Amd GPU clock dropping - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Amd GPU clock dropping

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-13-2015, 06:58 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
RBloodscalp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Hi guys
I got a R9 290x TRI-X 4gig SC( 1040 / 1300 ) and i have this problem with my gpu clock that drops while gaming and i know its not a

temperature issue because on full load i run beteween 65 and 71 celcius. my PSU is a EVGA supernova 1000watts . My cpu is a I7 4770k

oc at 4400mhz and i got a MSI board GD65 . My OS is WIN 8.1 X64 on a mSATA and game on a mecanical hd seagate 7200rpm.

I dont know if it throttling but my drop are not regular and it can go to a drop of 50mhz as well as 400mhz .

What can i do ?? Any suggestion.......
RBloodscalp is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-13-2015, 07:03 AM
Overclocker
 
MojoW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 655
Rep: 40 (Unique: 33)
Quote:
Originally Posted by RBloodscalp View Post

Hi guys
I got a R9 290x TRI-X 4gig SC( 1040 / 1300 ) and i have this problem with my gpu clock that drops while gaming and i know its not a

temperature issue because on full load i run beteween 65 and 71 celcius. my PSU is a EVGA supernova 1000watts . My cpu is a I7 4770k

oc at 4400mhz and i got a MSI board GD65 . My OS is WIN 8.1 X64 on a mSATA and game on a mecanical hd seagate 7200rpm.

I dont know if it throttling but my drop are not regular and it can go to a drop of 50mhz as well as 400mhz .

What can i do ?? Any suggestion.......

I think it's supposed to be doing that as that is powerplay at work.
Dynamically changing the clocks based on the load.
You can download RadeonPro to force full 3d clocks on the games you have it with.

I'm not crazy, my mother had me tested!
post-flame-small.gifDutch Overclockers Unitepost-flame-small.gifsniper.gif

post-flame-small.gif[Official] AMD R9 290 Owners Club post-flame-small.gif
SWIFTECH H220 OWNERS' CLUB

Quote:
Originally Posted by Imglidinhere
*shudders violently for a moment* I need to change my pants now... redface.gif
----''If you don't care ... It doesn't matter!''----
MojoW is offline  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-13-2015, 07:04 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
REDEFINE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Posts: 87
Rep: 4 (Unique: 4)
Make sure you don't have any Internet Explorer tabs open that will cause the Gpu to reserve some of its clocks on AMD cards.
REDEFINE is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-13-2015, 07:08 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
RBloodscalp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
But when it does drop its make the game lag or studder ??
RBloodscalp is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-13-2015, 07:10 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
RBloodscalp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Usually when i play the only thing open is my msi afterbuner on my second sreen for monitoring and steam on my third screen
RBloodscalp is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-13-2015, 07:30 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,529
The 50mhz drop sounds like boost clock? (I know the 290 has a 947core>1000coreboost

Not sure if those 290X models do that.

Drops to around 500mhz are normal for media playback but not sure if it would do that in games.........

Is it an actual problem? ie are you getting frame drops in line with these clock drops?

Or are you just worried what you're seeing is odd?

Make sure you're running the latest official drivers from AMD.(Not betas)

Could also try using increasing power limit to the card if it's throttling under load. (I think you should disable graphics overdrive in CCC first - but don't quote me on that)

Most people will use MSI afterburner or sapphire trixx to do any clock changing and power increases due to CCC being a bit dodgy.
Casey Ryback is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-13-2015, 07:32 AM
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,529
Quote:
Originally Posted by REDEFINE View Post

Make sure you don't have any Internet Explorer tabs open that will cause the Gpu to reserve some of its clocks on AMD cards.

I always turn hardware acceleration off in the internet options. (In IE it's called use software acceleration when possible I think........)

I think it has something to do with what you are saying and it can cause some odd issues and instability.
Casey Ryback is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-13-2015, 08:11 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
RBloodscalp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Yes frame drop as well because it cause studder for a sec or 2, I got the lastest CCC 14.12 omega, overdrive is not selected in CCC and i am using MSI Afterburner 4.10
RBloodscalp is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-13-2015, 08:13 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
RBloodscalp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
i ve tried max out power limit and voltage as well an still does stidder from time to time , like at every 10 min i got a drop approx of cause
RBloodscalp is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-13-2015, 03:52 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
linksandcure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Michiana
Posts: 9
Rep: 0
have you checked to make sure amd catalyst is not the cause, i had a similar problem when overclocking my 7850 last month. my fix was enabling the graphics overdrive on the controller it's self.
linksandcure is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off