(Solved) Titan RTX running at pcie 16x (2.0) why not 3.0? help me figure this out - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

(Solved) Titan RTX running at pcie 16x (2.0) why not 3.0? help me figure this out

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-02-2019, 07:19 AM - Thread Starter
Terrible Overclocker
 
spadizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 98
Rep: 0
(Solved) Titan RTX running at pcie 16x (2.0) why not 3.0? help me figure this out

MSI Meg Creation x399 motherboard running @1smus 132 beta bios. (I have tried 120, 131 also) I have unplugged. reseated, reformatted to no avail.

I have set the values in the Bios for the first slot to run at 16x 3.0. reboot and go back into bios and its reporting from the hardware monitor that its seeing it at that speed. BUT I get into Win10(latest updates) and gpu-z states that it is at 16x 2.0 max and idle speed. (see screenshot)

Video card is a single Nvidia Titan RTX.

Anyone else run into this issue? I have searched/googled high and low and this doesn't seem to be an issue for the last few years.

I eagerly await any feedback!

TY,
Scott
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2019-04-02.png
Views:	7
Size:	40.2 KB
ID:	262862  


Last edited by spadizzle; 04-02-2019 at 09:33 PM. Reason: solved
spadizzle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-02-2019, 08:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
animeowns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arkansas The Boring State
Posts: 611
Rep: 6 (Unique: 5)
do you think the beta bios could be the problem ?
animeowns is online now  
post #3 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-02-2019, 08:14 AM - Thread Starter
Terrible Overclocker
 
spadizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 98
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by animeowns View Post
do you think the beta bios could be the problem ?

I have tried the official 120 release from MSI, same results. I just finished reflashing the card with the stock bios and no change either.


Edit: Just tried setting card to Gen1 to see if that would take effect. GPU-Z still states Gen2. So it does seem like a pc bios issue. So weird.

Last edited by spadizzle; 04-02-2019 at 08:25 AM.
spadizzle is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-02-2019, 08:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 17,644
Rep: 528 (Unique: 299)
have you confirmed its staying in 2.0 when its actually being used?

pci-e downclocks itself.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #5 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-02-2019, 08:55 AM - Thread Starter
Terrible Overclocker
 
spadizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 98
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by skupples View Post
have you confirmed its staying in 2.0 when its actually being used?

pci-e downclocks itself.
loop test, same results.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	loop.jpg
Views:	14
Size:	566.0 KB
ID:	262928  

spadizzle is offline  
post #6 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-02-2019, 09:36 AM - Thread Starter
Terrible Overclocker
 
spadizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 98
Rep: 0
Not enough memory?

Ok, good news, got it going at 16x 3.0 now. I switched back to my DR memory 64gig total. Bad news, the Single rank I was able to push faster. Never heard of PCIe needing more memory, or do we think I had an issue with my 32gig mem set?

G.Skill F4-3200C14-8GTZRX (Single Rank) 32 gig Was able to run stable at 3200mhz With 1.38v

G.Skill F4-3200C14-16GTZR (Dual Rank) 64 gig Will only post at 2933 mhz :/ With 1.4v
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2019-04-02 (4).png
Views:	5
Size:	36.6 KB
ID:	262938  

spadizzle is offline  
post #7 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-02-2019, 09:39 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
white owl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: The land of Nod
Posts: 5,374
Rep: 136 (Unique: 103)
It's an odd issue but RAM uses CPU lanes like anything else so they're not totally unrelated...still that's pretty crazy. Contact MSI and see what they have to say about it.

Quote: Originally Posted by SpeedyVT
If you're not doing extreme things to parts for the sake of extreme things regardless of the part you're not a real overclocker.
Quote: Originally Posted by doyll View Post
The key is generally not which brands are good but which specific products are. Motherboards and GPUs are perfect examples of companies having everything from golden to garbage function/quality.
Hot n Bothered
(12 items)
CPU
4790k 4.7Ghz
Motherboard
Asus Sabertooth Z97 MkII 2
GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 SC
RAM
16gb G.Skill Sniper 2400Mhz
Hard Drive
2x Kingston v300 120gb RAID 0
Hard Drive
WD Blue
Power Supply
Seasonic 620w M12 II EVO
Cooling
Cooler Master 212 Evo
Case
Corsair 450D
Operating System
Windows 10
Monitor
Nixeus EDG27
Other
I have pretty lights.
▲ hide details ▲
white owl is offline  
post #8 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-02-2019, 10:03 AM - Thread Starter
Terrible Overclocker
 
spadizzle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Location: FL, USA
Posts: 98
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by white owl View Post
It's an odd issue but RAM uses CPU lanes like anything else so they're not totally unrelated...still that's pretty crazy. Contact MSI and see what they have to say about it.

Will do!
spadizzle is offline  
post #9 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-10-2019, 09:05 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
ssateneth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 853
Rep: 43 (Unique: 38)
Can you downlclock your RAM, the single rank stuff, to stock speeds and see what happens?

RAM speed is tied to a bunch of other things for Ryzen (SoC, infinity fabric, which links to a lot of other things, such as PCI-E). If your SoC is unstable at higher speeds and can't latch at PCI-E 3.0 speeds (8 GT/sec), it may back down to PCI-E 2.0 (5 GT/sec). PCI-E devices will negotiate to the highest possible speed that both host and device can support, and if any issue arrises from either hardware incapability, or issues with signaling, it will negotiate to lower gen speeds and/or less PCI-E lanes (using a riser with bad shielding or long cable can cause lower pci-e gen speed)

Off topic, but from the new announce of infinity fabric speeds for ryzen 2, memory support will be better. ryzen 1 infinity fabric is 10.7GT/sec, or memory frequency x 8. mem freq is stated to default to 1333MHz (DDR 2666) for ryzen 1, so 1333MHz * 8 = 10667MT/sec, or 10.7GT/sec. Ryzen 2's IF will be 16 x mem freq, or 25.6GT/sec. Putting in some substitution math, that's default memory speed of 1600MHz, or 3200MHz DDR right out of the box with no problems.

Intel Core i9-9900k (Silicon Lottery 5.1GHz @ 5.3GHz 1.36 VCore)
ASUS ROG MAXIMUS XI APEX
G.SKILL F4-4000C19D-32GTZSW (2x16GiB 4000MHz 19-19-19-39 2T, tuned to 4133MHz 14-17-17-31 2T)
EVGA NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti FTW3
Seasonic PRIME 1300W 80+ Platinum

Last edited by ssateneth; 04-10-2019 at 09:11 PM.
ssateneth is offline  
post #10 of 10 (permalink) Old 04-13-2019, 10:39 AM
wun
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 2
Rep: 0
MSI RTX 2080 Gaming X Trio same problem. Solution: UEFI "CPU BCLK Settings" - live it deafault: "Smart BCLK Switch - Disabled" and "CPU Base Clock (MHz) - Auto". Works for me.
wun is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off