NEW!!! DRAM Calculator for Ryzen™ 1.6.2 (overclocking DRAM on AM4) + MEMbench 0.8 (DRAM bench) - Page 462 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

NEW!!! DRAM Calculator for Ryzen™ 1.6.2 (overclocking DRAM on AM4) + MEMbench 0.8 (DRAM bench)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #4611 of 5731 (permalink) Old 06-17-2019, 11:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
herericc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 130
Rep: 2 (Unique: 2)
Quote: Originally Posted by rul3s View Post
Hi guys!
I've found that HCI also encounters memory errors when vcore is so close to the edge of crashing, but not enought to chash, I explain.
Doing manual and fixed OC on my 2600x, I've found that [email protected] was stable on Realbench OCCT, but sometimes playing I've had some crashes, specially on PUBG.
My RAM config was [email protected] as Ryzen DRAM calculator says, with 1.40 on dram and 1.025 on vsoc. Well, so running HCI was giving me 1 or 2 errors on 400-500%.
Tried rising vdimm and also vsoc until 1.5 on vdimm and 1.20v on vsoc, but same experience, my only way to not hving errors was going down to [email protected]

After some research and test I finally tried to go rise vcore to 1,3125 and errors where solved, and now running [email protected] with vdimm on 1.38 and vsoc on 1.00v.

So, in my experience try to add a little bit more of vcore if experiencing very few errors on HCI.
That's good to know - I've noticed that when I do get errors in DRAM BENCH from the calculator they tend to be a streak of errors on a certain thread. Could be that particular thread on the processor is a little bit unstable due to PBO + undervolt... I'll have to try getting stability on RAM with PBO on stock settings and then work my way back from there.

My Main PC
(12 items)
HTPC
(9 items)
CPU
3900x
Motherboard
Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 XC ULTRA GAMING
RAM
Team Dark Pro 32GB (4 x 8GB) 288-Pin DDR4 3200 C14
Power Supply
Corsair TX 850M
Cooling
Noctua D15
Case
Corsair Air 540
Operating System
Windows 10 x64 Pro
Monitor
Asus MG279Q
Mouse
Logitech G305
Mousepad
Gamdias MASSIVE mat
Audio
Corsair Void Wireless Pro
CPU
R7 1700
Motherboard
GA-AX370-K7
GPU
ASUS RX R570X 4GB
RAM
F4-2400C15D-32GVR
Hard Drive
256GB M2 SSD
Hard Drive
960GB SATA SSD
Cooling
AMD Wraith Prism
Case
Fractal Arc XL
Operating System
Windows 10 x64 Pro
▲ hide details ▲
herericc is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4612 of 5731 (permalink) Old 06-18-2019, 01:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,388
Rep: 14 (Unique: 7)
Does anyone know of any literature exploring DRAM temps and their impact on performance when the DRAM is not run within spec? Everything I find uses temps like 85*C and discusses RAM designed to run within that spec. I want to find something (other than anecdotal findings) that explores overclocked RAM and their temperature thresholds before errors.

AMD Ryzen 2700X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/6 Corsair SP120L fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  | G.SKILL TridentZ 3636MHz @ 14-15-14-28 2x8GB  | EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3  | Thermaltake Core P3 Case |
nick name is offline  
post #4613 of 5731 (permalink) Old 06-18-2019, 02:00 PM
BOINC Cruncher
 
Keith Myers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 688
Rep: 22 (Unique: 16)
Research on ECC bit flips vs temp

Quote: Originally Posted by nick name View Post
Does anyone know of any literature exploring DRAM temps and their impact on performance when the DRAM is not run within spec? Everything I find uses temps like 85*C and discusses RAM designed to run within that spec. I want to find something (other than anecdotal findings) that explores overclocked RAM and their temperature thresholds before errors.
I would do a search on ECC RAM bit flips vs temp. I would bet there are some research papers on that discussion which might show how data integrity changes with temperature.

