on the video card, yes, the CPU is the numero uno bottleneck in today's gaming PC's.

Your 2600 will definitely be a bottleneck if you have a high end card.
I took a 2600+ Barton to 2.23gHz on a cheapy mobo without raising the Vcore and with PC2700, so how far it would have gone with better equipment I don't know.

Nikon D90 + D40x / 18-55mm DX / 18-105 DX VR / 55-200mm DX VR / 50mm AF f1.8 / 70-210mm AF f4-5.6
muffin is offline  
post #18 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-04-2005, 08:40 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Danyull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
Sorry to bring this up again, but i found some more info, i managed to email somebody from my motherboard manufacturer and they emailed me a copy of the manual. On top of this i also found where to update the bios. After updating the bios the functions magically appeared!!! Now i have a FSB control and a multiplier control. You say im limited to what i can do with these settings... yes thats true the FSB will raise to 232, but with this setting system wont post. 190 means that system crashes during startup.
And 179 i found to be the stable frequancy. Xavier's estimate was pretty much spot on. Now for interests sake im wondering what's holding this back? RAM, MOBO?

How about the famous 'pencil trick' hpw does this work?
Cant upload manual filesize limit! its 1.20 meg :/
Danyull is offline  
post #19 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-04-2005, 09:27 AM
Retired Staff
 
Xavier1421's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: FL
Posts: 9,589
Rep: 806 (Unique: 414)
The pencil trick CAN work, but its difficult, and does not always work.

you can find a few pin guides by googling for it, but here is one: http://www.cluboverclocker.com/guide...lock/page3.htm

I lost my favorite pin guide, it was a little HTML program that showed a pin view or socket view, allowing you to either jump sockets or pins (rather than use the pencil trick)

As to your current dilemma, the motherboard is holding back your overclock. The chipset it designed in such a way that the PCI frequency and AGP frequency are both set to change with FSB, meaning they are not static frequencies.

nForce2 boards have this lock, and keep the PCI/AGP frequencies set at 33/66 respectively, regardless of FSB.

So it looks like a mobo upgrade for you if you desire +200 FSB (keep in mind a motherboard upgrade will also need PC3200 or faster ram)

post-flame-small.gif Retirement isn't all it's cracked up to be post-flame-small.gif


Xavier1421 is offline  
post #20 of 22 (permalink) Old 01-04-2005, 10:45 AM
Retired Staff
 
muffin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: l'Angleterre
Posts: 5,080
Rep: 403 (Unique: 229)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Xavier1421
The pencil trick CAN work, but its difficult, and does not always work.

you can find a few pin guides by googling for it, but here is one: http://www.cluboverclocker.com/guide...lock/page3.htm

I lost my favorite pin guide, it was a little HTML program that showed a pin view or socket view, allowing you to either jump sockets or pins (rather than use the pencil trick)

As to your current dilemma, the motherboard is holding back your overclock. The chipset it designed in such a way that the PCI frequency and AGP frequency are both set to change with FSB, meaning they are not static frequencies.

nForce2 boards have this lock, and keep the PCI/AGP frequencies set at 33/66 respectively, regardless of FSB.

So it looks like a mobo upgrade for you if you desire +200 FSB (keep in mind a motherboard upgrade will also need PC3200 or faster ram)
The last settings I remember for my 2600+ are

FSB 192
Vcore 1.675
PC2700 RAM was running 1:1

Nikon D90 + D40x / 18-55mm DX / 18-105 DX VR / 55-200mm DX VR / 50mm AF f1.8 / 70-210mm AF f4-5.6
muffin is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off