Problems with new build, HELP!!!! - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Problems with new build, HELP!!!!

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-07-2019, 12:18 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Problems with new build, HELP!!!!

I am trying to upgrade with the following hardware

ASUS ROG X470 crosshair vii non wifi
32 GB Gskill F4-3200C16Q-32GTZRX
Ryzen 2700x CPU
ASUS Vega64 STRIX video card

Initially encountered problem with not being able to boot into the BIOS. Eventually I was able and made some changes, don't recall all that I made, but when I saved them the system would not boot back into the bios. After much agony I finally tried with 2 video cards installed and it will now boot into the bios. I am unable to boot into win10 reliably. Sometimes it gets as far as log in screen other times it shuts down before that point.


I have updated the bios 1201 which is the latest as far as can tell.


Any ideas an why I need 2 videos cards installed in order for it boot into the bios and why I can not boot into windows reliably?
jrob55 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-07-2019, 01:07 PM
Filthy Casual
 
bajer29's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Round on the End and High in the Middle
Posts: 2,899
Rep: 106 (Unique: 91)
A handful of questions that will help us troubleshoot your issue:

What have you tried?
Have you reset the CMOS with the clear CMOS button?
Did you remove the CMOS battery?
Did you reseat RAM?
Did you reseat CPU?
Have you looked into which PCIe slot the BIOS/ mobo wants to boot from?
Which slot are you trying to use as your primary video card slot?
Can you confirm that slot is the one BIOS is trying to use as primary?
What PSU are you using?
How old is the PSU?

Xeno Storm V 1.2
(18 items)
CPU
i7 4790K (delidded)
Motherboard
GIGABYTE|GA-Z87X-D3H
GPU
EVGA 1080TI FTW3
RAM
4x4GB GSKILL @ 2133MHz
Hard Drive
WD 1002FAEX
Hard Drive
KINGSTON V300 120GB
Hard Drive
SanDisk Ultra Plus 128GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 850 EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
WD Green WD5000AADS
Power Supply
Corsair AX850
Cooling
Cryorig R1 Ultimate
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Pro M SE
Operating System
Windows 10 Enterprise
Monitor
Acer XB270HU Predator
Keyboard
E-Element Z-88 RGB
Mouse
Corsair M65
Audio
Logitech X230 2.1
Other
E-SDS USB 3.0 2-Port Front Panel USB Hub
▲ hide details ▲


bajer29 is offline  
post #3 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-07-2019, 01:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Posts: 805
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by jrob55 View Post
I am trying to upgrade with the following hardware

ASUS ROG X470 crosshair vii non wifi
32 GB Gskill F4-3200C16Q-32GTZRX
Ryzen 2700x CPU
ASUS Vega64 STRIX video card

Initially encountered problem with not being able to boot into the BIOS. Eventually I was able and made some changes, don't recall all that I made, but when I saved them the system would not boot back into the bios. After much agony I finally tried with 2 video cards installed and it will now boot into the bios. I am unable to boot into win10 reliably. Sometimes it gets as far as log in screen other times it shuts down before that point.


I have updated the bios 1201 which is the latest as far as can tell.


Any ideas an why I need 2 videos cards installed in order for it boot into the bios and why I can not boot into windows reliably?
I'll be the jerk that asks the obvious stuff. Did you re-seat the CPU and make certain you used the correct RAM slots (assuming it's a 2x16GB kit)?

Can you describe how it fails in more detail please?

And I can't remember why, but I believe someone in the Crosshair VII forum helped someone else troubleshoot Vega64 problems. You may want to pop in over there.

AMD Ryzen 2700X  |  Fractal Design S36 360 AIO w/6 Corsair SP120L fans  |  Asus Crosshair VII WiFi X470  | G.SKILL TridentZ 3636MHz @ 14-15-14-28 2x8GB  | EVGA 1070 Ti SC GAMING ACX 3.0 Black  |  Samsung 970 EVO M.2 NVMe 500GB - Boot Drive  |  Samsung 850 EVO SSD 1TB - Game Drive  |  Seagate 1TB HDD - Media Drive  |  EVGA 650 G3  | Thermaltake Core P3 Case |
nick name is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-07-2019, 01:51 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by bajer29 View Post
A handful of questions that will help us troubleshoot your issue:

