Do you test your build before putting everything in the case? - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

Do you test your build before putting everything in the case?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 05:25 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
8564dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,705
Rep: 21 (Unique: 20)
Do you test your build before putting everything in the case?

Hey everyone,

Is it generally recommended to test the build before building it all into a case - especially if water cooling?

My Rig
(15 items)
CPU
i7 930 @ 3.8 1.256v
Motherboard
Asus P6tD Deluxe
GPU
ATI 5870
RAM
12GB Corsair 1600MHz DDR3
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
1TB + 500GB HDD
Optical Drive
LG Bluray Writer + DVD RW
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova G2 650w
Cooling
Noctua u12p
Case
Coolermaster HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 64Bit
Monitor
Dell u2711
Keyboard
Blackwidow Ultimate
Mouse
Deathadder 3500dpi
Audio
KRK Rokit RP6
▲ hide details ▲
8564dan is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 05:41 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Shawnb99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Crackatoea
Posts: 627
Rep: 17 (Unique: 12)
Only test I do is leak testing. No need to test out each part, besides unless you have a whole spare system you can’t test everything beforehand.

My Baby
(24 items)
CPU
Delidded I9 9900K
Motherboard
ASUS Maximus XI Formula
GPU
EVGA FTW3 Hydro Copper GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
RAM
G.SKILL TridentZ Series 16GB DDR4 3600 F4-3600C15D-16GTZ
Hard Drive
2x Samsung 970 EVO Plus 1TB in Raid 0
Hard Drive
2x Intel 660P 2TB in Raid 0
Hard Drive
Asus Hyper M.2 Card
Power Supply
Seasonic PRIME Ultra 1000 Titanium
Cooling
Watercool HEATKILLER IV PRO
Cooling
2x Swiftech MCP35X2 with MCP35X2 Heat Sink
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 360GTR
Cooling
2x Hardware Labs Black Ice Nemesis 360GTS
Cooling
Aquacomputer aqualis XT 450 ml with nano coating
Cooling
9x Noctua NF-S12A PWM
Cooling
2x Noctua NA-A15 PWM
Cooling
24x EK Vadar F4120ER
Case
Case Labs Magnum M8 with Pedestal
Monitor
Asus PG28Q
Keyboard
Das Keyboard 5Q
Mouse
Swiftpoint Z
Audio
Mr. Speakers Aeon Closed
Audio
Geek Pulse Inifnity DAC/AMP
Audio
Cavalii Audio Liquid Carbon HPA
Other
Aquacomputer Aquaero XT
▲ hide details ▲
Shawnb99 is offline  
post #3 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 05:57 AM
Da Boss
 
NexusRed's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,738
Rep: 140 (Unique: 121)
So do, some don't. I might depending on what I'm doing.
If I'm building a rig for a friend or client, I'll test everything before putting it into the case. Usually takes about 10-15 mins to put it all together on a card board box. Only testing I do is make sure it all boots.
For my personal, hell nah. I just throw it all in the case and call it a day lol.
NexusRed is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 06:43 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,054
Rep: 853 (Unique: 625)
I test using air first, which in your case might be harder. Cos its TR.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
post #5 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 08:59 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
8564dan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,705
Rep: 21 (Unique: 20)
Ok thanks all! I normally wouldn't test but I'm doing a custom loop for the first time and thought... what if I get everything hooked up, leak test and go to boot and find out I have a piece of hardware DOA XD

My Rig
(15 items)
CPU
i7 930 @ 3.8 1.256v
Motherboard
Asus P6tD Deluxe
GPU
ATI 5870
RAM
12GB Corsair 1600MHz DDR3
Hard Drive
Samsung EVO 500GB
Hard Drive
1TB + 500GB HDD
Optical Drive
LG Bluray Writer + DVD RW
Power Supply
EVGA Supernova G2 650w
Cooling
Noctua u12p
Case
Coolermaster HAF 932
Operating System
Windows 10 64Bit
Monitor
Dell u2711
Keyboard
Blackwidow Ultimate
Mouse
Deathadder 3500dpi
Audio
KRK Rokit RP6
▲ hide details ▲
8564dan is offline  
post #6 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 09:24 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,054
Rep: 853 (Unique: 625)
Quote: Originally Posted by 8564dan View Post
Ok thanks all! I normally wouldn't test but I'm doing a custom loop for the first time and thought... what if I get everything hooked up, leak test and go to boot and find out I have a piece of hardware DOA XD
Just test it in the case. Make sure you have a nice drain line and configure your tubing for easy access or removal just in case.

In case you are not aware, do leak test first. Do not send power to the board. GPU, RAM and all other components should not be installed yet unless they are part of the loop. If you have a spare psu, use it to power up the pump. Also, if this is your first time, the one thing to avoid most is running the pump dry. Get that finger at the psu switch at all times when filling the loop. There are lots of videos in YT.

Have lots of distilled water.

[email protected] 6 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2211392 4.6 @ 4 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2216580
5.0 @ 8 http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2511322
2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲

Last edited by rdr09; 05-08-2019 at 09:29 AM.
rdr09 is offline  
post #7 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 10:01 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Fluxmaven's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: OBX
Posts: 123
Rep: 9 (Unique: 5)
I like to test pumps outside of the system before building a loop. Couple feet of cheap soft tubing and a spare PSU is all you need. I only do this because I start buying components for future builds and sometimes they will be sitting in the box for months before I actually use them. Don't want to deal with a DOA part after the return window.

Even with preflushing and testing components, I still do a leak test and flush after assembling everything in the case. Distilled water is usually around a $1 a gallon so I'm not shy about using it.

I don't bother testing any of the other components outside the case though.
Fluxmaven is offline  
post #8 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 10:09 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
skupples's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Fort Lauderdale
Posts: 17,728
Rep: 529 (Unique: 299)
yes. Learn to hotwire. pin #3 & #4 on 24 pin, stick paperclip in both to trigger power to test peripherals, pumps, fans, leak testing DEFINITELY MAINLY A LEAK TESTING THING - win.


seriously, I decided not to leak test on my last rebuild & sprung a huge leak in the GPU bridge with the system fully powered on. Turns out one of those tiny EK O-rings fell out & I didn't notice.

I could'a lost thousands of $$$ worth of hardware.

R.I.P. Zawarudo, may you OC angels' wings in heaven.
If something appears too good to be true, it probably is.
skupples is offline  
post #9 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-09-2019, 03:14 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 22
Rep: 0
Yes of course,

Here is some my pics below.

You don't need paperclip for power on, Best to have PC power button @ https://www.amazon.com/SoundOriginal...s%2C136&sr=8-3

I need some more work on case, need replace blue and black fans out then get red fans match ones on front.

P.S. make sure you put stand-off on case before you place motherboard on case.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20181206_210622 (2).jpg
Views:	13
Size:	1.59 MB
ID:	268858  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190306_182023.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	1.38 MB
ID:	268860  

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20190307_104446.jpg
Views:	12
Size:	1.45 MB
ID:	268862  

dgoc18 is offline  
post #10 of 14 (permalink) Old 05-23-2019, 04:16 AM
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: C:\Countries\EU\Denmark
Posts: 1,256
Rep: 56 (Unique: 55)
Only if water cooling
DoctorNick is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off