NEW!!! DRAM Calculator for Ryzen™ 1.6.2 (overclocking DRAM on AM4) + MEMbench 0.8 (DRAM bench) - Page 413 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

NEW!!! DRAM Calculator for Ryzen™ 1.6.2 (overclocking DRAM on AM4) + MEMbench 0.8 (DRAM bench)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4121 of 5919 (permalink) Old 03-14-2019, 06:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Szaby59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 18
Rep: 3 (Unique: 1)
Hi! Anyone have experience with lower quality B-Dies ? Got a Kingston 3333 MHz/CL16 kit and it works fine on stock settings, but won't do much more. Even just bumping the frequency to 3400 [email protected] and using stock timings makes it unstable and crash sooner or later, even when I use 1.15V for SoC. Aida memory latency is 68ns so it's not that bad, but maybe could be better with some tweaks.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dram.png
Views:	71
Size:	114.3 KB
ID:	259118  


AMD Ryzen 5 2600 | Sapphire Vega 56 Pulse | 16 GB DDR4 3333 MHz | MSI B450M Mortar | Seasonic Focus+ 650W
Szaby59 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4122 of 5919 (permalink) Old 03-14-2019, 10:12 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Darkomax's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: France
Posts: 62
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
i'd aim for 3333 tight timings, you're leaving a lot of performance on the table with those timings. SoC voltage seems low too, for 3400+ I'd try between 1.0 to 1.05V (or 1.1V for 3500+). Safe preset should work with a voltage bump.

Ryzen PC
(11 items)
CPU
Ryzen 5 2600X
Motherboard
Asus ROG Strix X370-I
GPU
GTX 1070 Founder Edtion
RAM
KFA2 HOF 2x8GB 3200CL14
Power Supply
EVGA 550 G2
Cooling
Wraith Prism
Case
Thermaltake Core V1
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
MSI Optix G24C
Mouse
Logitech G500
Audio
HyperX Cloud
▲ hide details ▲
Darkomax is offline  
post #4123 of 5919 (permalink) Old 03-14-2019, 10:20 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Szaby59's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Posts: 18
Rep: 3 (Unique: 1)
Unfortunately the calculator timings are not working for me. Tried 3200 MHz - V1, V2 the system will not post. 1usmus was kind enough to send me some custom timings, now the system boots and seems to be stable, but Testmem5 fails pretty early.

Increased SoC voltage to 1.05V and DDR to 1.4V but still.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	mem.png
Views:	57
Size:	331.9 KB
ID:	259162  


AMD Ryzen 5 2600 | Sapphire Vega 56 Pulse | 16 GB DDR4 3333 MHz | MSI B450M Mortar | Seasonic Focus+ 650W

Last edited by Szaby59; 03-14-2019 at 04:10 PM.
Szaby59 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4124 of 5919 (permalink) Old 03-14-2019, 10:22 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 808
Rep: 28 (Unique: 25)
Quote: Originally Posted by nick name View Post
Oh, no I've found the same. I would ask for your opinion on what is too low.

I've found that tRDRDSCL/tWRWRSCL at 2 and tWRWRSD/tWRWRDD at 5 with tRDRDSD/tRDRDDD at 3 cause weird issues in CS:GO specifically. Player models will just suddenly appear when viewed at distance.

So I usually run 3,3 and 6,6 and 4,4.

What I tested earlier was just to test.

If there are other timings I should be made aware of and kept above a specific value then I'd love to know so I don't go too low.

I've found that SCL @ 2/2 can cause issues that aren't "memory" dependent, for me it usually is the graphics driver will crash and restart or I get "black screen" flashes after a while when I stress the system like with a memory error check tool. And it doesn't find errors when testing purely memory errors. Prime95 usually could detect the issue though.
3/3 is just unstable and errors at all times. 5/5 has similar issues as 3/3 as in causing errors in testing. The only ones working problem free are 4/4 or 6/6.
Though I can note playing with some other settings may fix the issue with 2/2, but it required me running some odd DrvStr values that wasn't optimal for highest speeds obtained and increasing voltages used that otherwise seemed stable, that may or may not cause other problems that require their tweaks.

Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME, Ryzen 7 3800X 4.45Ghz, 4266/1900 MEM/FCLK, 16.26.19.48.76.tRFC 650 1T 1.58V
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V (Micron E-die 16nm)
OLD: Biostar x470GT8 Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM ...
Nighthog is offline  
post #4125 of 5919 (permalink) Old 03-14-2019, 10:15 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Just want to say, I didn't think this was possible but i got my Kingston 2400 Cl15 (pretty common and crappy) up to 2933 (it wont go higher than this, I believe because of my 1st gen Ryzen 1700).
Got 2933 at 1.3V only, with timings 14-15-15-15-32-48 and TRFC 400. I've tested and it seems TRFC won't go down much more than this. I'm surprised, considering it's even a Nanya chip.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2933-14-15-15-15-32-48--TRFC-400.PNG
Views:	60
Size:	303.6 KB
ID:	259312  

makeiteasy is offline  
post #4126 of 5919 (permalink) Old 03-15-2019, 03:55 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Posts: 103
Rep: 1 (Unique: 1)
After 2 days of testing I finally managed to get 3466 stable. Should i bother trying to tweak my settings more (tFAW, tRFC GDM off...) even though I get decent aida speeds/ latencies?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	3466 stabil.png
Views:	97
Size:	2.13 MB
ID:	259338  

