An older Athlon x2 3.6 outperforms Athlon x3 - Page 2 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

An older Athlon x2 3.6 outperforms Athlon x3

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #11 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-06-2019, 11:16 AM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
I will avoid trying to make adjustments to timing on this. Stability seems to be back with no shutdowns.
I did install AMD Overdrive.

But I have one question. If the job of the machine is to recode video and the memory is 667, if I find
some DDR3 for 1333 or one of the higher clocks, can I get my throughput up? How does the FSB figure into this?
I've had the understanding that solid state drives need more 'pipe' to be efficient. If so, how can the
FSB be widened (Upped) safely and without shutdowns?

The alternative seems to be just use Crucial SSD as a bootloader and -- what? -- dump the Adata's I have.
Crucial's optimize software had made a big improvement in CrystalMark bench test. I have made an
inquiry at a storage forum about free software -- not from Adadata Tools-- that could provide the
same function as what the Crucial 'magic' does. No info in that has returned.
loninappleton is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #12 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-09-2019, 01:21 AM
OG AMD
 
Redwoodz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Silicon Valley
Posts: 8,177
Rep: 579 (Unique: 457)
Quote: Originally Posted by loninappleton View Post
I will avoid trying to make adjustments to timing on this. Stability seems to be back with no shutdowns.
I did install AMD Overdrive.

But I have one question. If the job of the machine is to recode video and the memory is 667, if I find
some DDR3 for 1333 or one of the higher clocks, can I get my throughput up? How does the FSB figure into this?
I've had the understanding that solid state drives need more 'pipe' to be efficient. If so, how can the
FSB be widened (Upped) safely and without shutdowns?

The alternative seems to be just use Crucial SSD as a bootloader and -- what? -- dump the Adata's I have.
Crucial's optimize software had made a big improvement in CrystalMark bench test. I have made an
inquiry at a storage forum about free software -- not from Adadata Tools-- that could provide the
same function as what the Crucial 'magic' does. No info in that has returned.
I don't think there is anything you can do except make sure your system is running at optimal settings. Remember with unlocked cores you usually have something on the chip not up to par, that's why they locked it. For testeng purposes I rec. using complete stock settings. Any SSD as a boot drive should work fast enough that you won't need anymore speed. I would check you have the best drivers for your motherboard. One thing with the MSI is VRM cooling. Shouldn't have a problem with Athlons but a 4 core might pull enough watts for VRM overheating, as that board has no VRM heatsink? Make sure there is airflow/fan blowing on socket area.

https://valid.x86.fr/cache/banner/4d8m5e-6.png
AMD Athlon II 450 @4.74GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2204588
AMD MaxxMemm Rankings
960T @ 4.6GHz http://valid.canardpc.com/show_oc.php?id=2171450
RedwoodCustomPC
AM4
(4 items)
RCPC#1
(17 items)
Professional
(13 items)
CPU
Ryzen 2200G
Motherboard
ASRock X470 Taichi
GPU
MSI RX570 Armor MKII 8GB
Power Supply
GSKill Ripjaws PS850G
CPU
AMD Phenom II X6 960T
Motherboard
Asus M4A88T-VEVO
GPU
Asus Strix R7 370
RAM
SuperTalent Perfomance
RAM
GSkill Snipers
Hard Drive
Monster Daytona
Hard Drive
Seagate Barracuda 500GB 7,200 RPM 16Mb cache
Optical Drive
Memorex DVD/RW
Power Supply
Corsair GS500
Cooling
Corsair H60
Case
In Win H-Frame
Operating System
Windows 8N
Monitor
IBM 9494 19" LCD
Keyboard
IBM
Mouse
OCZ Behemoth
Mouse
Wolfking
Audio
JBL Creature
CPU
Phenom II X6 1100t
Motherboard
MSI 890FX GD65
GPU
MSI Radeon HD5670
RAM
GSkill RipjawsX DDR3 PC3 12800 2x4GB CL8
Hard Drive
WD Black 1TB SATA III
Optical Drive
Samsung BD
Power Supply
Kingwin Lazer Platinum 500w
Cooling
Zalman 9900MAX
Case
Fractal Design R3
Operating System
Windows 7 64 Professional
Monitor
AOC 22" LED
Keyboard
Logitech
Other
Samsung 470 SSD 128GB
▲ hide details ▲


Redwoodz is offline  
post #13 of 13 (permalink) Old 06-09-2019, 03:59 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
Join Date: May 2019
Posts: 8
Rep: 0
What you say about unlocked cores I did not know and thanks for it.
I mentioned in the opening that doing nothing was also an option. I will take your advice on that.
If an old time cpu turns up with a high clock speed with no adjust I may pop for one
if above what is showing as 2.2 GHz on CPUZ and AMD Overdrive.


I also have some of those blue heat pads to fiddle with for the miniscule northbride heat sink.


Thanks for the help. I may have other questions for my other builds.
loninappleton is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off