ASUS-Linux
(15 items)
Serenity
(14 items)
Numbskull
(17 items)
CPU
Xeon E5-1660V4
Motherboard
ASUS X99-E-10G-WS
GPU
EVGA 1080TI Hybrid
GPU
EVGA 1080 Hybrid
GPU
EVGA 1080 Hybrid
GPU
Zotac 1070Ti Mini
RAM
G.Skill Rampage 3000-CL15
Hard Drive
Adata SU-900
Hard Drive
Western Digital
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova 1600T2
Cooling
Corsair H110i
Case
Thermaltake Core X9
Operating System
Ubuntu 18.04 LTS Bionic Beaver
Monitor
AOC i2269vw 22-Inch
Mouse
Logitech Marble Mouse
CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
ASUS ROG Crosshair VII Hero
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080 Hybrid
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 Hybrid
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080 Hybrid
RAM
G. Skill F4-3200D-16GTZ TridentZ DDR4
Hard Drive
Crucial MX100
Hard Drive
Samsung 970 EVO M.2
Power Supply
Corsair AX1200
Cooling
XSPC RX 360 radiator XSPC X4 Photon 170 pump/reservoir 3X Noctua NF-A12X25 fans
Case
Thermaltake Level 20 XT
Operating System
Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
Monitor
HP 27xw
Keyboard
Logitech M520 Keyboard/Mouse combo
CPU
AMD 2920X Threadripper
Motherboard
Asrock X399 Fatality Pro Gaming
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 Black Gaming
GPU
EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 Black Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080Ti FTW Hydro
GPU
EVGA RTX 2080XC Hydro Copper
RAM
G. Skill F4-3200C14-16GTZ
RAM
G. Skill F4-3200C14-16GTZ
Hard Drive
Samsung M.2 960EVO
Hard Drive
Crucial MX200
Cooling
XSPC Raystorm Pro Neo Threadripper block
Cooling
XSPC X4 Photon 170 Pump/Reservoir times two
Cooling
XSPC RX360 Radiator times two
Cooling
Noctua NF-A12x25 fan
Case
Thermaltake Core X5 Black E-ATX
Operating System
Ubuntu 18.04 LTS
Monitor
AOC 2367F
▲ hide details ▲
Keith Myers is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4614 of 5731 (permalink) Old 06-18-2019, 02:36 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 1,388
Rep: 14 (Unique: 7)
Quote: Originally Posted by Keith Myers View Post
I would do a search on ECC RAM bit flips vs temp. I would bet there are some research papers on that discussion which might show how data integrity changes with temperature.
I've found several resources that discuss it, but not in relation to overclocking of RAM. I'm will look into what you suggested though.

AMD Ryzen 2700X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/6 Corsair SP120L fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  | G.SKILL TridentZ 3636MHz @ 14-15-14-28 2x8GB  | EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3  | Thermaltake Core P3 Case |
nick name is offline  
post #4615 of 5731 (permalink) Old 06-18-2019, 02:46 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
thomasck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Posts: 329
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Quote: Originally Posted by rul3s View Post
Hi guys!

I've found that HCI also encounters memory errors when vcore is so close to the edge of crashing, but not enought to chash, I explain.

Doing manual and fixed OC on my 2600x, I've found that [email protected] was stable on Realbench OCCT, but sometimes playing I've had some crashes, specially on PUBG.

My RAM config was [email protected] as Ryzen DRAM calculator says, with 1.40 on dram and 1.025 on vsoc. Well, so running HCI was giving me 1 or 2 errors on 400-500%.

Tried rising vdimm and also vsoc until 1.5 on vdimm and 1.20v on vsoc, but same experience, my only way to not hving errors was going down to [email protected]



After some research and test I finally tried to go rise vcore to 1,3125 and errors where solved, and now running [email protected] with vdimm on 1.38 and vsoc on 1.00v.



So, in my experience try to add a little bit more of vcore if experiencing very few errors on HCI.
That's pretty much normal as you increase ram speed normally you would increase vcore a bit to help the imc. Is good to point this out as some times can solve a problem.

