NEW!!! DRAM Calculator for Ryzen™ 1.7.3 (overclocking DRAM on AM4) + MEMbench 0.8 (DRAM bench) - Page 777 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community
Forum Jump: 

NEW!!! DRAM Calculator for Ryzen™ 1.7.3 (overclocking DRAM on AM4) + MEMbench 0.8 (DRAM bench)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7761 of 7837 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 03:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
paih85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 58
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Veii View Post
I wish i knew which errors these are and when they appear
If you read the Mt.cfg, you kinda get an idea on what it errors
Multiple error 6 are voltage related - most of the times IMC related
The rest are specific ones

mm, this set might've been too low
But how does your remain rest look
RTT and CAD_BUS stuff, including procODT
here my full timing/cadbus/procodt. this time i re-run test with 1.45v vdimm. error start appear @ 3rd cycle.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	log.JPG
Views:	52
Size:	188.3 KB
ID:	348530  

paih85 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7762 of 7837 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 03:43 AM
Stock is too casual~
 
Veii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria / Bulgaria
Posts: 1,283
Rep: 78 (Unique: 46)
Quote: Originally Posted by paih85 View Post
here my full timing/cadbus/procodt. this time i re-run test with 1.45v vdimm. error start appear @ 3rd cycle.
Error 0, Initialization error "refresh stable"
Error 10, Burst test error "SimpleTest8mb"

It times out and is too slow, initialization times out
Try if tRDWR 9/1 fixes it
A fix can be smaller tRRDL delay too - like 4/6 on it

Start by boosting ClkDrvStrengh to 30ohm and fix tRRDL to 6
If it still doesn't work , try to increase tRDWR to 9

EDIT:
Burst test error are mostly tWR related but can be fixed just with a voltage bump or added latency somewhere, like higher tRP
Can also be fixed with an own added CAD_BUS Timing delay / if you are at peak stability , but this will lower perf
It can also be fixed by using 1-1-1-1-1-1 on the tRDRD and tWRWR SD DD values
But this will cut performance by a lot, soo let this part as the absolute last resolve

SiSandra Inter-Core Bandwith 14nm Ryzen global #1 | Twitter
Personal Records
RAM > Viper Steel @ 3466C14 (64.2ns) & Alt | Hynix-MFR 3333CL14 (72.5ns) & Alt

GPU > Gigabyte 970 G1 @ 1595|1900 (Hynix) | RX 580 Red Devil GS @ 1620|2200 (Micron)
CPU > TR 1950X [email protected]1.2v & [email protected]1.365v[105Mhz FSB](3.23Beta)
#Main: 1700X [email protected]1.365v1.73Ghz IMC CL14 (64.2ns)」+ Dark Rock 3 | X370 Taichi 1.0.0.3 ABBA by The Stilt | Viper Steel [PVS416G400C9K]| Gigabyte 970 G1 | Samsung 850 Evo

Last edited by Veii; 05-23-2020 at 03:48 AM.
Veii is offline  
post #7763 of 7837 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 03:53 AM
DRAM Obsessor
 
CJMitsuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Posts: 1,033
Rep: 12 (Unique: 10)
Quote: Originally Posted by Veii View Post
It makes sense
you can't run that low tRDWR, soo you need added latency
9/4 is fine too , else 10/1 would be what will work on your side
you have to test
likely 8/4 could work if you lower your timings
tWR is not needed to be that high
Rulesets for it are
tRRDS + tWTRS
tCL + tRTP
tRAS - tRCD
All 3 are correct
when tRTP is a clean divider of tRFC, then tWR can be double or tCL+tRTP

There are many options, there isn't one right one
It depends on the IC and remain set of timings what will fit
But low tRDWR either works or won't post if the remain timings are high, soo tRCD/2 is a good template for it
i get for tWR between 12-18, 24 idk if you need it thaat high
Can you try if this would even post ?



How do you TM5 test ?
1usmus_V3 20 rounds - because that one should trigger on bad tWRRD
Maybe 3rd gen does a well enough job in timings auto correction
There isn't much you can do except get away that tRCD RD 18 down to 16
How about:

But this could need a voltage bump, because tRP is lower
well first try it and then at worst check how much voltage that would need to post
~ please report back

There are many differences, but yours are A2 or B2 if it's dual rank


A2 has nothing over the notch
And A2 because the ICs are at the bottom
An A1 PCB will ALWAYS have a tiny capacitor directly over the notch. Neither the A2 or A0 will. A2 has one to the left and A0 has one askew a bit to the left but not directly over the notch.

