In Need of upgrade? - Page 3 - Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community

Forum Jump: 

In Need of upgrade?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #21 of 31 (permalink) Old 06-10-2019, 05:22 PM
Kill Confirmed
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,225
Rep: 67 (Unique: 57)
If you are going to upgrade the CPU get at least a Ryzen 2600!

Coming from a standpoint that I have gamed on and spent time using a Ryzen 1700x 8 core/16 thread, a Ryzen 5 1600x 6 core/12 thread, and a Ryzen 3 2200g 4 core/4 thread I will tell you straight away that the 1600 will not give you the results you are looking for. The 1600 is a good CPU and will improve your multi-tasking ability but in game isn't going to be a large change.

But like I said before you will get much more bang for the buck upgrading your video card. And as an added plus you'd have a component that could be included in a new build if you did upgrade your mobo/ram/cpu in the future.


speed_demon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #22 of 31 (permalink) Old 06-10-2019, 05:54 PM
⤷ αC
 
AlphaC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 10,725
Rep: 874 (Unique: 577)
Hell let loose isn't going to perform better with more cores, especially not on a A320 board.


Min Processor: i3-4130 @ 3.3GHz / AMD FX-8350 @ 4.0GHz (or equivalent) , 8GB RAM

Recommended Processor: i5-7600 @ 3.5GHz or Ryzen 5 1600 @ 3.2GHz , 16GB RAM



https://store.steampowered.com/app/6...ell_Let_Loose/


It's woefully inconsistent in that if a i5-7600 with 4 cores will work so will a Ryzen 3


There's people on Youtube running it on the Ryzen 3

► Recommended GPU Projects: [email protected] , [email protected] (FP64) (AMD moreso) ► Other notable GPU projects: [email protected] (Nvidia), GPUGrid (Nvidia) ► Project list



Last edited by AlphaC; 06-10-2019 at 05:59 PM.
AlphaC is offline  
post #23 of 31 (permalink) Old 06-10-2019, 06:11 PM
New to Overclock.net
 
rdr09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: From the US but lives in Africa
Posts: 18,276
Rep: 862 (Unique: 630)
Op, your system should be well balanced except the two things already pointed out.

- Slow ram
- single stick

The latter is making matters worse. Just get a second stick as close spec as the orig stick and see if you can oc to 2933 at least. Actually, for a low end gpu, ram speed wont matter much with Ryzen 1 and 1+.

2nd AMD Build
(10 items)
CPU
2700
Motherboard
X470
GPU
290
RAM
3200 CL14
Hard Drive
1000
Power Supply
700
Case
212
Operating System
10/64
Monitor
40 1080
Keyboard
M100
▲ hide details ▲
rdr09 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #24 of 31 (permalink) Old 06-10-2019, 08:06 PM
Overclocker
 
JackCY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 9,588
Rep: 323 (Unique: 234)
This Wallmart thing has been a meme on YouTube hardware reviews. It's that bad, but they do sell several machines, one worse than the other. Sadly there is not almost a single piece on your listed hardware worth really keeping. Is 4GB GPU enough for you, then sure why not. Upgrading... well in the end you end up replacing everything :/ Who knows what that board can handle CPU wise.
JackCY is online now  
post #25 of 31 (permalink) Old 06-10-2019, 09:26 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
DesiredName's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 20
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by speed_demon View Post
If you are going to upgrade the CPU get at least a Ryzen 2600!

Coming from a standpoint that I have gamed on and spent time using a Ryzen 1700x 8 core/16 thread, a Ryzen 5 1600x 6 core/12 thread, and a Ryzen 3 2200g 4 core/4 thread I will tell you straight away that the 1600 will not give you the results you are looking for. The 1600 is a good CPU and will improve your multi-tasking ability but in game isn't going to be a large change.

But like I said before you will get much more bang for the buck upgrading your video card. And as an added plus you'd have a component that could be included in a new build if you did upgrade your mobo/ram/cpu in the future.
That is the plan but that wont be able to happen till tax time but I did want to upgrade this machine a tad bit, this is pretty much my starter PC lol and will be passed down to my GF..
DesiredName is offline  
post #26 of 31 (permalink) Old 06-10-2019, 09:29 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
DesiredName's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 20
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by AlphaC View Post
Hell let loose isn't going to perform better with more cores, especially not on a A320 board.


Min Processor: i3-4130 @ 3.3GHz / AMD FX-8350 @ 4.0GHz (or equivalent) , 8GB RAM

Recommended Processor: i5-7600 @ 3.5GHz or Ryzen 5 1600 @ 3.2GHz , 16GB RAM



https://store.steampowered.com/app/6...ell_Let_Loose/


It's woefully inconsistent in that if a i5-7600 with 4 cores will work so will a Ryzen 3


There's people on Youtube running it on the Ryzen 3 https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ko9vKbC8HEw
Thank you for this, I guess imma just wait till updates and get another RAM which will only be 35$
DesiredName is offline  
post #27 of 31 (permalink) Old 06-10-2019, 09:31 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
DesiredName's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 20
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by JackCY View Post
This Wallmart thing has been a meme on YouTube hardware reviews. It's that bad, but they do sell several machines, one worse than the other. Sadly there is not almost a single piece on your listed hardware worth really keeping. Is 4GB GPU enough for you, then sure why not. Upgrading... well in the end you end up replacing everything :/ Who knows what that board can handle CPU wise.
At first it was horrible It was crashing all the time and getting bluescreen almost sent it back.
after I updated the bios I have had no issue so far have ran almost all my games fine mainly play BF4, Warhammer 2, Hell Let loose, BF1
DesiredName is offline  
post #28 of 31 (permalink) Old 06-10-2019, 09:33 PM - Thread Starter
New to Overclock.net
 
DesiredName's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 20
Rep: 0
Quote: Originally Posted by rdr09 View Post
Op, your system should be well balanced except the two things already pointed out.

- Slow ram
- single stick

The latter is making matters worse. Just get a second stick as close spec as the orig stick and see if you can oc to 2933 at least. Actually, for a low end gpu, ram speed wont matter much with Ryzen 1 and 1+.
would prefer not to OC , have no idea what im doing and don't want to mess anything up? but if I need to than I will give it a shot..
DesiredName is offline  
post #29 of 31 (permalink) Old 06-10-2019, 09:45 PM
Kill Confirmed
 
speed_demon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 1,225
Rep: 67 (Unique: 57)
A320 boards don't do overclocking. Not via the BIOS or with Ryzen Master. Sorry.


speed_demon is offline  
post #30 of 31 (permalink) Old 06-10-2019, 10:41 PM
Graphics Junkie
 
UltraMega's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: USA
Posts: 1,011
Rep: 20 (Unique: 20)
Quote: Originally Posted by DesiredName View Post
You did send me that link for the CPU but upon reading the reviews they say if you run 2400mhz it would be pointless they were saying you need at least 2666 or more so I would still have to upgrade my ram if I get that CPU
I would rather spend the extra 50-60 bucks for the ryzen 5 2600x to be safe unless u think the other CPU would be just as fine...
I don't know who is saying this to you but it's absolutely wrong. the CPU I linked you is roughly 3 times faster than the one you have now regardless of the ram speed.

i7 7700kK @4.2ghz
16GB DDR4 3200mhz
GeForce 1080 Ti
UltraMega is offline  
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Overclock.net - An Overclocking Community forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
If you do not want to register, fill this field only and the name will be used as user name for your post.
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.
Email Address:

Log-in



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off