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk

PCDEBAIANO
(7 items)
CPU
Ryzen 3900X
Motherboard
Taichi X370
GPU
AMD Radeon VII
RAM
HyperX Predator 4000
Cooling
3x360mm
Case
Lian Li o11d
Monitor
HANNspree HG324
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by thomasck; 06-18-2019 at 03:11 PM.
thomasck is offline  
post #4616 of 5731 (permalink) Old 06-19-2019, 12:59 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Filters83's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 100
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by thomasck View Post
That's pretty much normal as you increase ram speed normally you would increase vcore a bit to help the imc. Is good to point this out as some times can solve a problem.

Sent from my HTC U11 using Tapatalk
Depedens im on same cpu 2600x unrdevolt -0.5 no pbo but whit ram oc 3466 fast settings at 1.4v and 1.025 on soc B die chip and i dont need more cpu voltage here, if i try to go up then i probably need, so i mean evry cpu its different maby for him the limit was 3400mhz on ram for no need on more cpu voltage aswell, and motherboard aswell cause im on a strix 450-f now and before on the x-370-f i wasnt able to clock ram like this in no way
Filters83 is offline  
post #4617 of 5731 (permalink) Old 06-21-2019, 01:16 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ambersson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1
Rep: 0
I haver the exact same problem with asrock b450 pro4, newest bios 3.31, r5 2600, ballistix sport lt 3000mhz cl15 micron rev e and windows 1903.
"Sysinfo Not work!" when I try to start. calculating any settings ends up with error.

Quote: Originally Posted by japemo View Post
Hi!!!

Sorry if this message is not correctly write here. I have problems when DRAM Calculator.

I have this hard:
Case: Raijintek Ophion EVO
MB: Asus ROG Strix X470-I Gaming
CPU: AMD Ryzen 7 2700X
GPU: KFA2 GeForce® RTX 2080 OC
STG: M.2 Samsung 950 PRO 500GB, SSD Samsung 750GB, HDD WD Green 3TB
RAM: Ballistix Tactical Tracer RGB 16GB DDR4-3000 (x2) 32GB
PS: Corsair SF600
Keyboard: Logitech G710+
Mouse: Logitech G502 Proteus Spectrum
Monitor: HP L2045W (Monitor temporal)
OS: W10 Pro
FANs: Corsair ML120PRO (x3)

And I use Thaiphoon Burner to see full spec of my RAM



After I write parameters in DRAM Calculator and do this error:



With this text in details:

See the end of this message for details on invoking
just-in-time (JIT) debugging instead of this dialog box.

************** Exception Text **************
System.FormatException: Input string was not in a correct format.
at System.Number.ParseDouble(String value, NumberStyles options, NumberFormatInfo numfmt)
at Ryzen_DRAM_Calculator_1._1._0.Form1.Current_Delay_ Time()
at Ryzen_DRAM_Calculator_1._1._0.Form1.metroTile4_Cli ck(Object sender, EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.OnClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnClick(EventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.OnMouseUp(MouseEventAr gs mevent)
at MetroFramework.Controls.MetroTile.OnMouseUp(MouseE ventArgs e)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.ButtonBase.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Button.WndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.O nMessage(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.W ndProc(Message& m)
at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)