CPU- AMD Ryzen [email protected]
MOTHERBOARD- ROG Crosshair VIII Hero
GPU- EVGA GTX 1080ti SC2 @2075mhz
RAM- G.SKILL TridentZ 32gb (4 x 8gb) @ 3800mhz (14-15-15-22-36-1T)
COOLING- CORSAIR Hydro Series H115i Pro w/ Noctua NF-A14 (x7)
CASE- Lian Li O11 Dynamic
MONITORS- VIOTEK GN34DB (x2)


CJMitsuki is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7764 of 7837 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 03:57 AM
Stock is too casual~
 
Veii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria / Bulgaria
Posts: 1,283
Rep: 78 (Unique: 46)
Quote: Originally Posted by CJMitsuki View Post
An A1 PCB will ALWAYS have a tiny capacitor directly over the notch. Neither the A2 or A0 will. A2 has one to the left and A0 has one askew a bit to the left but not directly over the notch.
Exactly
On A0 the ICs are further up too and the traces are a bit different at the bottom
Spoiler!

What is better between A1 and A2 under 4000MT/s remains till this day a debate
A2 are harder to drive and more sentive
Only Viper Steel 4400 use a custom A2 PCB which is very similar to A1 with a tiny capacitor over the notch
While traces belong to the A2 PCB layout

I think GALAX HOF Extreme 4000 ones had a unique A2 PCB design too, but the older GALAX HOF Extreme 3600 where on A1 PCB
Both where white

SiSandra Inter-Core Bandwith 14nm Ryzen global #1 | Twitter
Personal Records
RAM > Viper Steel @ 3466C14 (64.2ns) & Alt | Hynix-MFR 3333CL14 (72.5ns) & Alt

GPU > Gigabyte 970 G1 @ 1595|1900 (Hynix) | RX 580 Red Devil GS @ 1620|2200 (Micron)
CPU > TR 1950X [email protected]1.2v & [email protected]1.365v[105Mhz FSB](3.23Beta)
#Main: 1700X [email protected]1.365v1.73Ghz IMC CL14 (64.2ns)」+ Dark Rock 3 | X370 Taichi 1.0.0.3 ABBA by The Stilt | Viper Steel [PVS416G400C9K]| Gigabyte 970 G1 | Samsung 850 Evo
Veii is offline  
post #7765 of 7837 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 04:42 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Martin778's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: the Netherlands
Posts: 1,456
Rep: 16 (Unique: 16)
I wonder what 3800C14 G.Skills are using, that's pretty much the tightest B-Die kit available.....well 'available' as they are mythical, not to be found in any shop in the world. They run very high volts though, 1.50V DIMM.
The Galax kit has very mediocre timings of 19-25-25 1.4V out of the box for being cherry picked IC's.

Threadripper 3960X PBO | Aorus TRX40 Xtreme | Enermax Liqtech II 360 TR4 + EK Clear flush + 3x Noctua A12x25 | 4x8GB G.Skill TridentZ Royal Gold @ 3733 CL16 | EVGA Kingpin 2080Ti @ 2100MHz + Noctua A12-25 | 4x1TB 970 PRO raid0 | Corsair MP600 2TB | Seasonic Prime Platinum 1300W | In Win D-Frame 2.0 Gold | ASUS PG349Q

Last edited by Martin778; 05-23-2020 at 04:48 AM.
Martin778 is offline  
post #7766 of 7837 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 05:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
paih85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 58
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Veii View Post
You could have a lot of errors because tRCD 16 is low
Try if this will work for you

Later we can lower it with the early way
Can be just an IC thing, that tRCD RD 16 is just too low for it
It mostly doesn't scale with voltage, while tRP and tCL do
complete no error

Quote: Originally Posted by Veii View Post
Error 0, Initialization error "refresh stable"
Error 10, Burst test error "SimpleTest8mb"

It times out and is too slow, initialization times out
Try if tRDWR 9/1 fixes it
A fix can be smaller tRRDL delay too - like 4/6 on it

Start by boosting ClkDrvStrengh to 30ohm and fix tRRDL to 6
If it still doesn't work , try to increase tRDWR to 9

EDIT:
Burst test error are mostly tWR related but can be fixed just with a voltage bump or added latency somewhere, like higher tRP
Can also be fixed with an own added CAD_BUS Timing delay / if you are at peak stability , but this will lower perf
It can also be fixed by using 1-1-1-1-1-1 on the tRDRD and tWRWR SD DD values
But this will cut performance by a lot, soo let this part as the absolute last resolve
already tried trdwr/twrrd up to 9/1..still get error.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	test A 3800c16.png
Views:	5
Size:	35.3 KB
ID:	348534  

Click image for larger version

Name:	test B 3800c16.png
Views:	5
Size:	36.0 KB
ID:	348536  

paih85 is offline  
post #7767 of 7837 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 06:34 AM
Stock is too casual~
 
