My new Ryzen 7 build isn't giving me 3000mhz with 4 ram sticks installed. - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

My new Ryzen 7 build isn't giving me 3000mhz with 4 ram sticks installed.

 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-17-2019, 09:48 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Icekilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Guadalajara, Mexico
Posts: 3,735
Rep: 104 (Unique: 92)
My new Ryzen 7 build isn't giving me 3000mhz with 4 ram sticks installed.

So a friend built me a new PC a couple days ago and it's amazing

* Ryzen 7 2700x
* Nvidia RTX 2060
* 4x 8GB Adata XPG Gammix D10 DDR4 3000Mhz (Yes I bought the Rams separate but they're all the same model).

But here's the problem: The motherboard (Gigabyte B450M DS3H first) downgrades the speed to 2666MHz no matter what I try. Be it with XMP enabled or manually. With the 4 sticks in, the motherboard simply won't boot with the 4 sticks in at 3000mhz. It reverts back to safe mode boot and back to the BIOS.

We thought it may be the motherboard so we swapped it to the Asus TUF B450M Gaming Plus. However, same thing.

We're thinking it may be the RAM, but we're not sure.

Tomorrow, my friend, whom built the PC and owns the store that sold me and built the system is taking the PC to an Asus office here in Guadalajara to see what's up, but I wonder: what could be the cause of this?

Here's the thing: We tried one, two and three sticks and in the 3 cases we DID get the ram to run at 3000MHz with XMP on. Easy peasy.

We even tested all the RAM slots and it worked with 1, 2 or 3 slots. It's when we insert the 4th stick that the motherboard goes nuts and won't boot, then goes into safe mode and downgrades the ram to 2666mhz.

So what's up? Is this a common occurrence?

Steam: murderworship666
"The road to success is paved with failure and tears. But in the end, it's all worth it"
Icekilla is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-17-2019, 11:40 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 17,965
Rep: 848 (Unique: 620)
Do you really need 32GB of RAM? I guess its moot cos you have them already.

You can try using this . . .

https://www.overclock.net/forum/13-a...-dram-am4.html

OR

1. Raise the voltage a notch for 3000 speed. Try 1.37v.

2. Set to a lower clock of 2933 MHz using Auto or DOCP settings.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #3 of 3 (permalink) Old 04-18-2019, 11:57 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Icekilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Guadalajara, Mexico
Posts: 3,735
Rep: 104 (Unique: 92)
So ultimately we decided to change the 4 sticks of ram for 2 sticks of 16GB each. That gave me the 32GB I needed and allowed us to enable XMP without any issuess, and thus, run the RAMs at 3000MHz.

Guess you were right after all. Oh well.

Good thing this didn't cost an extra dime!

Steam: murderworship666
"The road to success is paved with failure and tears. But in the end, it's all worth it"
Icekilla is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off