************** Loaded Assemblies **************
mscorlib
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.3362.0 built by: NET472REL1LAST_C
CodeBase: file:///C:/Windows/Microsoft.NET/Framework/v4.0.30319/mscorlib.dll
----------------------------------------
Ryzen DRAM Calculator 1.1.0
Assembly Version: 1.4.0.0
Win32 Version: 1.4.0.1
CodeBase: file:///G:/Programas/Overclock-Tests%20PC/Configurar%20RAM%20en%20AMD/DRAM-Calculator-for-Ryzen-1.4.1/DRAM%20Calculator%20for%20Ryzen%201.4.1.exe
----------------------------------------
System.Windows.Forms
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.3324.0 built by: NET472REL1LAST_C
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Windows.Forms/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Windows.Forms.dll
----------------------------------------
System
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.3362.0 built by: NET472REL1LAST_C
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Drawing
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.3190.0 built by: NET472REL1LAST_C
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Drawing/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Drawing.dll
----------------------------------------
MetroFramework
Assembly Version: 1.2.0.3
Win32 Version: 1.2.0.3
CodeBase: file:///G:/Programas/Overclock-Tests%20PC/Configurar%20RAM%20en%20AMD/DRAM-Calculator-for-Ryzen-1.4.1/MetroFramework.DLL
----------------------------------------
System.Configuration
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.3324.0 built by: NET472REL1LAST_C
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Configuration/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b03f5f7f11d50a3a/System.Configuration.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Core
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.3362.0 built by: NET472REL1LAST_C
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Core/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Core.dll
----------------------------------------
System.Xml
Assembly Version: 4.0.0.0
Win32 Version: 4.7.3190.0 built by: NET472REL1LAST_C
CodeBase: file:///C:/WINDOWS/Microsoft.Net/assembly/GAC_MSIL/System.Xml/v4.0_4.0.0.0__b77a5c561934e089/System.Xml.dll
----------------------------------------

************** JIT Debugging **************
To enable just-in-time (JIT) debugging, the .config file for this
application or computer (machine.config) must have the
jitDebugging value set in the system.windows.forms section.
The application must also be compiled with debugging
enabled.

For example:

<configuration>
<system.windows.forms jitDebugging="true" />
</configuration>

When JIT debugging is enabled, any unhandled exception
will be sent to the JIT debugger registered on the computer
rather than be handled by this dialog box.


Regards!!!
ambersson is offline  
post #4618 of 5731 (permalink) Old 06-21-2019, 04:58 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
BLUuuE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 168
Rep: 5 (Unique: 4)
Quote: Originally Posted by ambersson View Post
I haver the exact same problem with asrock b450 pro4, newest bios 3.31, r5 2600, ballistix sport lt 3000mhz cl15 micron rev e and windows 1903.
"Sysinfo Not work!" when I try to start. calculating any settings ends up with error.
I think that's because of your locale as you have a comma as the decimal point when the calculator expects a period.
It should be a simple fix for the developer tho.

BLUuuE is offline  
post #4619 of 5731 (permalink) Old 06-21-2019, 05:23 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
SaccoSVD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 1,513
Rep: 41 (Unique: 32)
I think the calculator is throwing weird stuff. I'm not sure but the timings seem off. The calculator gave different numbers for my kit in older versions.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2933 A.png
Views:	53
Size:	69.3 KB
ID:	275446  


PC Specs: 3900X - X470 Taichi - 64GB 3000Mhz DDR4 - 1080ti waterforce xtreme - H115i Pro with 4 fans + Liquid Metal.
Per CCX OC Settings: 4.5/4.4/4.35/4.35 at 1.32V (1.26Vdroop) Max AIDA64 temp 75c at Turbo AIO settings / 83c at Balanced AIO settings.

Last edited by SaccoSVD; 06-21-2019 at 07:50 PM.
SaccoSVD is offline  
post #4620 of 5731 (permalink) Old 06-22-2019, 01:17 AM
Computer Enthusiast
 
crakej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: UK
Posts: 2,634
Rep: 31 (Unique: 22)
Quote: Originally Posted by SaccoSVD View Post
I think the calculator is throwing weird stuff. I'm not sure but the timings seem off. The calculator gave different numbers for my kit in older versions.
Your timings don't look right! I'd go with calc latest values - if they work, your ram will be a LOT faster. I've never seen secondary timings like that!

Ryzen 9 3900X | Current Bios - 0002+(The Stilt modded ver) | Crosshair VII Hero | 16GB Patriot Steel 4400CL19 @ 3733CL14 | ADATA SX8200NP 480GB | Fractal Design S36 AIO

About me: I am dyslexic and DO occasionally miss things!

There are 10 types of people, those who understand binary, and those that don't.
F people in 10 don't understand hexadecimal
crakej is online now  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 12 (2 members and 10 guests)
shchmue , Yuke
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off