Veii's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: Austria / Bulgaria
Posts: 1,283
Rep: 78 (Unique: 46)
Quote: Originally Posted by paih85 View Post
complete no error

already tried trdwr/twrrd up to 9/1..still get error.
Hmm i do wonder if tRFC is too low
Try please
276-205-126 on the 16-16-16-16 set
same tWR 12
Try to up 1.46v VDIMM

SiSandra Inter-Core Bandwith 14nm Ryzen global #1 | Twitter
Personal Records
RAM > Viper Steel @ 3466C14 (64.2ns) & Alt | Hynix-MFR 3333CL14 (72.5ns) & Alt

GPU > Gigabyte 970 G1 @ 1595|1900 (Hynix) | RX 580 Red Devil GS @ 1620|2200 (Micron)
CPU > TR 1950X [email protected]1.2v & [email protected]1.365v[105Mhz FSB](3.23Beta)
#Main: 1700X [email protected]1.365v1.73Ghz IMC CL14 (64.2ns)」+ Dark Rock 3 | X370 Taichi 1.0.0.3 ABBA by The Stilt | Viper Steel [PVS416G400C9K]| Gigabyte 970 G1 | Samsung 850 Evo
Veii is offline  
post #7768 of 7837 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 06:52 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
1nterceptor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Croatia
Posts: 44
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
@Veii good day sir, i see you obviously know what you are talking about so i was wondering if you can give me some insight how to get this Ram to clock any faster (if possible at all)?
I described my problem in post #7663. This is where i am now, can't get it to work any faster or with lower latencies AFAIK...
I tryed pretty much everything i know, raising voltage on Ram and/or SoC, playing with different primary/secondary (practically all) latencies,
played a bit with VTT/CLDO voltages and i always end up with an unstable system. Sometimes it manages to boot (like with 3333Mhz) but crashes imediatelly upon loading windows...
Do i simply need to make peace with the fact my cpu won't play well with this ram and should i hold on to it until i upgrade to zen2 or zen3? Thanks




Edit: Dram voltage: 1,38v
SoC: 1,05v


Last edited by 1nterceptor; 05-23-2020 at 06:55 AM.
1nterceptor is online now  
post #7769 of 7837 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 08:30 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
paih85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 58
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by Veii View Post
Hmm i do wonder if tRFC is too low
Try please
276-205-126 on the 16-16-16-16 set
same tWR 12
Try to up 1.46v VDIMM
superb!!! clean error.

let me dry run 2-3 days first to make sure no more random reboot. anyway thanks @Veii for your help.

vdimm: 1.45v
vsoc: 1.1v
vddp: 900mv
vddg: 1050mv
procodt: 40ohm
cadbus: 24-20-24-24
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	test c.JPG
Views:	24
Size:	71.6 KB
ID:	348572  

paih85 is offline  
post #7770 of 7837 (permalink) Old 05-23-2020, 10:40 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
KedarWolf's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 4,659
Rep: 300 (Unique: 192)
Here is my 24/7 daily driver.

Only maybe 500k less read, write and copy than my 14-16-15-13-27 41 2T settings at 1.5v with 246 tRFC, 62.2ns vs 62ns in latency.

And I'm only using 1.45v.

Edit: It's TM5 stable as well.




KedarWolf-AMD 3950x @ CCX 44.50/44.25/43.75/43.25GHZ - Motherboard MSI X570 MEG Unify - G.Skill Trident Z Neo CL16 3600MHZ 2x16GB 14-16-15-13-28 2T - 246 tRFC @ 3800MHZ 1.5v Gear Down Mode Disabled- Gigabyte/EVGA 2X 1080 Ti SLI FTW3 Kingpin Fix BIOS - 2x 1TB Sabrent Gen 4 M.2 System/Storage Drives- PSU Corsair AX1600i - Samsung 49" CHG90 QLED 32:9 Gaming Monitor - Logitech G502 Lightspeed Mouse- Logitech Lightspeed Mouse Pad
CPU
3950x
Motherboard
MSI X570 MEG Unify
GPU
EVGA 1080 Ti SC Black EKWB Waterblock And Backplate
GPU
Gigabyte 1080 Ti FE EKWB Waterblock And Backplate
RAM
Trident Z Neo 2x16GB 16-16-16-36 3600
Hard Drive
Sabrient Gen 4 1TB M.2
Hard Drive
Sabrient Gen 4 1TB M.2
Power Supply
Corsair AX1600i
Cooling
EKWB Phoenix 240
Cooling
EKWB Predator 360
Case
Thermaltake X9
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise 19628
Monitor
49" Samsung LC49HG90DMNXZA
Monitor
27" BenQ GW2760
Keyboard
Logitech G910
Mouse
Logitech G502 Lightspeed
Mousepad
Logitech Lightspeed
▲ hide details ▲
KedarWolf is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 13 (3 members and 10 guests)
1nterceptor , Hequaqua , OmarAj
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off