PCI/AGP Lock on a Neo2 Platinum - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

PCI/AGP Lock on a Neo2 Platinum

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-11-2005, 03:48 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Zeus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Herts, UK
Posts: 2,912
Rep: 222 (Unique: 155)
Does anyone know how good the PCI/AGP lock is on a K8N Neo2 Platinum mobo?

The reason I ask is that I'm currently doing a memory soak test while I wait for my new HDD to be delivered and I don't want to install the new HDD and find it dies due to the high FSB.

The test has been running for approx 10 hours without any errors (so far).

The setting I'm testing are: -

FSB @ 240
Multi @ 11
HTT @ 4
Timings @ 2.3-3-3-6
vCore @ 1.55v
vDimm @ 2.75v
AGP @ 67Mhz

Quote:
Colin McRae: - "If in doubt, flat out"
Zeus is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-11-2005, 03:50 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,430
Rep: 1130 (Unique: 519)
SATA drives are affected more by higher FSB even with PCI locks. If you can, use the SATA controller on the nF3 MCP instead of any other bundle components on the board.

Heh, Computers... sozo.gif
I'm back, yo! Be gentle! biggrin.gif
YiffyGriffy is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-11-2005, 03:54 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tablelands, QLD, Australia
Posts: 1,085
There's no how good about it, it either locks or it doesn't, if it says it's locked then it doesn't change from that (1-2Mhz fluctuation). Even if the bus wasn't locked, it wont effect you hardrive as your hardrive goes through a cable and the hardrive simply sends and recieves messages to store, all frequencies are filtered through the cable and i dont even think that FSB and the SATA channels are together, i think SATA has its own bus.
Sloth_Boy is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-11-2005, 03:59 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,430
Rep: 1130 (Unique: 519)
SATA operates on the PCI bus, overclocking the PCI bus too far causes data corruption (thoug I've never heard of it physically damaging the drive or rendering it inoperable).

Heh, Computers... sozo.gif
I'm back, yo! Be gentle! biggrin.gif
YiffyGriffy is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-11-2005, 03:59 PM
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Tablelands, QLD, Australia
Posts: 1,085
It's a bus that runs off the FSB like everything but like i say, it shouldn't effect your hardrive as the cable doesn't use the FSB speed, it uses it's own speed like other slots (RAM, PCI, AGP)
Sloth_Boy is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-11-2005, 04:02 PM
Retired Staff
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Texas
Posts: 11,430
Rep: 1130 (Unique: 519)
But the hard drive controllers themselves that transmit the data acorss the lines are affected by the PCI bus clock.

Heh, Computers... sozo.gif
I'm back, yo! Be gentle! biggrin.gif
YiffyGriffy is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-11-2005, 08:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Chipmonk010's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: NJ
Posts: 148
Rep: 19 (Unique: 17)
with a moded bios u have the ability to lock and unlock the pci lock(it defaults to locked so dont wry about it), using the sata connectors above the agp slot will keep u from loosing data since they are locked unlike other two. agp lock on this board is a little wierd some people say set the agp to 67mhz to lock it, but mines at 66 and locked so i dono. ocing the htt will only effect sata ports 1 and 2 near the edge of the board but will not effect the two above the agp slot.

I fold for overclock.net!
< Please rep if i help ya out cheers.gif
Next upgrade:
hmmm P4 sys maybe
Check out my neo2 plat. oc guide here!!

Chipmonk010 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 01-12-2005, 12:48 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: The Best Country On Earth
Posts: 391
Rep: 61 (Unique: 43)
When you oc on the neo2 you need to use sata ports 3 and 4. These are the two closest to the cpu socket. Sata ports 1 and 2 are NOT locked and you will corrupt your drives if you oc on those ports.

The locks work fine. You have your agp set to 67 which locks that and you are set to go

Make sure you set your htt multi to 3x for anything over 250 fsb. 4x works up to 250fsb. You have to keep your htt frequency as close to 1000mhz or less or you will have problems. You can get a higher fsb by loosening your memory timings and giving your sticks some more vdimm also.

You should have saved yourself some dough and just bought a 3500+ instead. Aside form 512kb extra l2 cache and an unlocked multi there is no difference.


What bios are you using?

Upgrade complete:evil: new wicked rig is SMOKIN'!!
3500+ s939
eVGA 6800 Ultra..
Msi K8N neo2 Platinum
1 gig GSkill le at 9x275 2.5-3-3-7 at 2.65 vdimm TCCD ROCKS!
WC setup from DangerDen..copper tdx,went back to stock on gpu from nv6800,t-line,DD D4,pro120 hc from d-tek.
kickassclone is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off