Saiger0 is offline  
post #4127 of 5919 (permalink) Old 03-15-2019, 10:56 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
christoph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,668
Rep: 30 (Unique: 26)
Quote: Originally Posted by Saiger0 View Post
After 2 days of testing I finally managed to get 3466 stable. Should i bother trying to tweak my settings more (tFAW, tRFC GDM off...) even though I get decent aida speeds/ latencies?
I think thats the best you can get there, don't bother trying anything else

christoph is offline  
post #4128 of 5919 (permalink) Old 03-16-2019, 02:07 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 7
Rep: 0
Hello. I'm on Taichi x370. Bios 5.10 (agesa 1.0.0.6) and Ryzen 2700x. I' m Fully stable with this timings and settings. I tried to stabilize 3533 or 3600. But i have always some errors in TM5. I wasn't able to stabilize even with other bios editions. Some suggestion?
PS: CLDO VDDP on auto, Ram at 1.44v. and yes i tried to stabilize using more voltage, but it didn't work. And even with 15-15-15-35-50, nothing to do. The ram is F4-4133C19D-16GTZSWC Trident Z 4133 c19
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot (90).png
Views:	39
Size:	46.5 KB
ID:	259642  

Markz is offline  
post #4129 of 5919 (permalink) Old 03-16-2019, 11:03 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,413
Rep: 17 (Unique: 9)
Quote: Originally Posted by Markz View Post
Hello. I'm on Taichi x370. Bios 5.10 (agesa 1.0.0.6) and Ryzen 2700x. I' m Fully stable with this timings and settings. I tried to stabilize 3533 or 3600. But i have always some errors in TM5. I wasn't able to stabilize even with other bios editions. Some suggestion?
PS: CLDO VDDP on auto, Ram at 1.44v. and yes i tried to stabilize using more voltage, but it didn't work. And even with 15-15-15-35-50, nothing to do. The ram is F4-4133C19D-16GTZSWC Trident Z 4133 c19
If you're using the correct RAM slots then I would assume it's the board holding you back.

AMD Ryzen 2700X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/6 Corsair SP120L fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  | G.SKILL TridentZ 3636MHz @ 14-15-14-28 2x8GB  | EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3  | Thermaltake Core P3 Case |
nick name is offline  
post #4130 of 5919 (permalink) Old 03-17-2019, 12:37 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sweden
Posts: 808
Rep: 28 (Unique: 25)
Quote: Originally Posted by Markz View Post
Hello. I'm on Taichi x370. Bios 5.10 (agesa 1.0.0.6) and Ryzen 2700x. I' m Fully stable with this timings and settings. I tried to stabilize 3533 or 3600. But i have always some errors in TM5. I wasn't able to stabilize even with other bios editions. Some suggestion?
PS: CLDO VDDP on auto, Ram at 1.44v. and yes i tried to stabilize using more voltage, but it didn't work. And even with 15-15-15-35-50, nothing to do. The ram is F4-4133C19D-16GTZSWC Trident Z 4133 c19

Have you tried to go higher on your sub-timings?

For example:
12 tWR
tRDRDSCL/tWRWRSCL 4/4 or 2/2 (I've found 3/3 5/5 are harder to deal with than the even numbers)
10/12 tRTP
tRFC higher? each kit have a limit on how low (ns) they can go. You have 180ns for now stable? When you go higher speeds try to keep it there by adjusting your tRFC to make it so or just pick a random much higher value there to see if it's the issue.
then the tWRWRSD/tWRWRDD 7/7, tRDRDSD/tRDRDDD 5/5 (this is usually safe settings for 99% of the time, adjust these lower when you have something stable for the speed you want as a last adjustment basically) there is not much performance gains here but they have much to do with stability at times when on the edges of your system can do.

EDIT: I noticed you had "GearDownMode" set to disabled... I think this is main culprit if you can't gain higher speeds. (has a high tax on stability as it performs much better with 1T timings than anything else)
You can try to set it enabled to see if you can gain speed but your latency and performance will drop considerably compared to disabled with same settings. It's just to see if you can get so much more speed from your kit otherwise to compensate. (it's a trade-off deal and A/B testing thing to see which gets you more)

Gigabyte X570 AORUS XTREME, Ryzen 7 3800X 4.45Ghz, 4266/1900 MEM/FCLK, 16.26.19.48.76.tRFC 650 1T 1.58V
4x8Gb Kingston HX434C19FB2K2/16 3466C19 1.2V (Micron E-die 16nm)
OLD: Biostar x470GT8 Ryzen 7 1700 @ ~4.0Ghz CPU, 3200Mhz RAM ...

Last edited by Nighthog; 03-17-2019 at 12:42 AM.
Nighthog is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 7 (1 members and 6 guests)
chevy350
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off