ASUS ZenStates - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

ASUS ZenStates

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 167 (permalink) Old 04-25-2018, 01:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
morecs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 44
Rep: 0
Everything working on new version.
Perf. Enhancer not doing anything for summit ridge, but I assume it's for pinnacle CPUs, so it's fine.

Elmor, any chance to add SOC voltage values in zenstates?
morecs is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 167 (permalink) Old 04-26-2018, 04:50 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
TwoBeers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 100
Rep: 13 (Unique: 4)
I installed it yesterday on my 1700, OC @3.7GHz at the moment.

Works as good as 0.2.2.

One question, what does PE Level 3 do? Can't see any difference?

Ryzen 3700X
(6 items)
CPU
AMD Ryzen 3700X
Motherboard
ASUS Crosshair VI Hero
GPU
Powercolor RX Vega 64 Red Devil
RAM
G-Skill Ripjaws V 3200CL14 @3600CL16
Cooling
Thermalright Macho Rev. B
Case
be quiet! Dark Base 900
▲ hide details ▲
TwoBeers is offline  
post #23 of 167 (permalink) Old 04-26-2018, 09:10 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
Hey Elmor,

First I want to thank you for updating this tool, I've been using the 0.2.2 version for a couple of months because my BIOS lacks of P-STATE support (Asus X370-F Gaming) and it's really useful.

I've tested your beta and it works just fine for most of the options (didn't test Perf. Enhancer), except Performance Bias.

I ran a couple of comparative tests between 0.2.2 (with Performance Bias BIOS option) & 0.3, here are some CineBench15 results (R7 [email protected]):

ZenStates 0.3 (Performance Bias: Disabled)
1708 1722 1726
ZenStates 0.3 (Performance Bias: CB15)
1730 1731 1732
ZenStates 0.2.2 (Performance Bias: Auto - BIOS)
1711 1722 1728
ZenStates 0.2.2 (Performance Bias: CB15 - BIOS)
1764 1780 1787

So there's probably something wrong going on here, maybe some swapped bias options? CB15 bias (0.3 version) clearly doesn't have the same impact on score as BIOS's CB15 bias.

In my BIOS (4009), I have the following dropdown for Performance Bias:
- Auto
- None
- CB15
- AIDA / Geekbench
- CB11.15

Thanks if you can look into that issue, because it's really useful to be able to switch Performance Bias on the fly!

Keep up the good work.

Last edited by Moustachos; 04-26-2018 at 02:03 PM.
Moustachos is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 167 (permalink) Old 04-26-2018, 01:37 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
morecs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 44
Rep: 0
@elmor , just had a very interesting issue using 0.3

my graphics card was acting out every time I applied my OC, my screen would start blinking, and would turn black, I would get a ton of "error initializing graphics driver" prompts in windows. was happening even after re-installing the graphics drivers (after wiping with DDU of course).

went back to 0.2.2, the problem went away.

curious.
morecs is offline  
post #25 of 167 (permalink) Old 04-26-2018, 09:24 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
elmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 817
Rep: 333 (Unique: 146)
Quote: Originally Posted by morecs View Post
Everything working on new version.
Perf. Enhancer not doing anything for summit ridge, but I assume it's for pinnacle CPUs, so it's fine.

Elmor, any chance to add SOC voltage values in zenstates?

The only way I'm aware of would be to directly set it on the controller, which I don't want to do.


Quote: Originally Posted by TwoBeers View Post
I installed it yesterday on my 1700, OC @3.7GHz at the moment.

Works as good as 0.2.2.

One question, what does PE Level 3 do? Can't see any difference?

It unlocks the TDP/TDC limits of the CPU, but on Summit Ridge it doesn't have much of an impact.


Quote: Originally Posted by Moustachos View Post
Hey Elmor,

First I want to thank you for updating this tool, I've been using the 0.2.2 version for a couple of months because my BIOS lacks of P-STATE support (Asus X370-F Gaming) and it's really useful.

I've tested your beta and it works just fine for most of the options (didn't test Perf. Enhancer), except Performance Bias.

