3 long beeps on POST, no graphics - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

3 long beeps on POST, no graphics

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-19-2012, 01:00 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Townsville, QLD, Australia
Posts: 946
Rep: 19 (Unique: 17)
I'm trying to get an understanding of the process of troubleshooting a dud PC.

I have one here from a friend at work which is a bit of a vegetable at the moment. All it does is give 3 long beeps on POST, over and over, with nothing displayed to the screen.

Motherboard is a Gigabyte GA-M61PME-S2P
CPU is AMD, not sure of type but it's AM2+
GPU looks to be a Gigabyte 9800GT maybe, I don't know but it has one of those big golden Zalman coolers on it


I'm not sure where to start apart from reseating everything and maybe trying the system outside the case. Am I on the right track?


None of the PSU connectors to the mainboard have any signs of burning / shorting out that I can see.



Thanks,
Sam

savage1987 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-19-2012, 01:06 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Cannon19932006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,023
Rep: 138 (Unique: 122)
Here's a few things you should try/look into.
-find out what cpu's are supported by what bios for that motherboard
-find out if the cpu you have is supported at anytime in their bios updates (you will have to find out what cpu it is, it should be written on the cpu heat spreader. just clean off whatever is blocking it with some 90% or higher isopropyl alochol)
-use only 1 stick of memory, try them individually
-try to post with bare minimal basically cpu and 1 stick of mem, if it has onboard video use that for boot to test.
-try to clear the cmos by either using the jumpers indicated on the board, or remove the power from the 4/8pin cpu connector and the 12v connector on the motherboard as well as removing the small battery and wait 1 minute.
Cannon19932006 is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-19-2012, 01:13 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rawfuls's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Woodland Hills, CA
Posts: 1,125
Rep: 74 (Unique: 45)
Gigabyte's manual says that continuous long beeps are a graphic card seating error.
Try reseating the GPU.

http://download.gigabyte.us/FileList/Manual/motherboard_manual_ga-m61pme-s2p_e.pdf

rawfuls is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-19-2012, 02:17 PM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Dt_Freak1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 1,756
Rep: 74 (Unique: 55)
i agree. first unseat the video card and then reseat it and reapply power to see if problem is fixed. if it is not try to reconnect every cable slowly but surely to see what was the problem. if all else fails try to boot with just cpu and 1 stick of ram and onboard video if it is there.
Dt_Freak1 is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-19-2012, 06:39 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
truckerguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Elkhart,IN
Posts: 3,638
Rep: 209 (Unique: 141)
3 long beeps on my motherboard meens overclocked to much and I have no display Id go online look up the manual on that mobo and see what the beep code is for it
truckerguy is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-19-2012, 11:39 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Townsville, QLD, Australia
Posts: 946
Rep: 19 (Unique: 17)
Well un- and re-seating the graphics card and RAM has the POST back down to a single short beep. Good progress I think smile.gif


Now to hook it up to a monitor and see what's actually going on in there. No idea what state the software is in tongue.gif

savage1987 is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-19-2012, 11:45 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Vlasov_581's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: PDX/Hillsboro, Oregon
Posts: 8,609
Rep: 540 (Unique: 461)
have you tried the onboard video?



Vlasov_581 is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-20-2012, 12:41 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Townsville, QLD, Australia
Posts: 946
Rep: 19 (Unique: 17)
I don't have a primitive enough cable tongue.gif

It works fine, I plugged in my monitor to one of the card's DVI ports and I'm updating the crap out of everything on here now.


Specs for the curious:

CPU: Phenom x4 9650 @2.31GHz (200.9 x 11.5)
Motherboard: M61PME-S2P (Socket M2)
Memory: 4GB DDR2 Kingston something, 401.9MHz, 5-5-5-18-24-2T, dual channel unganged setup
Graphics Card: Gigabyte Radeon HD 4850, 625/993MHz
Hard Drive: 7200rpm WD Caviar 313GB
Power Supply: Codegen 450X - 450W
Case: no-name, package-build-spec mid tower
CPU cooling: stock
OS: Windows XP Professional 32bit SP3






I'll run some stress tests and see how the temps go. If they are dismal I will consider reapplying thermal paste to the CPU/GPU as required. I'd consider tinkering with the clocks but I can't justify it on stock cooling.









Actually, maybe just a tiny bit won't hurt.. ^-^



edit: after just 8 minutes of work at stock speed, Prime95 has the CPU at 65degC so I might leave the clocks alone smile.gif

I put this down almost entirely to poor case ventilation, because after idling for 5minutes it's still at 52 degrees and sloooowly dropping. The only exhaust fan is the PSU fan at the top of the rear fascia, there are no intake fans, and the CPU fan just blows air flat onto the CPU so it's no help to airflow whatsoever. If I had a spare fan laying around I'd throw one in somewhere and hook it up to the motherboard but I don't.

If it were my PC, this cooler and a couple of these fans would be on order straight away, just to shut the thing up a bit whilst remaining on the cheap! tongue.gif this CPU fan doesn't seem to know how to turn itself down! Neither does the GPU fan actually, they are both annoyingly loud.




edit2: couldn't resist

625 / 993 1072 points [email protected]
650 / 993 1102
675 / 993 1132
700 / 993 1160
700 / 1023 1169
700 / 1053 1180
700 / 1073 1188
700 / 1103 1197
700 / 1153 1211

no artifacting yet but I'll stop there due to not having a proper stability test (3dmark etc) installed and reaching 75degC in stress testing. Still a good result and noticeably smoother believe it or not. I'm happy with it knowing this PC is not a gaming platform and will probably never see 100% GPU stress ever again tongue.gif

savage1987 is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-20-2012, 05:15 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Dt_Freak1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Southern Illinois
Posts: 1,756
Rep: 74 (Unique: 55)
Dt_Freak1 is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 02-20-2012, 05:30 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Townsville, QLD, Australia
Posts: 946
Rep: 19 (Unique: 17)
Poorly seated RAM i think

savage1987 is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off