Why can't my rig get past 3.7 GHz? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Why can't my rig get past 3.7 GHz?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 05:43 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
tahayassen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 929
Rep: 31 (Unique: 27)
Stock FSB is 200 MHz. OC FSB is 260 MHz.
Stock HT is 2000 MHz. OC HT is 1800 MHz.
Stock memory clock is 1333 MHz. OC memory clock is 1040 MHz.

Everything else is set to auto. BSOD after 1 min in Intel Burn Test.

My rig is in my signature.

Before it crashes in Intel Burn Test, CPU VCore hovers between 1.4V to 1.5V.

tahayassen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 05:46 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
tahayassen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 929
Rep: 31 (Unique: 27)
tahayassen is offline  
post #3 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 06:16 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
tahayassen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 929
Rep: 31 (Unique: 27)
By the way, the motherboard can go above 290 FSB (I tested 290 FSB with a low CPU multiplier without crashes).

tahayassen is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 06:44 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
tahayassen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 929
Rep: 31 (Unique: 27)
Anybody help please?

tahayassen is offline  
post #5 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-10-2012, 09:10 PM
Retired Staff
 
xd_1771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 20,615
Rep: 1027 (Unique: 750)

This may have something to do with two things:

  1. Generic 1333Mhz memory can hold back overclocks by making memory config process difficult (since it is not as flexible due to the generally bad capabilities of low binned, bottom end memory)
  2. Integrated graphics boards like the 785G are known to not ref-clock (proper term for "FSB") OC as well

Circumstances forced me to go inactive back in 2014. I guess I'm back for 2016, but won't be active much! Cheers!
Forum Rules (TOS) - Professionalism Initiative - News & info | New members - Marketplace
Good reads | VRM & MOSFET info - AMD VRM database - What unlocks? - CPU/NB/RAM multipliers chart


xd_1771 is offline  
post #6 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-11-2012, 05:25 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
tahayassen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 929
Rep: 31 (Unique: 27)
Quote:
Originally Posted by xd_1771 View Post

This may have something to do with two things:
  1. Generic 1333Mhz memory can hold back overclocks by making memory config process difficult (since it is not as flexible due to the generally bad capabilities of low binned, bottom end memory)
  2. Integrated graphics boards like the 785G are known to not ref-clock (proper term for "FSB") OC as well

Regarding the 785G chipset, I tested it, and it caps at 290 MHz reference clock, so it can't be the motherboard's fault.

I ended up upping the voltage of the CPU to a 1.6V, and it still crashed. It can't be the memory's fault, right? Because it's running at a speed slower than stock. Also, is G.Skill a bad brand?

Edit: I increased the voltage of the memory of the memory from 1.5V to 1.52V, and that managed to fix it. I don't understand why it would need a voltage increase, since it's underclocked, but hey, it worked!

tahayassen is offline  
post #7 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-11-2012, 07:09 AM
Old to Overclock.net
 
Fossil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Bragg, NC
Posts: 3,396
Rep: 120 (Unique: 107)
G.Skill is a good brand, imo. Could be cheaper RAM like stated before or just not made to handle the OC. Also, have you tried running memtest?

Sager NP8652
(14 items)
CPU
Intel Core i7 4720HQ
Motherboard
P65_P67SG
GPU
Nvidia GTX 980M
RAM
16GB DDR3 1600mhz
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 EVO 1TB
Hard Drive
Western Digital Elements 4TB
Cooling
Custom cooler
Operating System
Windows 7 x64 Home
Monitor
AOC Q3277FQE
Keyboard
Sentey Cobalt Pro
Mouse
Mionix Naos 7000
Mouse
Steelseries QK Mini
Audio
Steelseries Arctis 3
Audio
Logitech Z337
▲ hide details ▲


Fossil is offline  
post #8 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-11-2012, 12:04 PM
Retired Staff
 
xd_1771's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Vancouver, Canada
Posts: 20,615
Rep: 1027 (Unique: 750)

What timings are you configuring at that speed? Auto?  That might be setting it to something like CL6 or CL5 which will probably not be stable any further.

You ideally want to configure a ref clock that allows you to run your RAM at what is rated or what is capable of and work up the CPU clock from there for best stability results.

 

Cheap generic RAM is a hit to flexibility in that it's harder to determine stability because there are fewer possibilities with such RAM and fewer settings that actually end up as stable.  Generic RAM is bottom-end RAM - that is, it's the spec bottom end and can use ICs not binned for overclocking.  When dealing with processors that require ref clock raise to OC, I always recommend DDR3-1600.  1600Mhz kits often cost the same and are a huge step up in binning and overclock capabilities.


Circumstances forced me to go inactive back in 2014. I guess I'm back for 2016, but won't be active much! Cheers!
Forum Rules (TOS) - Professionalism Initiative - News & info | New members - Marketplace
Good reads | VRM & MOSFET info - AMD VRM database - What unlocks? - CPU/NB/RAM multipliers chart


xd_1771 is offline  
post #9 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-12-2012, 03:18 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
KarathKasun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 4,094
Rep: 217 (Unique: 135)
Umm, is that not a C2 chip? None of my C2's can go much over 3.7Ghz.

HP-UX. I came, I saw, I was sad it would not run on my X86 box.
skull.gif [Official]AMD RX 480/ 470/ 460 Owners Club skull.gif
KarathKasun is offline  
post #10 of 13 (permalink) Old 03-12-2012, 11:29 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
MrThatGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 96
Rep: 6 (Unique: 6)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tahayassen View Post

Stock FSB is 200 MHz. OC FSB is 260 MHz.
Stock HT is 2000 MHz. OC HT is 1800 MHz.
Stock memory clock is 1333 MHz. OC memory clock is 1040 MHz.
Everything else is set to auto. BSOD after 1 min in Intel Burn Test.
My rig is in my signature.
Before it crashes in Intel Burn Test, CPU VCore hovers between 1.4V to 1.5V.

If you left everything besides the HT and memory on auto then you are also overclocking the memory controller when you increase the base clock speed. If you're are already overclocking you probably want to keep the memory controller overclock, so give the CPU-NB a little more voltage, I think 1.25-1.35v is where you need to be for it.

MrThatGuy is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off