I ran a couple of comparative tests between 0.2.2 (with Performance Bias BIOS option) & 0.3, here are some CineBench15 results (R7 [email protected]):

ZenStates 0.3 (Performance Bias: Disabled)
1708 1722 1726
ZenStates 0.3 (Performance Bias: CB15)
1730 1731 1732
ZenStates 0.2.2 (Performance Bias: Auto - BIOS)
1711 1722 1728
ZenStates 0.2.2 (Performance Bias: CB15 - BIOS)
1764 1780 1787

So there's probably something wrong going on here, maybe some swapped bias options? CB15 bias (0.3 version) clearly doesn't have the same impact on score as BIOS's CB15 bias.

In my BIOS (4009), I have the following dropdown for Performance Bias:
- Auto
- None
- CB15
- AIDA / Geekbench
- CB11.15

Thanks if you can look into that issue, because it's really useful to be able to switch Performance Bias on the fly!

Keep up the good work.

Thanks, seems the settings are not applying like they should.


Quote: Originally Posted by morecs View Post
@elmor , just had a very interesting issue using 0.3

my graphics card was acting out every time I applied my OC, my screen would start blinking, and would turn black, I would get a ton of "error initializing graphics driver" prompts in windows. was happening even after re-installing the graphics drivers (after wiping with DDU of course).

went back to 0.2.2, the problem went away.

curious.

Did you uncheck the P0 TSC workaround checkbox?
elmor is offline  
post #26 of 167 (permalink) Old 04-26-2018, 11:11 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
elmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 817
Rep: 333 (Unique: 146)
ZenStates 0.3.6691

- Performance Bias option fixed?
- P0 TSC workaround fixed?

http://www.mediafire.com/file/9jp15m...200.3.6691.zip
elmor is offline  
post #27 of 167 (permalink) Old 04-27-2018, 05:10 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
PeerlessGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 286
Rep: 7 (Unique: 6)
Quote: Originally Posted by morecs View Post
@elmor , just had a very interesting issue using 0.3

my graphics card was acting out every time I applied my OC, my screen would start blinking, and would turn black, I would get a ton of "error initializing graphics driver" prompts in windows. was happening even after re-installing the graphics drivers (after wiping with DDU of course).

went back to 0.2.2, the problem went away.

curious.
I had this same issue trying to apply OC's with Zenstates. Also, Elmor, would it be possible to add the other PE levels into ZenStates, not just PE3? PE3 is the one I have the most stability issues with (windows won't boot if I use it from the bios) and PE4 pushes too much voltage. I tend to run with PE2, but PE1/PE2 aren't available in ZenStates.
PeerlessGirl is offline  
post #28 of 167 (permalink) Old 04-27-2018, 06:54 AM
Linux Lobbyist
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Posts: 11
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by elmor View Post
ZenStates 0.3.6691

- Performance Bias option fixed?
- P0 TSC workaround fixed?

http://www.mediafire.com/file/9jp15m...200.3.6691.zip
Thanks for looking into it so quickly, however this fix doesn't work for me.
Moustachos is offline  
post #29 of 167 (permalink) Old 04-27-2018, 08:19 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Tamalero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Posts: 322
Rep: 5 (Unique: 5)
Hi Elmor,

Any improvements for us with threadripper and/or old Summit Ridge?

Or should we avoid this new version?
Tamalero is offline  
post #30 of 167 (permalink) Old 04-27-2018, 08:55 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
elmor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 817
Rep: 333 (Unique: 146)
Quote: Originally Posted by Moustachos View Post
Thanks for looking into it so quickly, however this fix doesn't work for me.

Did you first uninstall the old service (uninstall.bat)?


Quote: Originally Posted by PeerlessGirl View Post
I had this same issue trying to apply OC's with Zenstates. Also, Elmor, would it be possible to add the other PE levels into ZenStates, not just PE3? PE3 is the one I have the most stability issues with (windows won't boot if I use it from the bios) and PE4 pushes too much voltage. I tend to run with PE2, but PE1/PE2 aren't available in ZenStates.

Yes, it will be in the next release.


Quote: Originally Posted by Tamalero View Post
Hi Elmor,

Any improvements for us with threadripper and/or old Summit Ridge?

Or should we avoid this new version?

Smarter recovery (detects unclean shutdown) and Performance Bias.
elmor is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off