What have you tried?
Have you reset the CMOS with the clear CMOS button? YES

Did you remove the CMOS battery? YES
Did you reseat RAM? YES
Did you reseat CPU? YES
Have you looked into which PCIe slot the BIOS/ mobo wants to boot from? I tried both PCIe slots with same results
Which slot are you trying to use as your primary video card slot? Slot closest to the CPU
Can you confirm that slot is the one BIOS is trying to use as primary? As far as can tell slot 1 is primary
What PSU are you using? Thermaltake Toughpower XLT Platinum 1275watts
How old is the PSU?
About 5 years

Thanks for your interest in helping. Just got off the phone ASUS tech support and was elevated to higher level tech to address my problems and ultimately, after discussing with an engineer, they want me have the board replaced. They are just as dumb founded as I am. But if you have any other ideas let me know.
jrob55 is offline  
post #5 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-07-2019, 02:17 PM
Senior OCN Member
 
shilka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Denmark
Posts: 37,162
Rep: 2696 (Unique: 1603)
Your PSU does not have all that great voltage regulation nor is ripple suppression especially on the 3,3v rail all that good either

Seravee
(31 items)
CPU
Intel Core I7 6850K
Motherboard
Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 FTW2
RAM
Kingston HyperX DDR4 Savage 3000 MHz
Hard Drive
Samsung 840 Evo 500 GB
Hard Drive
Samsung 860 Evo 1 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 8 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf 12 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 10 TB
Hard Drive
Seagate Ironwolf Pro 12 TB
Optical Drive
LG CH12NS30
Power Supply
EVGA SuperNova G2 750 watt
Cooling
x5 Noctua NF-A14 FLX
Cooling
Noctua NH-D15S
Case
Phanteks Enthoo Luxe Tempered Glass
Operating System
Windows 7 Ultimate 64 bit
Operating System
Windows 10 Home 64 bit
Monitor
Asus PG279Q
Monitor
LG 49UH750V 4K LED TV
Keyboard
Corsair Gaming Strafe RGB
Mouse
Roccat Kone EMP
Mouse
Roccat Sense Metor
Audio
Sennheiser HD 598
Audio
Onkyo TX NR646
Audio
Dali Opticon Vokal
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 2
Audio
x2 Dali Opticon 1
Audio
Dali E12 F Subwoofer
Audio
Sennheiser HD-599
Other
CableMod E series PSU cable set
Other
CableMod LED Strips
▲ hide details ▲
shilka is offline  
post #6 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-07-2019, 03:18 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Posts: 3
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by shilka View Post
Your PSU does not have all that great voltage regulation nor is ripple suppression especially on the 3,3v rail all that good either
That may be but it has worked just fine in my current system that I am trying to upgrade. As far as the ripple and regulation is concerned I can not find any data on those parameters and I seriously doubt they would be causing the kinda issues I have been experiencing.

Thanks for you feedback.
jrob55 is offline  
post #7 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-13-2019, 10:12 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: NJ
Posts: 17,737
Rep: 845 (Unique: 618)
Quote: Originally Posted by jrob55 View Post
Any ideas an why I need 2 videos cards installed in order for it boot into the bios and why I can not boot into windows reliably?
Maybe the primary card has a problem. Once in Windows, is crossfire enabled? Is there a secondary BIOS for the Vega? Switch No.2?
rdr09 is offline  
post #8 of 8 (permalink) Old 02-13-2019, 10:42 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,137
Rep: 124 (Unique: 95)
Quote: Originally Posted by jrob55 View Post
That may be but it has worked just fine in my current system that I am trying to upgrade. As far as the ripple and regulation is concerned I can not find any data on those parameters and I seriously doubt they would be causing the kinda issues I have been experiencing.

Thanks for you feedback.
They're not, Shilka is the resident PSU expert and lets everyone know where the PSU stands even if it's not relevant. Most people don't consider the PSU one of the most important aspects of their rig but it can hamper overclocking if it's just not good or flat out destroy your components if it's OCP/OTP don't function correctly. Some can do rated power but only if they stay cool enough.

With your PSU the voltage fed to the rest of the PC is always changing which is bad but if you don't care, neither do I.


On topic:
Booting your rig for the first time is pretty standard, set the mobo on the box it came in, insert the CPU and ram, install the cooler, and in your case the VGA then plug it all in. If all is well you'll end up in the BIOS. If not remove all ram but the one closest to the CPU and try again, then try the next stick. If that still doesn't work remove the GPU and see if the board hangs in a similar fashion, try a different GPU if available. If you have POST codes you should be able to pinpoint the issue pretty easily.
CPUs are rarely DOA so if none of that gets you anywhere it's likely a bad board.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off