Dual AMD 64 939 Processor - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

Dual AMD 64 939 Processor

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-09-2005, 04:18 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Hi,

I'm building an new extreme machine . so does any body know if there is and motherboard whit Dual AMD 939's up to 4000+ onboard ? and 4 Sata conectors ? it has to fit in an ATX bigtower.

Somke is inside chips... becouse when it's out, they won't work anymore. tiredsmiley.gif

AMD-Tuners
amdtuners is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-09-2005, 05:14 AM
Retired Staff
 
Evil XP2400's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 4,555
Rep: 475 (Unique: 269)
Quote:
Originally Posted by amdtuners
Hi,

I'm building an new extreme machine . so does any body know if there is and motherboard whit Dual AMD 939's up to 4000+ onboard ? and 4 Sata conectors ? it has to fit in an ATX bigtower.
S939 CPU's are not meant to be used in multi processor applications, so that wont work.

If you want a dual CPU setup you would have to go with S940 Opteron, which are server cpu's and if what you want is a extreme gaming machine that's definitely not it.

Since you were willing to buy 2 4000+ CPU's I'm guessing you have money to burn.. So my suggestion is

A64 S939 FX-55 CPU
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
1GB of DDR500+ OCZ Memory
2 74GB Raptors in Raid 0 Config for gamings and apps.
1 WD 200GB HDD for storage
2 Geforce 6800GT's
Good Water Cooling Sys

Everything else wont matter much as far as performance goes... That would be one hell of a rig.




Evil XP2400 is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-09-2005, 05:18 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Ok thanks for you information.

Somke is inside chips... becouse when it's out, they won't work anymore. tiredsmiley.gif

AMD-Tuners
amdtuners is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-09-2005, 07:54 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
Do you know Where I can buy that mainboard?
I searched on the DFI Site for dutch shop's but there isn't any shop who sell the LANPARTY nF4 SLI-DR

Somke is inside chips... becouse when it's out, they won't work anymore. tiredsmiley.gif

AMD-Tuners
amdtuners is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-09-2005, 09:36 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
lightsource's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: California
Posts: 4,975
Rep: 438 (Unique: 267)
You have to wait. It hasn't been fully produced. Its really hard to find them. And I think they came out a few days ago. So I'd say wait till the month is over. And you will be able to find them.


lightsource is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-09-2005, 10:13 AM
Retired Staff
 
adas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bradenton, FL
Posts: 5,607
Rep: 595 (Unique: 324)
the mobo will be on sale in a couple weeks, so yeah, itl be at newegg at the end of the month....should be...
thats gunna be a great system...thats exactly what my next system is gunna be

my crap needs an update laughingsmiley.gif

adas is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-09-2005, 11:05 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 5
Rep: 0
I defenately want that mobo I can't wait to buy it
hope it will be ready soon.

Somke is inside chips... becouse when it's out, they won't work anymore. tiredsmiley.gif

AMD-Tuners
amdtuners is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-10-2005, 01:43 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Burbs of Detroit
Posts: 45,674
Rep: 1182 (Unique: 629)
Hmmm, this one ??? NForce 4 SLI
http://www.newegg.com/app/viewproduc...P=OTC-d3alt1me

Please DO NOT Cite the TOS, simply REPORT and DO NOT REPLY or quote it.
"Life is Learning, Learning is Sharing, Sharing is Life"
"Overclocking is like a drug addiction, the difference is we go broke improving our brain cells instead of destroying them!"
Where in the world to buy on-line
Dual or Multi Partition and Why
Everyone, GET Folding, it is important no matter how much you contribute smile.gif
Phenom II should be called Ph II, not a P II because it isn't an old Intel teaching.gif


The Duke is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-11-2005, 04:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Bangas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Adelaide, SA Australia
Posts: 251
Rep: 15 (Unique: 13)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Evil XP2400
...A64 S939 FX-55 CPU
DFI Lanparty NF4 SLI-DR
1GB of DDR500+ OCZ Memory
2 74GB Raptors in Raid 0 Config for gamings and apps.
1 WD 200GB HDD for storage
2 Geforce 6800GT's...
...
why is it good to have HDDs in RAID0 for gaming?
i thought this was just mirroring. what will this achive?
why would having a 10,000rpm HDDs in raid0 array be so great??
Bangas is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 01-11-2005, 04:37 AM
xms
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Essex, UK
Posts: 2,316
Quote:
Originally Posted by bangas
why is it good to have HDDs in RAID0 for gaming?
i thought this was just mirroring. what will this achive?
why would having a 10,000rpm HDDs in raid0 array be so great??
Raid 0 is striping. Running a Raid stripe improves performance quite a lot.
xms is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off